De Conto claims dominant maiden KZ world title

Italian Paolo De Conto was victorious at Kristianstad to take his first KZ World Championship title after narrowly missing out on it last year.

De Conto claims dominant maiden KZ world title

The CRG driver started the final from pole position after topping qualifying, winning both heats and the pre-final.

However, he suffered a slow start to the main race as Marco Ardigo took over and also both Lorenzo Camplese and Anthony Abbasse passed him.

While Camplese soon fell back to fourth and then to even further back, Abbasse and De Conto both overtook Ardigo on Lap 10.

Abbasse failed to pull away could only keep first for five laps before surrendering to De Conto.

The Italian on the other hand soon stretched his advantage to over a second, eventually crossing the line with a gap of 1.9s.

Sodikart's Abbasse finished second, with teammate Bas Lammers taking fourth behind Ardigo.

De Conto's fellow CRG drivers Simo Puhakka and Arnaud Kozlinski completed the top six.

ELMS regular Ben Hanley finished 10th, while former F1 star Rubens Barrichello ended up 24th.

KZ class top 10:


 Paolo De Conto


 Anthony Abbasse

Sodikart +1.995s
 Marco Ardigo Tony Kart Racing Team +2.940s
 Bas Lammers Sodikart +3.481s
 Simo Puhakka CRG +4.255s
 Arnaud Kozlinski CRG +6.084s

 Jeremy Iglesias

Privateer +7.153s
 Stan Pex CRG Holland +7.932s
 Guust Specken PDB Racing Team +8.536s
10   Ben Hanley Cros Promotion +8.808s

Hiltbrand wins KZ2 Super Cup

Twenty-year-old Pedro Hiltbrand won the CIK-FIA KZ2 Super Cup's 2016 edition.

Second on the grid, he lost a position at the start to Tommaso Mosca, with polesitter Felice Tiene keeping first.

Mosca put increasing pressure on Tiene and eventually made an aggressive move, which relegated the latter to sixth.

Tiene was never able to fully recover and only finished fourth.

At the front, Mosca could only lead for three laps as his kart developed technical problems and stopped.

Hiltbrand inherited the lead as a result and the CRG driver quickly pulled away from Fabian Federer to win by 3.8s.

Benjamin Tornqvist Persson completed the podium ahead of Tiene and Matteo Vigano.

KZ2 class top 10:

1  Pedro Hiltbrand CRG  
 Fabian Federer SRP Racing Team  +3.836s
 Benjamin Tornqvist Persson CRG Holland +6.672s
 Felice Tiene CRG +7.050s

 Matteo Vigano 

Comer  +9.229s

 John Norris 

KSM Schumacher Racing +9.574s
 Tom Leuillet Privateer +9.964s

 Paolo Besancenez 

Cedric Goudant +10.440s
 Daniel Stell SRP Racing Team   +10.892s
10   Marijn Kremers Birel ART


Bradshaw claims Academy title, Haverkort wins final

British driver Callum Bradshaw won the 2016 CIK-FIA Academy Trophy, previously won by Red Bull junior Richard Verschoor and female karting star Marta Garcia.

Bradshaw, who won the season opener in France and was second in Portugal, entered the final round with a lead of 29 points in the standings.

With main challenger Xavier Handsaeme retiring in the main race of the season finale, Bradshaw's fourth place meant he took the title.

The race itself was won by 12-year-old Kas Haverkort, who passed Elie Goldstein and local driver Alfred Nilsson during the race.

Bradshaw was followed by fellow Briton Oliver Clarke and German Luke Fungeling.

Academy class top 10:

1  Kas Haverkort  
2  Elie Goldstein +0.160s
3  Alfred Nilsson +2.345s 

 Callum Bradshaw

5  Oliver Clarke +5.825s
6  Luke Fungeling +6.639s
7  Senna van Walstijn +6.843s
8  Maciej Szyszko +7.709s

 Kaito Tsukada

10  Carlos Saval Martin +11.289s
Criteria announced for Mazda Road To Indy advancement program

Previous article

Criteria announced for Mazda Road To Indy advancement program

Next article

Chatterjee unhurt in major crash, Mohsin takes Micro Max title

Chatterjee unhurt in major crash, Mohsin takes Micro Max title
Load comments