Rolex 24: Action Express dominates opening session

Rolex 24: Action Express dominates opening session

Reigning IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Prototype champion Felipe Nasr led defending Rolex 24 Hours winner Filipe Albuquerque in an Action Express Racing 1-2 in first practice at Daytona.

On a wet but drying track, only four prototypes set a reasonably representative times, Nasr lapping the course in 1min36.108sec in his #31 AXR Cadillac DPi-V.R.

That put him 0.599sec clear of teammate Albuquerque, while Tristan Vautier in the #85 JDC-Miller Motorsports entry made it a Cadillac 1-2-3. Jonathan Bomarito was fourth in the #55 Mazda RT24-P of Mazda Team Joest.

The relative lack of hot laps from the Prototypes allowed GT Le Mans to rise to prominence, and it was Frederic Makowiecki and Mathieu Jaminet who put the Porsche 911 RSRs at the top of the times, ahead of Rene Binder in Juncos Racing’s Cadillac Prototype.

Three GT Daytona cars completed the Top 10 overall times, Corey Lewis in the Paul Miller Racing Lamborghini Huracan edging Kelvin van der Linde in the WRT Audi R8 and Aaron Telitz in the new AIM Vasser-Sullivan-run Lexus RC F.

Henrik Hedman was top of the LMP2 cars, wheeling the DragonSpeed Oreca to a 1:46.657.

The two Acura Team Penske Acura ARX-05s set only sighting laps, as did Markus Winkelhock in the Moorespeed Audi R8 in the GTD class.

Rolex 24 Hours at Daytona, Practice 1:

