Formula 1
11 Sep
Event finished
25 Sep
FP1 in
19 Hours
03 Minutes
28 Seconds
Formula E MotoGP
25 Sep
FP1 in
18 Hours
58 Minutes
28 Seconds
Las Vegas II
27 Sep
Race in
3 days
12 Sep
Event finished
12 Nov
Next event in
48 days
18 Sep
Event finished
26 Sep
Practice 1 in
1 day

Norisring DTM: Spengler ends two-year victory drought

Norisring DTM: Spengler ends two-year victory drought

BMW's Bruno Spengler took a commanding victory in the second DTM race at the Norisring to end a two-year victory drought.

Spengler claimed the lead with a clean run through the first sequence of corners on the opening lap and, despite a brief challenge from Jamie Green in the second half of the race, always appeared in control.

Polesitter Rene Rast made a better getaway than he had by stalling a day earlier, but was still outflanked by fellow Audi drivers Nico Muller and Loic Duval on the run to the first corner.

All three Audis went deeper than necessary at the hairpin, however, allowing Spengler - who had lined up fifth - through into the lead ahead of Muller.

Rast then attempted to go around the outside of Muller at the chicane and appeared to have the position sewn up, only to receive a hit from the race-one polesitter in the second part of the corner that left the championship leader facing the wrong direction.

Muller was able to continue unhindered, and attempted to get back ahead of Spengler in the following laps before he was forced to the pitlane for a drive-through penalty.

Free from the attentions of Muller, Spengler settled into a comfortable lead before serving his pitstop at the end of lap 32 of 70.

Green had pitted from fourth 16 laps prior to that, but cleared Philipp Eng and Robin Frijns during the pitstop phase and spent a handful of laps within a second of Spengler.

But 2012 champion Spengler broke clear of the Audi shortly afterwards and spent the final stages of the race with a five-second buffer back to Green, ultimately clinching his first victory since the series' visit to the Nuremberg street circuit in 2017 by 5.765s.

Frijns held third in the closing stages after overtakes on Duval and Eng, but was caught by Audi stablemate Mike Rockenfeller with around 15 minutes of the race left to run.

The pair spent three laps separated by four tenths, but Rockenfeller got a superior run off the chicane 10 laps before the finish and placed his RS5 on the inside line at the second hairpin to secure the final podium position.

Rockenfeller spent the final laps attempting to chase down Green, but ended up just over a second behind the second-place finisher.

Frijns came home fourth ahead of Eng, who had been on course to finish sixth until Marco Wittmann slowed in the final laps, while Duval had a muted run to sixth after pitting at the end of the opening lap. Rast fought his way back into the points, finishing seventh ahead of Muller.

Timo Glock started 17th after he stopped on track in qualifying but battled to ninth in his Team RMR BMW, despite being passed by both Rast and Muller in the second half of the race.

Wittmann's late retirement promoted the R-Motorsport Aston Martin Vantage of Daniel Juncadella into the final points paying position.

Race results:

Cla # Driver Car Laps Time
1 7 Canada Bruno Spengler
BMW M4 Turbo DTM 70
2 53 United Kingdom Jamie Green
Audi RS 5 Turbo DTM 70 5.7
3 99 Germany Mike Rockenfeller
Audi RS 5 Turbo DTM 70 6 8
4 4 Netherlands Robin Frijns
Audi RS 5 Turbo DTM 70 11.6
5 25 Austria Philipp Eng
BMW M4 Turbo DTM 70 16.3
6 28 France Loic Duval
Audi RS 5 Turbo DTM 70 17.5
7 33 Germany René Rast
Audi RS 5 Turbo DTM 70 25 4
8 51 Switzerland Nico Müller
Audi RS 5 Turbo DTM 70 29.0
9 16 Germany Timo Glock
BMW M4 Turbo DTM 70 33.5
10 23 Spain Daniel Juncadella
Aston Martin Vantage DTM 70 37.9
11 62 Austria Ferdinand Habsburg
Aston Martin Vantage DTM 70 39.5
12 76 United Kingdom Jake Dennis
Aston Martin Vantage DTM 69 1 lap
13 47 Sweden Joel Eriksson
BMW M4 Turbo DTM 69 1 lap
14 27 South Africa Jonathan Aberdein
Audi RS 5 Turbo DTM 69 1 lap
15 21 Brazil Pietro Fittipaldi
Audi RS 5 Turbo DTM 68 2 laps
16 11 Germany Marco Wittmann
BMW M4 Turbo DTM 64 6 laps
17 31 South Africa Sheldon Van Der Linde
BMW M4 Turbo DTM 51 19 laps
18 3 United Kingdom Paul di Resta
Aston Martin Vantage DTM 44 26 laps
Norisring DTM: Rast follows up win with Race 2 pole

Previous article

Norisring DTM: Rast follows up win with Race 2 pole

Next article

Green was "determined" to bounce back from appendectomy

Green was "determined" to bounce back from appendectomy
Load comments

About this article

Series DTM
Event Norisring
Author Jack Cozens