Formula 1
28 Mar
Race in
68 days
Emilia Romagna GP
18 Apr
Race in
90 days
25 Mar
Next event in
65 days
Argentinian GP
08 Apr
Next event in
79 days
Formula E
Diriyah ePrix I
26 Feb
Next event in
38 days
Diriyah ePrix II
27 Feb
Next event in
39 days
09 Apr
Next event in
80 days
16 Apr
Next event in
87 days

Laguna Seca IMSA: Taylor leads Montoya in Acura 1-2

Laguna Seca IMSA: Taylor leads Montoya in Acura 1-2

Ricky Taylor beat Acura teammate Juan Pablo Montoya to pole for the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship's Laguna Seca round, as BMW headed GTLM and Paul Miller Racing grabbed GTD honors.

Taylor set a superb 1min15.035sec lap in the #7 Acura Team Penske ARX-05 to eclipse Montoya by more than 0.3sec and clinch his first pole position of the year.

Brother Jordan Taylor was fastest of the Cadillacs, slotting the Wayne Taylor Racing DPi-V.R into third ahead of the quicker of the two Mazdas, the #77 driven by Tristan Nunez.

The second RT24-P of local boy Jonathan Bomarito will start sixth, on the outside of Action Express Racing’s faster Cadillac entry, driven by Felipe Nasr. Filipe Albuquerque was seventh in the other AXR Caddy, well clear of the two JDC-Miller Motorsports entries.

Jon Bennett's effort in the CORE autosport Nissan DPi was slower than both of the two LMP2 entries, the quickest of which was the Performance Tech Motorsports Oreca of Kyle Masson.

GT Le Mans

#24 BMW Team RLL BMW M8 GTE, GTLM: Jesse Krohn, John Edwards

#24 BMW Team RLL BMW M8 GTE, GTLM: Jesse Krohn, John Edwards

Photo by: Richard Dole / LAT Images

Jesse Krohn set a 1min21.557sec lap in the #24 Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing-run BMW M8 GTE that survived Dirk Muller’s attempts to displace him, the German's Ford GT coming up 0.127sec short.

Krohn’s teammate Blomqvist got to third place, 0.334sec away, before pitting his BMW, while Laurens Vanthoor will start fourth in the #912 Porsche 911 RSR after setting a time 0.385sec from P1.

Ryan Briscoe ran off the road at the Corkscrew on what should have been his best lap in the second Ford, but his previous best was still enough to eclipse both Corvette C7.Rs.

Nick Tandy spun the #911 Porsche out of the Corkscrew and then reversed down the hill so he could rejoin in a safe place without causing any disruption to his rivals. However, he will start last in class.

GT Daytona

#73 Park Place Motorsports Porsche 911 GT3 R, GTD: Patrick Long, Patrick Lindsey

#73 Park Place Motorsports Porsche 911 GT3 R, GTD: Patrick Long, Patrick Lindsey

Photo by: Charles Bradley

Patrick Lindsey had a nasty off in the Park Place Motorsports Porsche 911 GT3 R with eight minutes to go in the GTD session, and that brought out the red flags.

The #73 car clipped the inside curb at Turn 10, drifted out to the exit curb and then spun across the track where it made heavy contact with a concrete barrier. Lindsey walked to the rescue vehicle unaided but the car appeared that it would be difficult to repair in time for Sunday's race.

At the time the session was stopped, Trent Hindman had just set fastest time in the #86 Meyer Shank Racing Acura NSX GT3, edging Cooper MacNeil’s Scuderia Corsa Ferrari 488 GT3 by 0.055sec, with Zacharie Robichon’s Pfaff Porsche and Robby Foley’s Turner Motorsports BMW M6 GT3 on identical times in third and fourth.

However, the session was reset with four minutes on the clock, and a great final lap by Corey Lewis saw him jump his Paul Miller Racing Lamborghini Huracan GT3 to the top of the times by 0.101sec. 

Matt Plumb clocked sixth in Compass Racing’s McLaren 720S ahead of the second Acura of Christina Nielsen and the Riley Motorsports Mercedes-AMG GT3 of Ben Keating.

