Red Bull Ring F3: Eriksson wins, Norris closes on title

Joel Eriksson took a lights-to-flag win in the second Red Bull Ring race of the 2017 European F3 season, fending off Lando Norris, who edged closer to the title.

Red Bull Ring F3: Eriksson wins, Norris closes on title

Starting from pole, Eriksson kept the lead off the line from Norris, who put immense pressure on the Swede throughout the opening lap.

Eriksson defended perfectly and held on to the lead before slightly stretching his advantage from lap 2 onwards.

While the gap never went above 1.1s, Norris did not attempt to overtake Eriksson again, as the duo took first and second in an unchanged order.

Nikita Mazepin slotted into third at the start and, while he couldn't keep up with the top two, he kept Callum Ilott at bay for his second podium of the season.

Ilott lost some ground towards the end of the race but still comfortably took fourth, with Jehan Daruvala and Ralf Aron spending their races alone in fifth and sixth respectively.

Jake Hughes was unable to match the pace of the top six and was under pressure from Ferdinand Habsburg throughout the race, the duo even making small contact at Remus once.

The Carlin driver did not manage to make a move, and lost ground in the middle sector during the final lap, allowing Hughes to secure seventh.

Habsburg fell behind Maximilian Gunther and Joey Mawson to settle for 10th.

Gunther is now 84 points behind Norris in the standings, and has to outscore the Carlin driver by 10 points in race three to prevent the Briton from being crowned champion.

UPDATE: Hughes received a 10-second time penalty for forcing Habsburg off-track on the final lap, dropping the Briton to 13th place.

The penalty promoted Gunther to seventh, and thus reduced Norris' points lead to 82.

Race results:

Pos.Driver Team Time/Gap
 Joel Eriksson Motopark 35'02.436
 Lando Norris Carlin 0.896
 Nikita Mazepin Hitech GP 7.303
 Callum Ilott Prema Powerteam 7.842
 Jehan Daruvala Carlin 11.634
 Ralf Aron Hitech GP 13.412
 Maximilian Gunther Prema Powerteam 24.461
 Joey Mawson Van Amersfoort Racing 25.141
 Ferdinand Habsburg Carlin 25.504
10   Mick Schumacher Prema Powerteam 26.661
11   David Beckmann Motopark 30.050
12   Harrison Newey Van Amersfoort Racing 33.109
13   Jake Hughes Hitech GP 33.818
14   Keyvan Andres Motopark 35.160
15   Pedro Piquet Van Amersfoort Racing 35.909
16   Marino Sato Motopark 36.780
17   Tadasuke Makino Hitech GP 38.876
18   Petru Florescu Carlin 41.815
19   Guan Yu Zhou Prema Powerteam 43.708
20   Devlin Defrancesco Carlin 2 laps
Red Bull Ring F3: Eriksson sweeps Sunday poles

Previous article

Red Bull Ring F3: Eriksson sweeps Sunday poles

Next article

Red Bull Ring F3: Eriksson wins, late crash denies Norris early title

Red Bull Ring F3: Eriksson wins, late crash denies Norris early title
Load comments

About this article

Series Formula European Masters
Event Spielberg
Sub-event Sunday race 1
Location Red Bull Ring
Drivers Joel Eriksson
Teams Motopark
Author David Gruz