Lime Rock IMSA: Vanthoor takes pole in Porsche front-row lockout

Lime Rock IMSA: Vanthoor takes pole in Porsche front-row lockout

Laurens Vanthoor nailed a 49.133sec lap of Lime Rock Park to edge Porsche teammate Nick Tandy and take the #912 car’s first pole of the 2019 IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship for this afternoon’s Northeast Grand Prix.

Tandy set the fastest first sector in the #911 Porsche, but Vanthoor clawed that deficit and more back over Sectors 2 and 3 to claim pole by 0.052sec.

Vanthoor’s margin of less than 0.2sec over the fastest non-Porsche was perhaps less than expected given the 911 RSRs' pace in practice, but a bigger surprise was the identity of their nearest challenger.

Connor De Phillippi set a brilliant 49.322sec in the #25 BMW M8, over half a second faster than teammate John Edwards and well able to outpace Dirk Muller in the Ford GT and the two Corvette C7.Rs of Antonio Garcia and Oliver Gavin.

Ryan Briscoe in the #67 Ford and Edwards will roll off from the fourth row.

A close battle in GT Daytona saw Trent Hindman dig deep for his third pole of the season in the Meyer Shank Racing Acura NSX, setting a new track record and beating Ben Keating in the Riley Motorsports Mercedes-AMG GT3 by 0.026sec.

The Paul Miller Racing Lamborghini Huracan GT3, qualified this week by Corey Lewis who is subbing for Ryan Hardwick, was just a further 0.05sec in arrears while behind him Robby Foley slotted the Turner Motorsport BMW M6 into fourth, despite being only 0.08sec from top spot.

Zacharie Robichon was fastest of the Porsches, grabbing fifth for Pfaff Motorsports ahead of the quicker of the two AIM Vasser Sullivan Lexus RC Fs, the #14 of Richard Heistand.

The Northeast Grand Prix begins at 3.10pm local (Eastern) time.

Session results:

Cla Num Driver Class Chassis Time Gap
1 912 New Zealand Earl Bamber
Belgium Laurens Vanthoor
GTLM Porsche 911 RSR 49.133
2 911 France Patrick Pilet
United Kingdom Nick Tandy
GTLM Porsche 911 RSR 49.185 0.052
3 25 United Kingdom Tom Blomqvist
United States Connor de Phillippi
GTLM BMW M8 GTE 49.322 0.189
4 66 United States Joey Hand
Germany Dirk Muller
GTLM Ford GT 49.458 0.325
5 3 Denmark Jan Magnussen
Spain Antonio Garcia
GTLM Corvette C7.R 49.690 0.557
6 4 United Kingdom Oliver Gavin
Switzerland Marcel Fassler
GTLM Corvette C7.R 49.748 0.615
7 67 Australia Ryan Briscoe
United Kingdom Richard Westbrook
GTLM Ford GT 49.808 0.675
8 24 Finland Jesse Krohn
United States John Edwards
GTLM BMW M8 GTE 49.864 0.731
9 86 Germany Mario Farnbacher
United States Trent Hindman
GTD Acura NSX GT3 51.456 2.323
10 33 United States Ben Keating
Netherlands Jeroen Bleekemolen
GTD Mercedes-AMG GT3 51.482 2.349
11 48 United States Bryan Sellers
United States Corey Lewis
GTD Lamborghini Huracan GT3 51.532 2.399
12 96 United States Bill Auberlen
United States Robby Foley
GTD BMW M6 GT3 51.536 2.403
13 9 Norway Dennis Olsen
Canada Zacharie Robichon
GTD Porsche 911 GT3 R 51.575 2.442
14 14 United States Richard Heistand
United Kingdom Jack Hawksworth
GTD Lexus RC F GT3 51.642 2.509
15 73 Germany Marco Seefried
United States Patrick Long
GTD Porsche 911 GT3 R 51.661 2.528
16 63 United States Cooper MacNeil
Finland Toni Vilander
GTD Ferrari 488 GT3 51.719 2.586
17 91 United States Anthony Imperato
Australia Matt Campbell
GTD Porsche 911 GT3 R 51.785 2.652
18 76 United States Paul Holton
United States Matt Plumb
GTD McLaren 720S GT3 52.008 2.875
19 57 United Kingdom Katherine Legge
Denmark Christina Nielsen
GTD Acura NSX GT3 52.059 2.926
20 11 United States John Potter
United States Andy Lally
GTD Lamborghini Huracan GT3 52.226 3.093
21 12 United States Frankie Montecalvo
United States Townsend Bell
GTD Lexus RC F GT3 52.236 3.103
Lime Rock IMSA: Tandy leads Porsche sweep in FP3

Previous article

Lime Rock IMSA: Tandy leads Porsche sweep in FP3

Next article

Lime Rock IMSA: Westbrook, Briscoe triumph for Ford

Lime Rock IMSA: Westbrook, Briscoe triumph for Ford
Load comments

About this article

Series IMSA
Event Lime Rock
Author David Malsher-Lopez