Lime Rock IMSA: Tandy leads Porsche sweep in FP3

Lime Rock IMSA: Tandy leads Porsche sweep in FP3

Nick Tandy and Laurens Vanthoor were the only drivers to cut sub-50 second laps around Lime Rock Park track to send the Porsche 911 RSRs to the top of the times in third practice for tomorrow's IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship race.

Vanthoor, championship leader along with Earl Bamber, was the first to turn a 49sec lap, with a 49.938, but Tandy left it until the final minute to grab P1 with a 49.782, following it up with another lap under Vanthoor’s best.

This Porsche domination left Richard Westbrook’s Ford GT more than half a second adrift in third, although for many teams the session was about race-runs and pitstop practice.

Marcel Fassler, standing in for the still injured Tommy Milner, put the #4 Corvette C7.R in a tire barrier that left the car in need of new nose and fenders, but co-driver Oliver Gavin was fourth-fastest ahead of the second Ford of Dirk Muller and Joey Hand.

Second practice pacesetter Antonio Garcia in the #3 Corvette beat the two BMW M8s to sixth.

In GT Daytona, a late improvement by Bryan Sellers – who this weekend shares the Paul Miller Racing Lamborghini Huracan GT3 with Corey Lewis rather than Ryan Hardwick – put the #48 at the top of the times with a 51.797 ahead of Pat Long in the Park Place Motorsports Porsche 911 GT3 R and the Acura NSX GT3 of Meyer Shank Racing’s Mario Farnbacher.

Andy Lally drove the Apollo 11-liveried Magnus Racing Lamborghini into fourth ahead of Zacharie Robichon’s Pfaff Motorsports Porsche.

Session results:

Cla Num Driver Class Chassis Time Gap
1 911 France Patrick Pilet
United Kingdom Nick Tandy
GTLM Porsche 911 RSR 49.782
2 912 New Zealand Earl Bamber
Belgium Laurens Vanthoor
GTLM Porsche 911 RSR 49.938 0.156
3 67 Australia Ryan Briscoe
United Kingdom Richard Westbrook
GTLM Ford GT 50.314 0.532
4 4 United Kingdom Oliver Gavin
Switzerland Marcel Fassler
GTLM Corvette C7.R 50.462 0.680
5 66 United States Joey Hand
Germany Dirk Muller
GTLM Ford GT 50.588 0.806
6 3 Denmark Jan Magnussen
Spain Antonio Garcia
GTLM Corvette C7.R 50.626 0.844
7 24 Finland Jesse Krohn
United States John Edwards
GTLM BMW M8 GTE 51.139 1.357
8 25 United Kingdom Tom Blomqvist
United States Connor de Phillippi
GTLM BMW M8 GTE 51.353 1.571
9 48 United States Bryan Sellers
United States Corey Lewis
GTD Lamborghini Huracan GT3 51.797 2.015
10 73 Germany Marco Seefried
United States Patrick Long
GTD Porsche 911 GT3 R 51.821 2.039
11 86 Germany Mario Farnbacher
United States Trent Hindman
GTD Acura NSX GT3 51.874 2.092
12 11 United States John Potter
United States Andy Lally
GTD Lamborghini Huracan GT3 51.974 2.192
13 9 Norway Dennis Olsen
Canada Zacharie Robichon
GTD Porsche 911 GT3 R 52.010 2.228
14 91 United States Anthony Imperato
Australia Matt Campbell
GTD Porsche 911 GT3 R 52.215 2.433
15 33 United States Ben Keating
Netherlands Jeroen Bleekemolen
GTD Mercedes-AMG GT3 52.628 2.846
16 14 United States Richard Heistand
United Kingdom Jack Hawksworth
GTD Lexus RC F GT3 52.637 2.855
17 63 United States Cooper MacNeil
Finland Toni Vilander
GTD Ferrari 488 GT3 52.661 2.879
18 57 United Kingdom Katherine Legge
Denmark Christina Nielsen
GTD Acura NSX GT3 53.066 3.284
19 12 United States Frankie Montecalvo
United States Townsend Bell
GTD Lexus RC F GT3 53.303 3.521
20 76 United States Paul Holton
United States Matt Plumb
GTD McLaren 720S GT3 53.495 3.713
21 96 United States Bill Auberlen
United States Robby Foley
Lime Rock IMSA: Garcia tops FP2 for Chevy, BMW leads GTD

Previous article

Lime Rock IMSA: Garcia tops FP2 for Chevy, BMW leads GTD

Next article

Lime Rock IMSA: Vanthoor takes pole in Porsche front-row lockout

Lime Rock IMSA: Vanthoor takes pole in Porsche front-row lockout
Load comments

About this article

Series IMSA
Event Lime Rock
Author David Malsher-Lopez