Pos. # Drivers Class Chassis Laps Time Gap
1 31 Brazil Pipo Derani
United States Eric Curran
Brazil Felipe Nasr
DPi Cadillac DPi 20 1'36.108  
2 5 Brazil Christian Fittipaldi
Portugal Filipe Albuquerque
Portugal Joao Barbosa
DPi Cadillac DPi 15 1'36.707 0.599
3 85 Brazil Rubens Barrichello
Canada Mikhail Goikhberg
France Tristan Vautier
Canada Devlin DeFrancesco
DPi Cadillac DPi 11 1'37.595 1.487
4 55 United Kingdom Harry Tincknell
France Olivier Pla
United States Jonathan Bomarito
DPi Mazda DPi 12 1'38.561 2.453
5 911 United Kingdom Nick Tandy
France Patrick Pilet
France Frédéric Makowiecki
GTLM Porsche 911 RSR 19 1'45.334 9.226
6 912 New Zealand Earl Bamber
Belgium Laurens Vanthoor
France Mathieu Jaminet
GTLM Porsche 911 RSR 20 1'46.156 10.048
7 50 United States Kyle Kaiser
Austria Rene Binder
United States Will Owen
Agustin Canapino
DPi Cadillac DPi 19 1'46.191 10.083
8 48 United States Corey Lewis
United States Bryan Sellers
Italy Andrea Caldarelli
Ryan Hardwick
GTD Lamborghini Huracan GT3 9 1'46.577 10.469
9 88 United Kingdom Ian James
Belgium Frederic Vervisch
South Africa Kelvin van der Linde
Roman DeAngelis
GTD Audi R8 LMS GT3 21 1'46.592 10.484
10 12 United States Townsend Bell
United States Jeff Segal
United States Frankie Montecalvo
United States Aaron Telitz
GTD Lexus RC F GT3 20 1'46.651 10.543
11 81 France Nicolas Lapierre
Sweden Henrik Hedman
United Kingdom Ben Hanley
Australia James Allen
LMP2 ORECA LMP2 18 1'46.657 10.549
12 96 United States Bill Auberlen
Germany Jens Klingmann
United States Robby Foley
United States Dillon Machavern
GTD BMW M6 GT3 21 1'46.854 10.746
13 33 Netherlands Jeroen Bleekemolen
United States Ben Keating
Germany Luca Stolz
Felipe Fraga
GTD Mercedes-AMG GT3 26 1'46.871 10.763
14 63 Finland Toni Vilander
Germany Dominik Farnbacher
United States Cooper MacNeil
Jeff Westphal
GTD Ferrari 488 GT3 21 1'46.911 10.803
15 86 United States A.J. Allmendinger
United States Justin Marks
Germany Mario Farnbacher
United States Trent Hindman
GTD Acura NSX GT3 12 1'47.015 10.907
16 11 Switzerland Rolf Ineichen
Italy Mirko Bortolotti
Netherlands Rik Breukers
Germany Christian Engelhart
GTD Lamborghini Huracan GT3 21 1'47.240 11.132
17 66 France Sébastien Bourdais
United States Joey Hand
Germany Dirk Muller
GTLM Ford GT 4 1'47.259 11.151
18 51 Portugal Pedro Lamy
Canada Paul Dalla Lana
Austria Mathias Lauda
Brazil Daniel Serra
GTD Ferrari 488 GT3 28 1'47.306 11.198
19 14 United States Austin Cindric
United Kingdom Jack Hawksworth
Richard Heistand
New Zealand Nick Cassidy
GTD Lexus RC F GT3 17 1'47.310 11.202
20 3 Denmark Jan Magnussen
Spain Antonio Garcia
Germany Mike Rockenfeller
GTLM Corvette C7.R 7 1'47.435 11.327
21 18 Venezuela Pastor Maldonado
Mexico Roberto Gonzalez
Colombia Sebastian Saavedra
Ireland Ryan Cullen
LMP2 ORECA LMP2 21 1'47.488 11.380
22 71 Germany Fabian Schiller
Austria Dominik Baumann
Germany Maximilian Buhk
JC Perez
GTD Mercedes-AMG GT3 7 1'47.626 11.518
23 9 Canada Scott Hargrove
Lars Kern
Dennis Olsen
Canada Zacharie Robichon
GTD Porsche 911 GT3 R 25 1'47.696 11.588
24 57 Switzerland Simona de Silvestro
United Kingdom Katherine Legge
Denmark Christina Nielsen
Brazil Ana Beatriz
GTD Acura NSX GT3 12 1'47.719 11.611
25 8 United Kingdom Ryan Dalziel
United States Parker Chase
Argentina Ezequiel Perez Companc
Chris Haase
GTD Audi R8 LMS GT3 18 1'48.122 12.014
26 62 United Kingdom James Calado
Italy Davide Rigon
Italy Alessandro Pier Guidi
Spain Miguel Molina
GTLM Ferrari 488 GTE 15 1'48.191 12.083
27 44 United States Andy Lally
Italy Marco Mapelli
United States Spencer Pumpelly
United States John Potter
GTD Lamborghini Huracan GT3 22 1'48.340 12.232
28 77 United Kingdom Oliver Jarvis
Germany Timo Bernhard
Germany René Rast
United States Tristan Nunez
DPi Mazda DPi 9 1'48.595 12.487
29 10 Spain Fernando Alonso
Japan Kamui Kobayashi
United States Jordan Taylor
Netherlands Renger van der Zande
DPi Cadillac DPi 9 1'48.608 12.500
30 73 United States Patrick Long
United States Patrick Lindsey
United States Nicholas Boulle
Australia Matt Campbell
GTD Porsche 911 GT3 R 24 1'48.782 12.674
31 540 Germany Marco Seefried
United States Tim Pappas
Germany Dirk Werner
Italy Matteo Cairoli
GTD Porsche 911 GT3 R 23 1'48.912 12.804
32 13 Italy Andrea Bertolini
Brazil Victor Franzoni
Chico Longo
Marcos Gomes
GTD Ferrari 488 GT3 27 1'49.029 12.921
33 54 France Loic Duval
France Romain Dumas
United States Jon Bennett
United States Colin Braun
DPi Nissan DPi 13 1'50.278 14.170
34 99 Austria Klaus Bachler
Germany Sven Muller
Germany Alfred Renauer
Juergen Haering
Steffen Goerig
GTD Porsche 911 GT3 R 23 1'51.379 15.271
35 4 Switzerland Marcel Fassler
United Kingdom Oliver Gavin
United States Tommy Milner
GTLM Corvette C7.R 17 1'52.187 16.079
36 25 United States Connor de Phillippi
Brazil Augusto Farfus
Austria Philipp Eng
United States Colton Herta
GTLM BMW M8 GTE 16 1'52.598 16.490
37 24 United States John Edwards
Finland Jesse Krohn
Australia Chaz Mostert
Italy Alex Zanardi
GTLM BMW M8 GTE 13 1'52.739 16.631
38 67 Australia Ryan Briscoe
New Zealand Scott Dixon
United Kingdom Richard Westbrook
GTLM Ford GT 3 1'53.504 17.396
39 47 United States Don Yount
Serbia Milos Pavlovic
Steve Dunn
Sweden Linus Lundqvist
GTD Lamborghini Huracan GT3 7 1'54.065 17.957
40 29 Canada Daniel Morad
Belgium Dries Vanthoor
Germany Christopher Mies
GTD Audi R8 LMS GT3 22 1'54.369 18.261
41 46 Italy Fabio Babini
Italy Emanuele Busnelli
Taylor Proto
GTD Lamborghini Huracan GT3 12 1'54.705 18.597
42 19 Germany Markus Winkelhock
United States Andrew Davis
United States Will Hardeman
Spain Alex Riberas
GTD Audi R8 LMS GT3 14 2'15.656 39.548
43 6 Colombia Juan Pablo Montoya
France Simon Pagenaud
United States Dane Cameron
DPi Acura DPi 6    
44 7 United States Alexander Rossi
Brazil Helio Castroneves
United States Ricky Taylor
DPi Acura DPi 5    
45 38 United States Kris Wright
Kyle Masson
Canada Cameron Cassels
Robert Masson
46 52 United States Matt McMurry
United States Mark Kvamme
France Enzo Guibbert
France Gabriel Aubry
47 84 Switzerland Simon Trummer
Colombia Juan Piedrahita
United States Chris Miller
South Africa Stephen Simpson
DPi Cadillac DPi 1    


Porsche unveils Brumos-inspired Rolex 24 livery

Previous article

Porsche unveils Brumos-inspired Rolex 24 livery

Next article

Vaxiviere to join Wayne Taylor Racing for IMSA enduros

Vaxiviere to join Wayne Taylor Racing for IMSA enduros
Load comments

About this article

Series IMSA
Event Daytona 24
Author David Malsher-Lopez