04 Jun
04 Jun
Event finished
Formula E: Race at Home Challenge - Round 7
06 Jun
06 Jun
Event finished
Formula 1
09 Jul
12 Jul
Next event in
32 days
06 Aug
09 Aug
Next event in
60 days
Austrian GP
13 Aug
16 Aug
Next event in
67 days
31 May
31 May
Event finished
07 Jun
07 Jun
Race in
1 day
06 Jun
06 Jun
Practice in
01 Hours
36 Minutes
40 Seconds
13 Aug
15 Aug
Next event in
67 days
19 Nov
21 Nov
Next event in
165 days
26 Jun
28 Jun
Next event in
19 days
17 Jul
19 Jul
Next event in
40 days

Petit Le Mans: Cadillac, Ferrari, Lamborghini scoop poles

Petit Le Mans: Cadillac, Ferrari, Lamborghini scoop poles
Oct 11, 2019, 9:14 PM

Felipe Nasr turned on the magic to take pole for Action Express Racing in the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship finale at Road Atlanta, while Risi Competizione’s Ferrari and the Paul Miller Racing Lamborghini headed their classes.

Nasr’s Cadillac DPi-V.R lapped the 2.54-mile course in 68.457sec which Ricky Taylor tried but failed to beat by 0.141sec in the #7 Acura Team Penske ARX-05. Taylor did, however, move onto the front row by beating the second AXR Cadillac of Filipe Albuquerque by just 0.031sec.

Dane Cameron was fourth in the championship-leading second Acura, only just ahead of Timo Bernhard in the faster of the two Mazda RT24-Ps.

Simon Trummer (JDC Miller Motorsports), Renger van der Zande (Wayne Taylor Racing), Spencer Pigot (Juncos Racing) and Misha Goikhberg (JDC-Miller) completed the Top 10, all in Cadillacs.

Kyle Masson edged Matt McMurry in the LMP2 battle for honors between Performance Tech Motorsports and PR1/Mathiasen Motorsports.

Ferrari factory driver James Calado gave Risi Competizione the GT Le Mans pole position it threatened from the moment it took to the track yesterday, the Ferrari 488 lapping in 1min15.639sec.

Perhaps most surprising was the fact that Calado’s nearest competitor was Antonio Garcia, a mere 0.063sec slower in the Corvette C7.R that will make its swansong tomorrow after six glorious years in the GTLM category.

Philipp Eng did a great job in the #24 BMW M8 to beat both Porsche 911 RSRs, both Ford GTs, the second Corvette and his own BMW teammate and newest IndyCar megastar Colton Herta.

Ricky Feller did an excellent job in the Montaplast by Land Motorsport Audi R8 LMS to set a new GT Daytona track record – only to see his times deleted because his team touched the car during a red flag period.

That session stoppage was caused by Robby Foley parking his Turner Motorsport BMW M6 GT3 in the Turn 10 gravel at the end of his out lap.

Therefore Corey Lewis scored his second consecutive pole position for Paul Miller Racing – and initially appeared to be leading a Lamborghini as series debutant Shinya Michimi slotted in second just 0.008sec behind.

However, Michimi too had his times deleted, elevating Ben Keating to second in the Riley Motorsports Mercedes AMG-GT3 ahead of Jeff Westphal in the Scuderia Corsa Ferrari 488 GT3.

Justin Marks edged Meyer Shank Racing Acura teammate Christina Nielsen to snatch fourth by one-tenth of a second.

Zacharie Robichon’s Pfaff Motorsports Porsche 911 GT3 R was sixth ahead of the AIM Vasser Sullivan Lexus RC Fs.

The raceday warm-up begins at 9.30am local (Eastern) time, with the 22nd Motul Petit Le Mans taking the green flag at 12.05pm.

UPDATE: Corvette's #3 entry was moved to the back of the GTLM field as the car was "found to be out of compliance in post-qualifying inspection" according to a team statement.

It promotes the #24 BMW to second in class ahead of the points-leading #912 Porsche.

Session results:

