Formula E
14 Feb
15 Feb
Event finished
Marrakesh E-prix
27 Feb
29 Feb
Next event in
9 days
Formula 1 MotoGP
05 Mar
08 Mar
FP1 in
17 days
Thailand GP
19 Mar
22 Mar
Next event in
30 days
08 Feb
16 Feb
Monday Race in
09 Hours
41 Minutes
47 Seconds
Las Vegas
21 Feb
23 Feb
First Practice in
4 days
13 Mar
15 Mar
Next event in
24 days
03 Apr
05 Apr
Next event in
45 days
22 Feb
23 Feb
FP1 in
5 days
18 Mar
20 Mar
Next event in
29 days

Aitken leads 2017 Renault Sport Academy line-up

Aitken leads 2017 Renault Sport Academy line-up
Feb 21, 2017, 3:24 PM

Renault has announced its line-up of Academy drivers for 2017, with Jack Aitken and Sun Yue Yang being joined by Formula 4 stars Max Fewtrell and Jarno Opmeer.

Jack Aitken, Renault Sport Academy
Jack Aitken, ART Grand Prix
Sun Yue Yang
Max Fewtrell, Carlin
Jarno Opmeer

The Renault Sport Academy was formed at the beginning of 2016, along with the French manufacturer's return to Formula 1 as a factory team.

Oliver Rowland, Jack Aitken, Louis Deletraz and Kevin Jorg were unveiled as the initial signings last year.

In addition, karting driver Yang joined the team during the season, completing an extensive single-seater testing programme.

Of the quintet, only Aitken and Yang have been retained for 2017, although Rowland is expected to remain affiliated with Renault.

The announcement confirms Aitken's expected move to GP3 frontrunner team ART Grand Prix, the Brit joining Mercedes junior George Russell and Honda protege Nirei Fukuzumi at the team.

Yang will make his car racing debut in Eurocup Formula Renault 2.0 with JD Motorsport, the start start a two-year programme in the series.

Alongside Yang, Fewtrell and Opmeer both confirmed their step up to the Eurocup from F4.

Fewtrell, managed by Infinity Sports Management, became the 2016 British F4 champion, while Opmeer was second behind Red Bull's Richard Verschoor in the SMP F4 series.

Fewtrell and Opmeer will race with Tech 1 Racing and MP Motorsport respectively in Formula Renault.

2017 GP3 driver line-up so far:

ART Grand Prix

 George Russell

 Nirei Fukuzumi

 Jack Aitken

 Anthoine Hubert

Arden International

 Niko Kari

 Steijn Schothorst

 Leonardo Pulcini


 Kevin Jorg

 Giuliano Alesi

Koiranen GP TBA
Jenzer Motorsport TBA
Campos Racing  Julien Falchero
Next article
Dias joins BlackArts for 2017 Asian Formula Renault season

Previous article

Dias joins BlackArts for 2017 Asian Formula Renault season

Next article

Q&A: Australian F1 hopeful Alex Peroni

Q&A: Australian F1 hopeful Alex Peroni
Load comments