Watkins Glen IMSA: Jarvis lands brilliant pole for Mazda

Watkins Glen IMSA: Jarvis lands brilliant pole for Mazda

A sensational battle between the Mazda RT24-Ps and Acura ARX-05s saw Oliver Jarvis take pole for the Sahlen’s 6 Hours of Watkins Glen by 0.223sec ahead of Dane Cameron’s best effort for Acura Team Penske.

Jarvis’ 1min29.639sec which landed Mazda’s third pole of the season, beat the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship track record for the class by two seconds, as four cars ducked under the 90sec barrier.

Ricky Taylor in the second Acura was just 0.066sec slower than teammate Cameron while Harry Tincknell in the second Mazda was a mere 0.055sec further back.

By comparison to that quartet, the Cadillac DPi-V.Rs were left gasping, and it was Renger van der Zande in the Wayne Taylor Racing machine who emerged the best of the GM cars, fifth but over one second adrift of P1. Filipe Albuquerque beat Felipe Nasr in the all-Action Express Racing battle for sixth, by just 0.007sec.

Gabriel Aubry was an impressive eighth fastest overall in the PR1 Mathiasen Motorsports Oreca to outpace the two JDC Miller Motorsports Cadillacs and his only LMP2 rival, Kyle Masson in the Performance Tech Motorsports machine.

GT Le Mans


Photo by: Marc Fleury

Reigning GT Le Mans class champion Antonio Garcia produced an outstanding lap in the #3 Corvette C7.R he shares with Jan Magnussen to beat the Ford GTs of Richard Westbrook and Joey Hand by a clear margin, even before Hand got pinged for a track limit violation that saw him demoted to fifth. Westbrook was 0.317sec off Garcia’s 1min40.799sec benchmark.

Hand’s demise left Tommy Milner in the #4 Corvette in third, albeit half a second slower than his teammate, and only 0.01sec faster than John Edwards’ well-driven BMW M8.

The Porsche 911 RSRs of Nick Tandy and Laurens Vanthoor brought up the rear, 0.75 and 1.4sec slower respectively.

GT Daytona


Photo by: Jake Galstad / LAT Images

The two Meyer Shank Racing-run Acura NSXs locked out the front row of the 16-car GTD class with Trent Hindman setting a 1min44.978sec, three tenths clear of Christina Nielsen in the Heinricher Racing machine.

Dillon Machavern set the fastest opening sector in Turner Motorsports’ venerable BMW M6 but bled away six tenths in the middle sector to wind up half a second off the ultimate pace, and just 0.089sec ahead of Jeff Westphal in the Scuderia Corsa Ferrari 488.

Ricky Feller was the fastest of the Audi R8s by a huge margin, the Montaplast by Land Motorsport entry grabbing fifth ahead of the quickest Porsche 911 GT3R, the Pfaff Motorsports machine of Zacharie Robichon.

Ben Keating in Riley Motorsports’ Mercedes AMG GT was seventh but will have been alarmed to wind up almost a second slower than P1. Richard Heistand was eighth in the AIM Vasser Sullivan-run Lexus RC F, but teammate Frankie Montecalvo missed the session as the #12 car had an engine change.

