Rosenqvist completes Friday practice clean sweep on Lights debut

Felix Rosenqvist was again quickest in the second practice session of the Indy Lights opener at the St. Petersburg street circuit.

Rosenqvist completes Friday practice clean sweep on Lights debut
Felix Rosenqvist, Belardi Auto Racing
Felix Serralles, Carlin
Scott Hargrove, Team Pelfrey
Neil Alberico, Carlin
André Negrao, Schmidt Peterson Motorsports
Shelby Blackstock, Andretti Autosport
Dean Stoneman, Andretti Autosport
Ed Jones, Carlin

And, just like in the first session, it was Pelfrey's Scott Hargrove who ran Rosenqvist closest, the Canadian coming up less than a tenth short.

Rosenqvist and Hargrove headed the session at halfway point, with laps in the high-1m17s, before the Swede took half a second off off his time with a 1m17.240s.

That benchmark stood for a while until, with two minutes to go, Hargrove recorded the best lap of the weekend so far - a 1m17.113s.

However, Rosenqvist was back ahead with a final lap after the checkered flag, posting a 1m17.047s.

Carlin newcomer Felix Serralles was best of the rest in third, almost half a second down, with Dean Stoneman completing an impressive Friday showing with fourth place.

Juncos rookie Zachary Claman DeMelo was fifth, right ahead of his sophomore teammate Kyle Kaiser, with Ed Jones - who won both St. Petersburg races last year - in seventh.

The session was halted by two red-flag periods, both caused by the Carlin car of rookie Neil Alberico.

The American stopped on-track with an engine issue seven minutes in, but managed to re-fire his IL-15 and get it to the pits.

However, soon after he rejoined the track, the #22 was stranded again, ending Alberico's Friday running.

Pos. Driver Team Time Gap
1 Felix Rosenqvist Belardi Auto Racing 1:07.047  
2 Scott Hargrove Team Pelfrey 1:07.113 0.066
3 Felix Serralles Carlin 1:07.500 0.453
4 Dean Stoneman Andretti Autosport 1:07.718 0.671
5 Kyle Kaiser Juncos Racing 1:07.792 0.745
6 Zach Claman DeMelo Juncos Racing 1:07.819 0.772
7 Ed Jones Carlin 1:07.916 0.870
8 Andre Negrao Schmidt Peterson Motorsports 1:07.997 0.950
9 Zach Veach Belardi Auto Racing 1:08.007 0.960
10 Shelby Blackstock Andretti Autosport 1:08.146 1.099
11 Dalton Kellett Andretti Autosport 1:08.188 1.141
12 Santiago Urrutia Schmidt Peterson Motorsports 1:08.197 1.150
13 RC Enerson Schmidt Peterson Motorsports 1:08.360 1.313
14 Juan Piedrahita Team Pelfrey 1:08.567 1.520
15 Scott Anderson Schmidt Peterson Motorsports 1:08.624 1.577
16 Neil Alberico Carlin 1:14.170 7.123


Urrutia confident ahead of Indy Lights debut
Previous article

Urrutia confident ahead of Indy Lights debut

Next article

Kaiser takes maiden Lights pole at St. Pete

Kaiser takes maiden Lights pole at St. Pete
Load comments