Barcelona Moto2: Marquez takes dominant second win of year

Alex Marquez secured his second win of the Moto2 season in dominant fashion at Barcelona, cutting the points advantage of teammate Franco Morbidelli in the process.

Barcelona Moto2: Marquez takes dominant second win of year
Listen to this article

From pole position, Marc VDS rider Marquez made a clean getaway to lead into Turn 1, with Morbidelli vaulting from sixth on the grid to second ahead of Mugello winner Mattia Pasini.

By the end of the opening lap, Marquez had opened up one second from his pursuers, helped by Morbidelli and Pasini scrapping hard over second, and was two seconds clear the following lap.

The Spaniard extended his advantage to as much as four seconds at one stage, and finally crossed the line 3.5s clear of the opposition to take his sixth career grand prix win.

Italtrans rider Pasini took back-to-back podium finishes in second, pulling away from a fading Morbidelli early on as the Italian fell into the clutches of Thomas Luthi (Interwetten) and Miguel Oliveira (KTM).

Several laps later, Luthi forced his way up the inside at Turn 5 for third, and as Morbidelli ran wide and suffering a wobble, Oliveira took advantage to move up to fourth.

Morbidelli ended up dropping behind Forward Racing's Lorenzo Baldassarri in the battle for fifth with 10 laps to go.

Behind Morbidelli, Jorge Navarro (Gresini) scored his best Moto2 result to date in seventh, while another Moto3 graduate, Fabio Quartararo (Pons), fought his way up to eighth in the latter stages.

Completing the top 10 were Xavi Vierge (Tech 3), returning from injury after sitting out the previous round at Mugello, and Hafizh Syahrin (Petronas Raceline), who both pushed Honda protege Takaaki Nakagami down to 11th.

Race results:

1 73 spain Alex Marquez  Kalex 42'40.502 
2 54 italy Mattia Pasini  Kalex 3.525
3 12 switzerland Thomas Luthi  Kalex 4.452
4 44 portugal Miguel Oliveira  KTM 5.322
5 7 italy Lorenzo Baldassarri  Kalex 9.930
6 21 italy Franco Morbidelli  Kalex 14.172
7 9 spain Jorge Navarro  Kalex 16.192
8 40 france Fabio Quartararo  Kalex 18.217
9 97 spain Xavi Vierge  Tech 3 19.096
10 55 malaysia Hafizh Syahrin  Kalex 19.179
11 30 japan Takaaki Nakagami  Kalex 19.361
12 24 italy Simone Corsi  Speed Up 19.957
13 32 spain Isaac Viñales  Kalex 20.984
14 42 italy Francesco Bagnaia  Kalex 22.220
15 5 italy Andrea Locatelli  Kalex 23.501
16 68 colombia Yonny Hernandez  Kalex 23.565
17 77 switzerland Dominique Aegerter  Suter 24.423
18 41 south_africa Brad Binder  KTM 24.776
19 49 spain Axel Pons  Kalex 25.257
20 87 australia Remy Gardner  Tech 3 29.261
21 19 belgium Xavier Simeon  Kalex 30.062
22 37 spain Augusto Fernandez  Speed Up 38.420
23 57 spain Edgar Pons  Kalex 47.235
24 2 switzerland Jesko Raffin  Kalex 47.390
25 27 spain Iker Lecuona  Kalex 54.588
26 89 malaysia Khairul Idham Pawi  Kalex 55.085
27 45 japan  Tetsuta Nagashima  Kalex 57.049
28 22 italy Federico Fuligni  Kalex 1'07.344
Ret 23 germany Marcel Schrötter  Suter 2 laps
Ret  62 italy Stefano Manzi  Kalex 8 laps
Ret  11 germany Sandro Cortese  Suter 12 laps
Ret  6 united_kingdom Tarran Mackenzie  Suter 20 laps

Mir joins Marc VDS for 2018 Moto2 season

Rossi's Moto2 team keeps Bagnaia for 2018