Cla Driver Class Chassis Time Gap Interval km/h
1 United Kingdom Oliver Jarvis
United States Tristan Nunez
Germany Timo Bernhard
DPi Mazda DPi 1'29.639 136.548
2 Colombia Juan Pablo Montoya
United States Dane Cameron
DPi Acura DPi 1'29.862 0.223 0.223 136.209
3 United States Ricky Taylor
Brazil Helio Castroneves
DPi Acura DPi 1'29.928 0.289 0.066 136.109
4 United States Jonathan Bomarito
United Kingdom Harry Tincknell
France Olivier Pla
DPi Mazda DPi 1'29.983 0.344 0.055 136.026
5 Netherlands Renger van der Zande
United States Jordan Taylor
DPi Cadillac DPi 1'30.758 1.119 0.775 134.864
6 Portugal Joao Barbosa
United Kingdom Mike Conway
Portugal Filipe Albuquerque
DPi Cadillac DPi 1'31.170 1.531 0.412 134.255
7 Brazil Felipe Nasr
United States Eric Curran
Brazil Pipo Derani
DPi Cadillac DPi 1'31.177 1.538 0.007 134.244
8 United States Matt McMurry
France Gabriel Aubry
Eric Lux
LMP2 ORECA LMP2 1'31.735 2.096 0.558 133.428
9 Canada Mikhail Goikhberg
France Tristan Vautier
Colombia Juan Piedrahita
DPi Cadillac DPi 1'32.316 2.677 0.581 132.588
10 Switzerland Simon Trummer
South Africa Stephen Simpson
United States Chris Miller
DPi Cadillac DPi 1'32.409 2.770 0.093 132.455
11 Canada Cameron Cassels
Andrew Evans
United States Kyle Masson
LMP2 ORECA LMP2 1'32.459 2.820 0.050 132.383
12 United States Will Owen
Austria Rene Binder
DPi Cadillac DPi 1'33.134 3.495 0.675 131.424
13 United States Jon Bennett
United States Colin Braun
France Romain Dumas
DPi Nissan DPi 1'33.466 3.827 0.332 130.957
14 Denmark Jan Magnussen
Spain Antonio Garcia
GTLM Corvette C7.R 1'40.799 11.160 7.333 121.430
15 Australia Ryan Briscoe
United Kingdom Richard Westbrook
GTLM Ford GT 1'41.116 11.477 0.317 121.049
16 United Kingdom Oliver Gavin
United States Tommy Milner
GTLM Corvette C7.R 1'41.291 11.652 0.175 120.840
17 Finland Jesse Krohn
United States John Edwards
GTLM BMW M8 GTE 1'41.301 11.662 0.010 120.828
18 United States Joey Hand
Germany Dirk Muller
GTLM Ford GT 1'41.304 11.665 0.003 120.824
19 United Kingdom Tom Blomqvist
United States Connor de Phillippi
GTLM BMW M8 GTE 1'41.414 11.775 0.110 120.693
20 France Patrick Pilet
United Kingdom Nick Tandy
GTLM Porsche 911 RSR 1'41.545 11.906 0.131 120.538
21 New Zealand Earl Bamber
Belgium Laurens Vanthoor
GTLM Porsche 911 RSR 1'42.206 12.567 0.661 119.758
22 Germany Mario Farnbacher
United States Trent Hindman
United States Justin Marks
GTD Acura NSX GT3 1'44.978 15.339 2.772 116.596
23 United Kingdom Katherine Legge
Denmark Christina Nielsen
Brazil Ana Beatriz
GTD Acura NSX GT3 1'45.295 15.656 0.317 116.245
24 United States Bill Auberlen
United States Robby Foley
United States Dillon Machavern
GTD BMW M6 GT3 1'45.506 15.867 0.211 116.012
25 United States Cooper MacNeil
Finland Toni Vilander
Jeff Westphal
GTD Ferrari 488 GT3 1'45.595 15.956 0.089 115.915
26 Germany Christopher Mies
Switzerland Richard Feller
Canada Daniel Morad
GTD Audi R8 LMS GT3 1'45.597 15.958 0.002 115.912
27 Canada Scott Hargrove
Canada Zacharie Robichon
Lars Kern
GTD Porsche 911 GT3 R 1'45.842 16.203 0.245 115.644
28 United States Ben Keating
Netherlands Jeroen Bleekemolen
Brazil Felipe Fraga
GTD Mercedes-AMG GT3 1'45.961 16.322 0.119 115.514
29 United States Richard Heistand
United Kingdom Jack Hawksworth
Switzerland Philipp Frommenwiler
GTD Lexus RC F GT3 1'46.066 16.427 0.105 115.400
30 United States Marc Miller
Germany Marco Seefried
Germany Dirk Werner
GTD Porsche 911 GT3 R 1'46.100 16.461 0.034 115.363
31 United States Brandon Gdovic
United States Don Yount
Jacob Eidson
GTD Lamborghini Huracan GT3 1'46.388 16.749 0.288 115.051
32 United States Bryan Sellers
United States Ryan Hardwick
United States Corey Lewis
GTD Lamborghini Huracan GT3 1'46.620 16.981 0.232 114.800
33 United States John Potter
United States Andy Lally
United States Spencer Pumpelly
GTD Lamborghini Huracan GT3 1'47.041 17.402 0.421 114.349
34 United States Parker Chase
United Kingdom Ryan Dalziel
United States Mike Skeen
GTD Audi R8 LMS GT3 1'48.041 18.402 1.000 113.290
35 United States Patrick Lindsey
United States Patrick Long
United States Nicholas Boulle
GTD Porsche 911 GT3 R 1'48.923 19.284 0.882 112.373
36 United States Frankie Montecalvo
United States Townsend Bell
United States Aaron Telitz
GTD Lexus RC F GT3 0.000
37 United States Andrew Davis
Spain Alex Riberas
United States Will Hardeman
GTD Audi R8 LMS GT3 0.000
Watkins Glen IMSA: Mazda leads wet-but-drying practice

Previous article

Watkins Glen IMSA: Mazda leads wet-but-drying practice

Next article

Watkins Glen IMSA: Mazda breaks its curse, scores 1-2

Watkins Glen IMSA: Mazda breaks its curse, scores 1-2
Load comments

About this article

Series IMSA
Event Watkins Glen
Author David Malsher-Lopez