Lime Rock IMSA: Tandy leads for Porsche, Acura tops GTD

Lime Rock IMSA: Tandy leads for Porsche, Acura tops GTD

The Porsche 911 RSR of Nick Tandy and Patrick Pilet topped opening practice for the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship’s GT-only event at Lime Rock Park.

In the #911 Porsche, Tandy clocked a 50.065sec lap of the 1.474-mile course in Connecticut to beat Oliver Gavin’s time in the #4 Corvette C7.R by a healthy 0.333sec margin.

Gavin is again sharing with Marcel Fassler this weekend while regular partner Tommy Milner recuperates from his hand injury.

Just a whisker slower than the ’Vette was Connor de Phillippi in the #25 BMW M8, with defending champions Jan Magnussen and Antonio Garcia fourth in the second Corvette.

Richard Westbrook led the way for Ford in the #67 GT ahead of John Edwards (BMW), Dirk Muller (Ford) and Laurens Vanthoor (Porsche).

Mario Farnbacher in the Meyer Shank Racing Acura NSX led the GT Daytona class but outpaced Jeroen Bleekemolen’s Riley Motorsports Mercedes-AMG GT3 by less than 0.1sec.

Bryan Sellers was third fastest in the Lamborghini Huracan of Paul Miller Racing, mere hundredths slower, while Pat Long narrowly edged the Porsche battle for fourth, his Park Place Motorsports entry a sliver faster than Matt Campbell in the returning Wright Motorsports entry.

Second practice begins at 2.20pm local (Eastern) time.

Session results:

Cla Num Driver Class Chassis Time Gap
1 911 France Patrick Pilet
United Kingdom Nick Tandy
GTLM Porsche 911 RSR 50.065
2 4 United Kingdom Oliver Gavin
Switzerland Marcel Fassler
GTLM Corvette C7.R 50.398 0.333
3 25 United Kingdom Tom Blomqvist
United States Connor de Phillippi
GTLM BMW M8 GTE 50.416 0.351
4 3 Denmark Jan Magnussen
Spain Antonio Garcia
GTLM Corvette C7.R 50.533 0.468
5 67 Australia Ryan Briscoe
United Kingdom Richard Westbrook
GTLM Ford GT 50.545 0.480
6 24 Finland Jesse Krohn
United States John Edwards
GTLM BMW M8 GTE 50.610 0.545
7 66 United States Joey Hand
Germany Dirk Muller
GTLM Ford GT 50.655 0.590
8 912 New Zealand Earl Bamber
Belgium Laurens Vanthoor
GTLM Porsche 911 RSR 50.950 0.885
9 86 Germany Mario Farnbacher
United States Trent Hindman
GTD Acura NSX GT3 51.813 1.748
10 33 United States Ben Keating
Netherlands Jeroen Bleekemolen
GTD Mercedes-AMG GT3 51.886 1.821
11 48 United States Bryan Sellers
United States Corey Lewis
GTD Lamborghini Huracan GT3 51.912 1.847
12 73 Germany Marco Seefried
United States Patrick Long
GTD Porsche 911 GT3 R 51.930 1.865
13 91 United States Anthony Imperato
Australia Matt Campbell
GTD Porsche 911 GT3 R 51.965 1.900
14 11 United States John Potter
United States Andy Lally
GTD Lamborghini Huracan GT3 52.082 2.017
15 96 United States Bill Auberlen
United States Robby Foley
GTD BMW M6 GT3 52.268 2.203
16 12 United States Frankie Montecalvo
United States Townsend Bell
GTD Lexus RC F GT3 52.291 2.226
17 63 United States Cooper MacNeil
Finland Toni Vilander
GTD Ferrari 488 GT3 52.371 2.306
18 9 Norway Dennis Olsen
Canada Zacharie Robichon
GTD Porsche 911 GT3 R 52.462 2.397
19 14 United States Richard Heistand
United Kingdom Jack Hawksworth
GTD Lexus RC F GT3 52.553 2.488
20 57 United Kingdom Katherine Legge
Denmark Christina Nielsen
GTD Acura NSX GT3 52.604 2.539
21 76 United States Paul Holton
United States Matt Plumb
GTD McLaren 720S GT3 52.737 2.672
Kobayashi to defend Rolex 24 title with WTR

Previous article

Kobayashi to defend Rolex 24 title with WTR

Next article

Lime Rock IMSA: Garcia tops FP2 for Chevy, BMW leads GTD

Lime Rock IMSA: Garcia tops FP2 for Chevy, BMW leads GTD
Load comments

About this article

Series IMSA
Event Lime Rock
Author David Malsher-Lopez