Formula E
14 Feb
15 Feb
Event finished
Marrakesh E-prix
27 Feb
29 Feb
Next event in
9 days
Formula 1 MotoGP
05 Mar
08 Mar
FP1 in
17 days
Thailand GP
19 Mar
22 Mar
Next event in
30 days
08 Feb
16 Feb
Monday Race in
08 Hours
00 Minutes
46 Seconds
Las Vegas
21 Feb
23 Feb
First Practice in
4 days
13 Mar
15 Mar
Next event in
24 days
03 Apr
05 Apr
Next event in
45 days
22 Feb
23 Feb
FP1 in
5 days
18 Mar
20 Mar
Next event in
29 days

Drugovich joins MP Motorsport for F2 move

Drugovich joins MP Motorsport for F2 move
Jan 3, 2020, 2:28 PM

MP Motorsport has signed 2018 Euroformula Open and MRF Challenge title winner Felipe Drugovich to its Formula 2 team for 2020.

Brazilian driver Drugovich raced for Carlin in the inaugural FIA Formula 3 Championship last season, but the team struggled to adapt to the new series. 

He finished 16th in FIA F3, well ahead of his teammates - highly-rated American driver Logan Sargeant and Honda-backed Teppei Natori.

Drugovich drove for the squad in the Abu Dhabi post-season F2 test – racking up over 100km over three days – and now joins the Dutch team which fielded Jordan King and Mahaveer Raghunathan last year.

“I’m really happy to join MP Motorsport for my first season in FIA Formula 2,” said Drugovich.

“We worked very well together in the Abu Dhabi test, and that gave me the confidence as a combination we can do very well in 2020. 

“I can’t wait to get back in the car for the first pre-season tests and my first race weekend in FIA Formula 2.”

Team boss Sander Dorsman added: “Felipe did a great job in his F2 test with us. He was eager to learn and improved every session. So when the moment came to sign him for the 2020 season, we didn’t hesitate one bit. 

“We’ve kept an eye on Felipe ever since his title-winning performances in the lower categories, and it’s great that he’s now part of the team.”

MP is yet to confirm its second driver for the 2020 season.

2020 F2 line-up so far:

Team Drivers

Japan Yuki Tsunoda


ART Grand Prix

New Zealand Marcus Armstrong
Denmark Christian Lundgaard


United Kingdom Callum Ilott

China Guanyu Zhou


United Kingdom Dan Ticktum

Indonesia Sean Gelael

Prema Racing

Germany Mick Schumacher

Russian Federation Robert Shwartzman

Charouz Racing System

Switzerland Louis Deletraz

Brazil Pedro Piquet 

MP Motorsport

Brazil Felipe Drugovich



Russian Federation Artem Markelov

France Giuliano Alesi

Next article
De Vries nearly gave up on single-seater career

Previous article

De Vries nearly gave up on single-seater career

Next article

Honda junior Tsunoda secures F2 graduation with Carlin

Honda junior Tsunoda secures F2 graduation with Carlin
Load comments

About this article

Series FIA F2
Drivers Felipe Drugovich
Teams MP Motorsport
Author Jack Benyon