Session results:

Cla Num Driver Class Chassis Time Gap
1 7 United States Ricky Taylor
Brazil Helio Castroneves
DPi Acura DPi 1'15.035
2 6 United States Dane Cameron
Colombia Juan Pablo Montoya
DPi Acura DPi 1'15.343 0.308
3 10 Netherlands Renger van der Zande
United States Jordan Taylor
DPi Cadillac DPi 1'15.488 0.453
4 77 United Kingdom Oliver Jarvis
United States Tristan Nunez
DPi Mazda DPi 1'15.517 0.482
5 31 Brazil Felipe Nasr
Brazil Pipo Derani
DPi Cadillac DPi 1'15.610 0.575
6 55 United States Jonathan Bomarito
United Kingdom Harry Tincknell
DPi Mazda DPi 1'15.728 0.693
7 5 Portugal Joao Barbosa
Portugal Filipe Albuquerque
DPi Cadillac DPi 1'15.757 0.722
8 85 Canada Mikhail Goikhberg
France Tristan Vautier
DPi Cadillac DPi 1'16.176 1.141
9 84 Switzerland Simon Trummer
South Africa Stephen Simpson
DPi Cadillac DPi 1'16.348 1.313
10 38 Canada Cameron Cassels
United States Kyle Masson
LMP2 ORECA LMP2 1'16.817 1.782
11 52 United States Matt McMurry
Canada Dalton Kellett
LMP2 ORECA LMP2 1'17.618 2.583
12 54 United States Jon Bennett
United States Colin Braun
DPi Nissan DPi 1'17.661 2.626
13 24 Finland Jesse Krohn
United States John Edwards
GTLM BMW M8 GTE 1'21.557 6.522
14 66 United States Joey Hand
Germany Dirk Muller
GTLM Ford GT 1'21.684 6.649
15 25 United States Connor de Phillippi
United Kingdom Tom Blomqvist
GTLM BMW M8 GTE 1'21.891 6.856
16 912 New Zealand Earl Bamber
Belgium Laurens Vanthoor
GTLM Porsche 911 RSR 1'21.942 6.907
17 67 Australia Ryan Briscoe
United Kingdom Richard Westbrook
GTLM Ford GT 1'21.999 6.964
18 3 Denmark Jan Magnussen
Spain Antonio Garcia
GTLM Corvette C7.R 1'22.026 6.991
19 4 United Kingdom Oliver Gavin
United States Tommy Milner
GTLM Corvette C7.R 1'22.161 7.126
20 911 France Patrick Pilet
United Kingdom Nick Tandy
GTLM Porsche 911 RSR 1'22.295 7.260
21 48 United States Bryan Sellers
United States Corey Lewis
GTD Lamborghini Huracan GT3 1'24.962 9.927
22 86 Germany Mario Farnbacher
United States Trent Hindman
GTD Acura NSX GT3 1'25.063 10.028
23 63 United States Cooper MacNeil
Finland Toni Vilander
GTD Ferrari 488 GT3 1'25.118 10.083
24 9 Canada Scott Hargrove
Canada Zacharie Robichon
GTD Porsche 911 GT3 R 1'25.165 10.130
25 96 United States Bill Auberlen
United States Robby Foley
GTD BMW M6 GT3 1'25.165 10.130
26 76 United States Paul Holton
United States Matt Plumb
GTD McLaren 720S GT3 1'25.204 10.169
27 57 United Kingdom Katherine Legge
Denmark Christina Nielsen
GTD Acura NSX GT3 1'25.311 10.276
28 33 United States Ben Keating
Netherlands Jeroen Bleekemolen
GTD Mercedes-AMG GT3 1'25.678 10.643
29 14 United States Richard Heistand
United Kingdom Jack Hawksworth
GTD Lexus RC F GT3 1'26.180 11.145
30 44 United States John Potter
United States Andy Lally
GTD Lamborghini Huracan GT3 1'26.414 11.379
31 12 United States Frankie Montecalvo
United States Townsend Bell
GTD Lexus RC F GT3 1'26.466 11.431
32 73 United States Patrick Lindsey
United States Patrick Long
GTD Porsche 911 GT3 R 0.000
Laguna Seca IMSA: Taylor heads Acura 1-2 in FP3

Previous article

Laguna Seca IMSA: Taylor heads Acura 1-2 in FP3

Next article

Laguna Seca IMSA: Acuras score 1-2, Ford wins GTLM

Laguna Seca IMSA: Acuras score 1-2, Ford wins GTLM
Load comments

About this article

Series IMSA
Event Laguna Seca
Author David Malsher-Lopez