Formula 1
14 Aug
FP3 in
01 Hours
34 Minutes
00 Seconds
Formula E MotoGP
07 Aug
Event finished
08 Aug
Event finished
17 Jul
Event finished
12 Aug
Practice 4 in
06 Hours
34 Minutes
00 Seconds
13 Aug
Race in
03 Hours
04 Minutes
00 Seconds
19 Nov
Next event in
95 days
12 Jul
Event finished
15 Aug
Qualifying 2 in
17 Hours
44 Minutes
00 Seconds

Sebring 12 Hours: Pla puts Mazda on top in FP2

Sebring 12 Hours: Pla puts Mazda on top in FP2
Mar 14, 2019, 7:58 PM

Olivier Pla sent Mazda Team Joest to the top of the times in second practice for the Sebring 12 Hours, just before running out of fuel, ahead of Saturday’s second round of the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship.

Pla lapped the 3.74-mile course in 1min46.834sec at the wheel of the #55 RT24-P to beat the best time of this morning’s pacesetter, the #31 Action Express Racing Cadillac DPi-V.R, which was this time piloted by Pipo Derani.

The Frenchman stopping out on track caused the second of two red flags during the session.

Jordan Taylor’s Wayne Taylor Racing Cadillac DPi-V.R was a mere 0.002sec slower than Derani in third, but 0.338sec clear of Helio Castroneves in the faster of Acura Team Penske’s ARX-05s.

Oliver Jarvis ensured both Mazdas were in the top five as he eclipsed Joao Barbosa in AXR’s second Caddy and Juan Pablo Montoya in the second Acura.

PR1/Mathiasen Motorsports’ Matt McMurry survived a spin that didn’t halt the session to go quickest of the two LMP2 Orecas.

Nick Tandy ensured Porsche top spot in GT Le Mans again with a best of 1min56.991sec, around 0.2sec quicker than the Ford GT of Sebastien Bourdais and 0.4sec ahead of the second Ford of Ryan Briscoe.

The BMW M8 of Philipp Eng was half a second off the ace but that was enough to grab fourth ahead of Jan Magnussen in the #3 Corvette C7.R and the second 911 RSR of Earl Bamber.

That BMW promise extended into GT Daytona with the Turner Motorsports M6 of Bill Auberlen setting the pace, a full 0.33sec ahead of Mirko Bortolotti in the Grasser Racing Lamborghini Huracan.

Scott Hargrove wound the Pfaff Porsche 911 GT3 R up to third ahead of the faster of the two Lexus RC Fs, that of new AIM Vasser-Sullivan driver, Philipp Frommenwiler.

Justin Marks set the best Acura NSX time to clock fifth ahead of Jeroen Bleekemolen’s Riley Mercedes AMG GT, and Toni Vilander’s Scuderia Corsa Ferrari 488. Thus six different manufacturers featured in the top six times.

The first red flag, which arrived just five minutes after the session started, was a result of Don Yount shunting the Precision Performance Motorsports Lamborghini Huracan, which he’s sharing this weekend with Brandon Gdovic and late signing Lawson Aschenbach.

Third practice, a 90min session, begins at 7.45pm Eastern (local) time.

Practice times:

Pos. No. Driver Class Chassis Time Gap
1 55 United Kingdom Harry Tincknell 
France Olivier Pla 
United States Jonathan Bomarito 
DPi Mazda DPi 1'46.834  
2 31 Brazil Pipo Derani 
United States Eric Curran 
Brazil Felipe Nasr 
DPi Cadillac DPi 1'47.649 0.815
3 10 United States Jordan Taylor 
Netherlands Renger van der Zande 
France Matthieu Vaxiviere 
DPi Cadillac DPi 1'47.651 0.817
4 7 United States Alexander Rossi 
Brazil Helio Castroneves 
United States Ricky Taylor 
DPi Acura DPi 1'47.989 1.155
5 77 United Kingdom Oliver Jarvis 
Germany Timo Bernhard 
United States Tristan Nunez 
DPi Mazda DPi 1'48.285 1.451
6 5 New Zealand Brendon Hartley 
Portugal Filipe Albuquerque 
Portugal Joao Barbosa 
DPi Cadillac DPi 1'48.652 1.818
7 6 Colombia Juan Pablo Montoya 
France Simon Pagenaud 
United States Dane Cameron 
DPi Acura DPi 1'48.688 1.854
8 54 France Romain Dumas 
United States Jon Bennett 
United States Colin Braun 
DPi Nissan DPi 1'48.963 2.129
9 85 Colombia Juan Piedrahita 
Canada Mikhail Goikhberg 
France Tristan Vautier 
DPi Cadillac DPi 1'48.985 2.151
10 50 Austria Rene Binder 
Will Owen 
Agustin Canapino 
DPi Cadillac DPi 1'49.466 2.632
11 84 Switzerland Simon Trummer 
United States Chris Miller 
South Africa Stephen Simpson 
DPi Cadillac DPi 1'50.018 3.184
12 52 United States Matt McMurry 
Denmark Anders Fjordbach 
France Gabriel Aubry 
LMP2 ORECA LMP2 1'52.149 5.315
13 38 United States Kyle Masson 
Canada Cameron Cassels 
Andrew Evans 
LMP2 ORECA LMP2 1'55.708 8.874
14 911 United Kingdom Nick Tandy 
France Patrick Pilet 
France Frédéric Makowiecki 
GTLM Porsche 911 RSR 1'56.991 10.157
15 66 France Sébastien Bourdais 
United States Joey Hand 
Germany Dirk Muller 
GTLM Ford GT 1'57.201 10.367
16 67 Australia Ryan Briscoe 
New Zealand Scott Dixon 
United Kingdom Richard Westbrook 
GTLM Ford GT 1'57.406 10.572
17 24 United States John Edwards 
Finland Jesse Krohn 
Austria Philipp Eng 
GTLM BMW M8 GTE 1'57.507 10.673
18 3 Denmark Jan Magnussen 
Spain Antonio Garcia 
Germany Mike Rockenfeller 
GTLM Corvette C7.R 1'57.647 10.813
19 912 New Zealand Earl Bamber 
Belgium Laurens Vanthoor 
France Mathieu Jaminet 
GTLM Porsche 911 RSR 1'57.656 10.822
20 25 United States Connor de Phillippi 
United Kingdom Tom Blomqvist 
United States Colton Herta 
GTLM BMW M8 GTE 1'58.127 11.293
21 4 Switzerland Marcel Fassler 
United Kingdom Oliver Gavin 
United States Tommy Milner 
GTLM Corvette C7.R 1'58.446 11.612
22 96 United States Bill Auberlen 
United States Robby Foley 
United States Dillon Machavern 
GTD BMW M6 GT3 2'00.583 13.749
23 11 Switzerland Rolf Ineichen 
Italy Mirko Bortolotti 
Netherlands Rik Breukers 
GTD Lamborghini Huracan GT3 2'00.913 14.079
24 9 Canada Scott Hargrove 
Lars Kern 
Canada Zacharie Robichon 
GTD Porsche 911 GT3 R 2'01.292 14.458
25 14 United Kingdom Jack Hawksworth 
Switzerland Philipp Frommenwiler 
Richard Heistand 
GTD Lexus RC F GT3 2'01.574 14.740
26 86 United States Justin Marks 
Germany Mario Farnbacher 
United States Trent Hindman 
GTD Acura NSX GT3 2'01.581 14.747
27 33 Netherlands Jeroen Bleekemolen 
United States Ben Keating 
Felipe Fraga 
GTD Mercedes-AMG GT3 2'01.583 14.749
28 63 Finland Toni Vilander 
United States Cooper MacNeil 
Jeff Westphal 
GTD Ferrari 488 GT3 2'01.740 14.906
29 57 United Kingdom Katherine Legge 
Denmark Christina Nielsen 
Brazil Ana Beatriz 
GTD Acura NSX GT3 2'01.785 14.951
30 12 United States Townsend Bell 
United States Frankie Montecalvo 
United States Aaron Telitz 
GTD Lexus RC F GT3 2'01.851 15.017
31 73 United States Patrick Long 
United States Patrick Lindsey 
United States Nicholas Boulle 
GTD Porsche 911 GT3 R 2'01.987 15.153
32 8 United Kingdom Ryan Dalziel 
United States Parker Chase 
Argentina Ezequiel Perez Companc 
GTD Audi R8 LMS GT3 2'02.122 15.288
33 44 United States Andy Lally 
United States Spencer Pumpelly 
United States John Potter 
GTD Lamborghini Huracan GT3 2'02.312 15.478
34 48 United States Corey Lewis 
United States Bryan Sellers 
United States Ryan Hardwick 
GTD Lamborghini Huracan GT3 2'02.326 15.492
35 29 Canada Daniel Morad 
Germany Christopher Mies 
Switzerland Richard Feller 
GTD Audi R8 LMS GT3 2'02.490 15.656
36 71 Germany Fabian Schiller 
Germany Maximilian Buhk 
JC Perez 
GTD Mercedes-AMG GT3 2'02.927 16.093
37 19 United States Andrew Davis 
United States Will Hardeman 
Spain Alex Riberas 
GTD Audi R8 LMS GT3 2'03.339 16.505
38 47 United States Brandon Gdovic 
United States Lawson Aschenbach 
United States Don Yount 
GTD Lamborghini Huracan GT3 2'06.894 20.060
Sebring 12 Hours: Nasr tops first practice in AXR Cadillac

Previous article

Sebring 12 Hours: Nasr tops first practice in AXR Cadillac

Next article

Porsche “in bad situation” if Sebring rain arrives

Porsche “in bad situation” if Sebring rain arrives
Load comments

About this article

Series IMSA
Event Sebring
Drivers Olivier Pla
Author David Malsher-Lopez