Cla Num Driver Class Chassis Time Gap
1 31 Brazil Felipe Nasr
United States Eric Curran
Brazil Pipo Derani
DPi Cadillac DPi 1'08.457
2 7 United States Ricky Taylor
Brazil Helio Castroneves
United States Graham Rahal
DPi Acura DPi 1'08.598 0.141
3 5 Portugal Joao Barbosa
United Kingdom Mike Conway
Portugal Filipe Albuquerque
DPi Cadillac DPi 1'08.629 0.172
4 6 United States Dane Cameron
Colombia Juan Pablo Montoya
France Simon Pagenaud
DPi Acura DPi 1'08.802 0.345
5 77 United Kingdom Oliver Jarvis
United States Tristan Nunez
Germany Timo Bernhard
DPi Mazda DPi 1'08.847 0.390
6 55 United States Jonathan Bomarito
United Kingdom Harry Tincknell
France Olivier Pla
DPi Mazda DPi 1'09.204 0.747
7 84 Switzerland Simon Trummer
South Africa Stephen Simpson
United States Chris Miller
DPi Cadillac DPi 1'09.243 0.786
8 10 Netherlands Renger van der Zande
United States Jordan Taylor
France Matthieu Vaxiviere
DPi Cadillac DPi 1'09.253 0.796
9 50 United States Will Owen
Austria Rene Binder
United States Spencer Pigot
DPi Cadillac DPi 1'09.507 1.050
10 85 Canada Mikhail Goikhberg
France Tristan Vautier
Colombia Juan Piedrahita
DPi Cadillac DPi 1'09.673 1.216
11 38 Canada Cameron Cassels
United States Kyle Masson
United States Andrew Evans
LMP2 ORECA LMP2 1'10.722 2.265
12 52 United States Matt McMurry
France Gabriel Aubry
Canada Dalton Kellett
LMP2 ORECA LMP2 1'10.853 2.396
13 54 United States Jon Bennett
United States Colin Braun
France Romain Dumas
DPi Nissan DPi 1'11.511 3.054
14 62 United Kingdom James Calado
Italy Alessandro Pier Guidi
Brazil Daniel Serra
GTLM Ferrari 488 GTE 1'15.639 7.182
15 3 Denmark Jan Magnussen
Spain Antonio Garcia
Germany Mike Rockenfeller
GTLM Corvette C7.R 1'15.702 7.245
16 24 Finland Jesse Krohn
United States John Edwards
Austria Philipp Eng
GTLM BMW M8 GTE 1'15.784 7.327
17 912 New Zealand Earl Bamber
Belgium Laurens Vanthoor
France Mathieu Jaminet
GTLM Porsche 911 RSR 1'15.842 7.385
18 66 United States Joey Hand
Germany Dirk Muller
France Sébastien Bourdais
GTLM Ford GT 1'15.856 7.399
19 67 Australia Ryan Briscoe
United Kingdom Richard Westbrook
New Zealand Scott Dixon
GTLM Ford GT 1'15.967 7.510
20 911 France Patrick Pilet
United Kingdom Nick Tandy
France Frédéric Makowiecki
GTLM Porsche 911 RSR 1'16.037 7.580
21 4 United Kingdom Oliver Gavin
United States Tommy Milner
Switzerland Marcel Fassler
GTLM Corvette C7.R 1'16.048 7.591
22 25 United Kingdom Tom Blomqvist
United States Connor de Phillippi
United States Colton Herta
GTLM BMW M8 GTE 1'16.327 7.870
23 48 United States Bryan Sellers
United States Corey Lewis
Germany Marco Seefried
GTD Lamborghini Huracan GT3 1'19.530 11.073
24 33 United States Ben Keating
Netherlands Jeroen Bleekemolen
Brazil Felipe Fraga
GTD Mercedes-AMG GT3 1'19.665 11.208
25 63 United States Cooper MacNeil
Finland Toni Vilander
United States Jeff Westphal
GTD Ferrari 488 GT3 1'19.721 11.264
26 86 Germany Mario Farnbacher
United States Trent Hindman
United States Justin Marks
GTD Acura NSX GT3 1'19.820 11.363
27 57 United Kingdom Katherine Legge
Brazil Ana Beatriz
Denmark Christina Nielsen
GTD Acura NSX GT3 1'19.952 11.495
28 9 Canada Scott Hargrove
Canada Zacharie Robichon
Germany Lars Kern
GTD Porsche 911 GT3 R 1'20.200 11.743
29 14 United States Richard Heistand
United Kingdom Jack Hawksworth
United States Parker Chase
GTD Lexus RC F GT3 1'20.260 11.803
30 12 United States Frankie Montecalvo
United States Townsend Bell
United States Aaron Telitz
GTD Lexus RC F GT3 1'20.323 11.866
31 44 United States John Potter
United States Andy Lally
United States Spencer Pumpelly
GTD Lamborghini Huracan GT3 1'21.234 12.777
32 29 Germany Christopher Mies
Switzerland Richard Feller
Canada Daniel Morad
33 47 United States Brandon Gdovic
United States Don Yount
Japan Shinya Michimi
GTD Lamborghini Huracan GT3
34 96 United States Bill Auberlen
United States Robby Foley
United States Dillon Machavern
Next article
Petit Le Mans: Sensational Nasr puts AXR top again in FP4

Previous article

Petit Le Mans: Sensational Nasr puts AXR top again in FP4

Next article

Petit Le Mans: AXR Cadillacs dominate after two hours

Petit Le Mans: AXR Cadillacs dominate after two hours
Load comments

About this article

Series IMSA
Event Road Atlanta
Author David Malsher-Lopez