Formula E
14 Feb
15 Feb
Event finished
27 Feb
29 Feb
FP2 in
12 Hours
36 Minutes
23 Seconds
Formula 1 MotoGP
05 Mar
08 Mar
FP1 in
6 days
Thailand GP
19 Mar
22 Mar
FP1 in
20 days
21 Feb
23 Feb
Event finished
28 Feb
01 Mar
First Practice in
01 Hours
41 Minutes
23 Seconds
13 Mar
15 Mar
Next event in
13 days
03 Apr
05 Apr
Next event in
34 days
22 Feb
23 Feb
Event finished
18 Mar
20 Mar
Next event in
18 days

McLaren takes dominant first Blancpain win at Silverstone

McLaren takes dominant first Blancpain win at Silverstone
May 24, 2015, 5:56 PM

McLaren took its first win of the 2015 Blancpain GT season at Silverstone in dominant fashion with its drivers Rob Bell, Shane van Gisbergen and Kevin Estre.

#58 Von Ryan Racing: Shane van Gisbergen, Robert Bell, Kevin Estre
#56 Attempto Racing Porsche 997 GT3 R: Jürgen Häring, Dimitrios Konstantinou, Frank Schmickler
#3 Belgian Audi Sport Team WRT Audi R8 LMS ultra: Stéphane Richelmi, Stéphane Ortelli, Frank Stippler
#34 Car Collection Motorsport Mercedes SLS AMG GT3: Alexander Mattschull, Pierre Ehret
#73 MRS GT Racing Nissan GT-R Nismo GT3: Sean Walkinshaw, Craig Dolby, Martin Plowman
#12 TDS Racing BMW Z4: Eric Dermont, Henry Hassid, Franck Perera

The #58 VonRyan Racing-run McLaren 650S started the race from fourth, but quickly took the lead after the Nissan GT-R of Alex Buncombe, Katsumasa Chiyo and Wolfgang Reip that started from pole suffered damage and fell down the order, eventually finishing 13th.

The WRT team brought its pair of Audi R8 LMS Ultra cars home in second and third places respectively, the #1 car of Laurens Vanthoor, Robin Frijns and Jean-Karl Vernay beating the sister #3 machine of Stephane Ortelli, Frank Stippler and Stephane Richelmi.

Both Vanthoor and Frjins told that the performance deficit to the McLaren was too high around the Silverstone circuit, although this didn't stop Vanthoor from pushing all the way to the finish.

The gap to the McLaren hardly came down in the last hour of racing as Vanthoor was locked in a battle to secure his second place earlier in his stint.

Completing the top five were the #75 ISR Audi (Marco Bonanomi/Filip Salaquarda/Frederic Vervisch) and the #73 MRS Nissan (Craig Dolby/Sean Walkinshaw/Martin Plowman).

Disappointment for Bentley

Bentley M-Sport had an average race 12 months on from their victory at Silverstone last year, Maximilian Buhk, Andy Soucek and Maxime Soulet finishing sixth after taking a drive-through penalty for avoidable contact.

The Pro-Am category was won by the #32 Leonard Motorsport Aston Martin of Stuart Leonard, Michael Meadows and Paul Wilson, followed by the #22 Nissan GT-R in the hands of previous GT Academy winners Jann Mardenborough, Gaetan Paletou and Ricardo Sanchez.

Leading finishers:

Pos No. Drivers Car Time/Gap
58 Shane van Gisbergen
Rob Bell
Kevin Estre
McLaren 3hr01m44.827
1 Jean-Karl Vernay
Robin Frijns
Laurens Vanthoor
Audi 23.281
3 Frank Stippler
Stephane Richelmi
Stephane Ortelli
Audi 44.793
75 Marco Bonanomi
Filip Salaquarda
Frederic Vervisch
Audi 48.407
73 Sean Walkinshaw
Martin Plowman
Craig Dolby
Nissan 56.787
8 Maximilian Buhk
Maxime Soulet
Andy Soucek
Bentley 59.627
333 Rinat Salikhov
Marco Seefried
Norbert Siedler
Ferrari 1m04.614
63 Giovanni Venturini
Adrian Zaugg
Mirko Bortolotti
Lamborghini 1m08.715
7 Guy Smith
Andrew Meyrick
Steven Kane
Bentley 1m09.644
10  99 Nico Bastian
Stef Dusseldorp
Klaus Graf
Mercedes 1m26.319


Next article
Will Britannia rule Silverstone?

Previous article

Will Britannia rule Silverstone?

Next article

Two podium finishes for the Belgian Audi Club Team WRT at Silverstone reinforce leadership

Two podium finishes for the Belgian Audi Club Team WRT at Silverstone reinforce leadership
Load comments