Monza Eurocup: Scott survives safety car restart to take maiden win

Harrison Scott cruised to a maiden Eurocup win in the final Monza race on Sunday, having passed polesitter Dorian Boccolacci at the start.

Monza Eurocup: Scott survives safety car restart to take maiden win
Lando Norris, Josef Kaufmann Racing
Will Palmer, R-ace GP
Alex Perullo, Technorace
Hugo De Sadeleer, Tech 1 Racing
Robert Shwartzman, Josef Kaufmann Racing
Jehan Daruvala, Josef Kaufmann Racing
Listen to this article

Scott got a better getaway than Boccolacci from second on the grid, passing the Frenchman to assume the lead.

Lando Norris quickly followed through as the Frenchman dropped further down to fourth, promoting Hugo de Sadeleer into third position.

The trio traded positions for the remainder of the race as Scott extended his advantage to two seconds at the front of the field.

However, the Briton's hard work came to a naught when Nikita Mazepin crashed at the main straight, bringing out the safety car.

But Scott was undeterred by the challenge of a safety car restart as he quickly pulled a gap on Norris, who again found himself under pressure from Boccolacci.

The Josef Kaufmann driver eventually managed to hold on to second place with Boccolacci settling for the final spot on the podium.

Behind the top three, Max Defourny came from seventh on the grid to finish fourth with Gabriel Aubry completing the top five.

Further back, Robert Shwartzman finished sixth after fighting for a podium spot in the early parts of the race.

Will Palmer, who was involved in a collision with Jehan Daruvala yesterday, was classified seventh ahead of Sacha Fenestraz.

Alexey Korneev was ninth in the leading JD Motorsport entry with Henrique Chaves completing the top 10.

Race 3 results:

 PosDriver Team Time Gap
Harrison Scott AVF by Adrian Valles 27'00.033  
Lando Norris Josef Kaufmann Racing 27'00.873 0.840
D.Boccolacci Tech 1 Racing 27'00.988 0.955
Max Defourny R-ace GP 27'03.392 3.359
Gabriel Aubry Tech 1 Racing 27'07.026 6.993
R.Shwartzman Josef Kaufmann Racing 27'09.072 9.039
Will Palmer R-ace GP 27'09.797 9.764
Sacha Fenestraz Tech 1 Racing 27'11.656 11.623
Alexey Korneev JD Motorsport 27'15.741 15.708
10  H.Chaves Jr. AVF by Adrian Valles 27'16.097 16.064
11  Julien Falchero R-ace GP 27'16.579 16.546
12  F.Habsburg Fortec Motorsports 27'17.245 17.212
13  Hugo de Sadeleer Tech 1 Racing 27'18.213 18.180
14  A.Perullo Technorace 27'19.988 19.955
15  Petru Florescu AVF by Adrian Valles 27'20.724 20.691
16  Nerses Isaakyan AVF by Adrian Valles 27'22.462 22.429
17  James Allen JD Motorsport 27'23.724 23.691
18  Colin Noble MGR Motorsport 27'25.623 25.590
19  David Richert Cram Motorsport 27'27.289 27.256
20  Jehan Daruvala Josef Kaufmann Racing 23'32.769  
21  Vasiliy Romanov Fortec Motorsports 24'50.465  
Bruno Baptista Fortec Motorsports 14'20.497  
Nikita Mazepin AVF by Adrian Valles 14'26.666  
Nikita Troitskiy Fortec Motorsports 7'39.340

Monza Eurocup: Boccolacci takes maiden win amid chaos
Previous article

Monza Eurocup: Boccolacci takes maiden win amid chaos

Next article

Spielberg Eurocup: Norris outduels Defourny in thrilling Race 1

Spielberg Eurocup: Norris outduels Defourny in thrilling Race 1
Load comments