Monza Eurocup: Boccolacci takes maiden win amid chaos

Dorian Boccolacci took his maiden Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup win in Race 2 of the Monza weekend as chaos unfolded behind him.

Monza Eurocup: Boccolacci takes maiden win amid chaos
Nikita Mazepin, AVF by Adrian Valles
Hugo De Sadeleer, Tech 1 Racing
Ferdinand Habsburg, Fortec Motorsports
Will Palmer, R-ace GP
Dorian Boccolacci, Tech 1 Racing
Gabriel Aubry, Tech 1 Racing
Nikita Troitskiy, Fortec Motorsports

The Tech 1 Racing driver was right in the tussle with polesitter Lando Norris – the Frenchman taking the lead for a brief moment before losing it to Norris.

But the British driver couldn’t hold on for long, losing the lead to drop to third behind Boccolacci and Harrison Scott on Lap 2.

Behind, Force India protégé Jehan Daruvala was up to sixth behind Will Palmer, having started 11th.

The Indian and British driver made contact on Lap 6 on the exit of Turn 3, resulting in a safety car as both retired.

Upon the restart, Boccolacci maintained the lead as Scott and Norris came together and both dropped back.

This promoted R-ace GP’s Max Defourny to second and Sasha Fenestraz up to third.

Boccolacci thus took his first Formula Renault win ahead of Defourny and Fenestraz as Hugo de Sadeleer finished fourth and Nikita Troitskiy completed the top five.

The Russian made the most of the opportunity to make up 10 places, having started 15th, to register a top-five finish.

The lead Josef Kaufmann Racing car of Robert Shwartzman was sixth ahead of Norris – the British driver under investigation along with fellow countryman Scott, who finished 13th.

The top 10 was completed by Force India’s development driver Nikita Mazepin in eighth, Julien Falchero ninth and Ferdinand Habsburg 10th.

Race 2 results:

 PosDriver TeamTime Delay 
Dorian Boccolacci Tech 1 Racing 27'44.129  
Max Defourny R-ace GP 27'46.055 1.926
Sacha Fenestraz Tech 1 Racing 27'47.016 2.887
Hugo de Sadeleer Tech 1 Racing 27'47.647 3.518
Nikita Troitskiy Fortec Motorsports 27'49.704 5.575
Robert Shwartzman Josef Kaufmann Racing 27'50.089 5.960
Lando Norris Josef Kaufmann Racing 27'50.248 6.119
Nikita Mazepin AVF by Adrian Valles 27'50.868 6.739
Julien Falchero R-ace GP 27'53.642 9.513
10  Ferdinand Habsburg Fortec Motorsports 27'54.600 10.471
11  James Allen JD Motorsport 27'55.087 10.958
12  A.Perullo Technorace 27'56.256 12.127
13  Harrison Scott AVF by Adrian Valles 27'56.559 12.430
14  Vasiliy Romanov Fortec Motorsports 27'56.605 12.476
15  Bruno Baptista Fortec Motorsports 27'58.802 14.673
16  Nerses Isaakyan AVF by Adrian Valles 28'00.826 16.697
17  Petru Florescu AVF by Adrian Valles 28'04.803 20.674
18  Colin Noble MGR Motorsport 28'06.419 22.290
19  David Richert Cram Motorsport 28'07.457 23.328
Will Palmer R-ace GP 9'26.448  
Jehan Daruvala Josef Kaufmann Racing 9'26.545  
Alexey Korneev JD Motorsport 9'34.833  
Gabriel Aubry Tech 1 Racing 7'38.218  
Henrique Chaves Jr. AVF by Adrian Valles 7'38.453


Monza Eurocup: Norris dominates Race 1
Previous article

Monza Eurocup: Norris dominates Race 1

Next article

Monza Eurocup: Scott survives safety car restart to take maiden win

Monza Eurocup: Scott survives safety car restart to take maiden win
Load comments