Formula 1
Formula 1
29 Aug
01 Sep
Event finished
05 Sep
08 Sep
Event finished
19 Sep
22 Sep
Event finished
26 Sep
29 Sep
Event finished
10 Oct
13 Oct
Event finished

Spanish GP: Hamilton beats Bottas to pole by 0.040s

Spanish GP: Hamilton beats Bottas to pole by 0.040s
May 12, 2018, 2:08 PM

Lewis Hamilton claimed pole position for Formula 1's Spanish Grand Prix, pipping Mercedes teammate Valtteri Bottas to the top spot by four hundredths of a second.

Valtteri Bottas, Mercedes-AMG F1 W09
Sebastian Vettel, Ferrari SF71H sparks
Nico Hulkenberg, Renault Sport F1 Team R.S. 18
Stoffel Vandoorne, McLaren MCL33
Romain Grosjean, Haas F1 Team VF-18
Sebastian Vettel, Ferrari SF71H
Engineers return Romain Grosjean, Haas F1 Team VF-18, to the garage
Carlos Sainz Jr., Renault Sport F1 Team R.S. 18
Sergey Sirotkin, Williams FW41
Pierre Gasly, Toro Rosso STR13
Charles Leclerc, Sauber C37

Hamilton was fastest after the first runs in the Q3 top 10 shootout, and like teammate Bottas opted for another set of supersoft Pirellis for his second run.

He banged in a lap of 1m16.173s to shave just over three tenths off his earlier time to secure top spot.

Bottas was a shade faster than Hamilton in the first and third sectors, but Hamilton's mighty pace in the second sector meant the Finn ended up second-best.

With some of Mercedes' rivals struggling to get the best out of the supersofts, Sebastian Vettel used softs to take third place for Ferrari, 0.132s off the pace. Teammate Kimi Raikkonen qualified fourth.

That put him ahead of the Red Bulls of Max Verstappen and Daniel Ricciardo, who were separated by just two thousandths of a second.

This was despite the Red Bull drivers splitting their tyre choice, with Verstappen setting his time on supersofts and Ricciardo on softs.

Kevin Magnussen was best of the rest for Haas, ahead of McLaren's Fernando Alonso, the other Haas of Romain Grosjean and the Renault of Carlos Sainz.

Nine of the top 10 drivers used the soft Pirellis to set their Q2 times, meaning all except Alonso, who used supersofts, will start on that compound.

Stoffel Vandoorne lapped 0.223s slower than teammate Alonso in Q2 using soft Pirellis, ending up in 11th place and fastest of the five drivers eliminated at that stage.

Toro Rosso driver Pierre Gasly was 12th, just ahead of the Force India of Esteban Ocon.

Sauber driver Charles Leclerc managed to split the Force Indias with a lap of 1m18.910s, almost two-tenths faster than 15th-placed Sergio Perez.

Nico Hulkenberg was the fastest driver to be eliminated in Q1 in 16th place after Vandoorne made a late improvement.

The Renault driver was unable to set a time on his first run owing to what the team described as a "fuel pressure issue" that held him back throughout Q1, and only had time for a single attempt on his second run – ending up 0.038 slower than Vandoorne.

Sauber driver Marcus Ericsson was 17th, over half a second behind Hulkenberg, with Williams driver Sergey Sirotkin, who must serve a three-place grid penalty thanks to hitting Sergio Perez on the first lap of the last race in Baku, 18th.

Lance Stroll was 19th in the second Williams, crashing on exit of the Turn 12 right-hander on his final flier after running wide and then losing it on the throttle at the exit as he ran into the gravel.

He spun, glancing the wall, and ended up coming to rest at the entry of Turn 13.

Brendon Hartley did not participate in qualifying after spinning at the high-speed Campsa right-hander at the end of the third free practice session and backing heavily into the barriers.

His Toro Rosso team could not get the car repaired during the two-hour gap before qualifying.

Qualifying results

1 united_kingdom Lewis Hamilton  Mercedes Mercedes 1'16.173  
2 finland Valtteri Bottas  Mercedes Mercedes 1'16.213 0.040
3 germany Sebastian Vettel  Ferrari Ferrari 1'16.305 0.132
4 finland Kimi Raikkonen  Ferrari Ferrari 1'16.612 0.439
5 netherlands Max Verstappen  Red Bull TAG 1'16.816 0.643
6 australia Daniel Ricciardo  Red Bull TAG 1'16.818 0.645
7 denmark Kevin Magnussen  Haas Ferrari 1'17.676 1.503
8 spain Fernando Alonso  McLaren Renault 1'17.721 1.548
9 spain Carlos Sainz  Renault Renault 1'17.790 1.617
10 france Romain Grosjean  Haas Ferrari 1'17.835 1.662
11 belgium Stoffel Vandoorne  McLaren Renault 1'18.323 2.150
12 france Pierre Gasly  Toro Rosso Honda 1'18.463 2.290
13 france Esteban Ocon  Force India Mercedes 1'18.696 2.523
14 monaco Charles Leclerc  Sauber Ferrari 1'18.910 2.737
15 mexico Sergio Perez  Force India Mercedes 1'19.098 2.925
16 germany Nico Hulkenberg  Renault Renault 1'18.923 2.750
17 sweden Marcus Ericsson  Sauber Ferrari 1'19.493 3.320
18 russia Sergey Sirotkin  Williams Mercedes 1'19.695 3.522
19 canada Lance Stroll  Williams Mercedes 1'20.225 4.052
20 new_zealand Brendon Hartley  Toro Rosso Honda  
Next article
Ferrari told to remove halo winglets for Monaco

Previous article

Ferrari told to remove halo winglets for Monaco

Next article

Alonso: Top teams still in "another league" to McLaren

Alonso: Top teams still in "another league" to McLaren
Load comments

About this article

Series Formula 1
Event Spanish GP
Location Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya
Author Edd Straw