Barcelona Moto3: Mir wins after two final-lap moves

Moto3 points leader Joan Mir took a fourth victory of the season on home soil in Barcelona, after passing rivals Romano Fenati and Jorge Martin on the final lap.

Barcelona Moto3: Mir wins after two final-lap moves
Joan Mir, Leopard Racing
Joan Mir, Leopard Racing
Joan Mir, Leopard Racing
Romano Fenati, Marinelli Rivacold Snipers
Romano Fenati, Marinelli Rivacold Snipers
Jorge Martin, Del Conca Gresini Racing Moto3
Jorge Martin, Del Conca Gresini Racing Moto3

Mir, who will step up to Moto2 with Marc VDS next year, started the final lap in third place, but two overtakes in the dying stages allowed him to cross the line in first ahead of Fenati.

Gresini's Martin, who dominated qualifying by six tenths, had a poor launch off the line, allowing Juanfran Guevara (RBA) to take the lead at the start.

Guevara was passed by Fenati (Marinelli Rivacold) a couple of corners later and the Spaniard was soon outside of the top 10.

With the order constantly changing along the main straight, Leopard rider Mir, Estrella Galicia's Aron Canet and the recovering Martin all spent a lap in first place in the next three laps.

The quartet, along with Gresini's Fabio di Giannantonio, formed a five-bike lead group, but were soon joined by Canet's teammate Enea Bastianini, Marcos Ramirez (Platinum Bay) and Tatsuki Suzuki (SIC58) as well.

With five laps to go, it was Fenati's turn to take the lead, but Mir and Martin both managed to slipstream past one lap later, the latter then taking the lead on the penultimate lap.

With Bastianini passing Mir for third at the back straight for third, Martin and Fenati pulled a short distance clear as the field tackled the main straight for the last time.

The duo continued to hold first and second until Mir forced his way past Fenati at Turn 10, and made an aggressive move on Martin three corners later at the right-hander before the final chicane.

Fenati also snuck past Martin at the chicane to secure second.

Bastianini and Canet took fourth and fifth ahead of Ramirez and Sky VR46 rider Andrea Migno, who gained several positions on the final lap.

Di Giannantonio had to settle for eighth, followed by Nicolo Bulega (Sky VR46) and Suzuki.

Race results

1 36 spain Joan Mir  Honda 42'11.846
2 5 italy Romano Fenati  Honda 0.191
3 88 spain Jorge Martin  Honda 0.279
4 33 italy Enea Bastianini  Honda 0.462
5 44 spain Aron Canet  Honda 0.674
6 42 spain Marcos Ramírez  KTM 0.740
7 21 italy Fabio Di Giannantonio  Honda 1.143
8 16 italy Andrea Migno  KTM 1.389
9 8 italy Nicolo Bulega  KTM 1.662
10 24 japan Tatsuki Suzuki  Honda 1.863
11 23 italy Niccolo Antonelli  KTM 2.088
12 17 united_kingdom John McPhee  Honda 5.671
13 65 germany Philipp Ottl  KTM 8.631
14 12 italy Marco Bezzecchi  Mahindra 16.603
15 64 netherlands Bo Bendsneyder  KTM 17.089
16 71 japan Ayumu Sasaki  Honda 17.128
17 58 spain Juan Francisco Guevara  KTM 21.614
18 7 malaysia Adam Norrodin  Honda 22.362
19 48 italy Lorenzo Dalla Porta  Mahindra 22.718
20 96 italy Manuel Pagliani  Mahindra 22.754
21 41 thailand Nakarin Atiratphuvapat  Honda 22.888
22 84 czech_republic Jakub Kornfeil  Peugeot 23.376
23 27 japan Kaito Toba  Honda 24.243
24 14 italy Tony Arbolino  Honda 33.334
25 11 belgium Livio Loi  Honda 33.396
26 6 spain Maria Herrera  KTM 41.707
27 4 finland Patrik Pulkkinen  Peugeot 1'10.768
28 81 spain Alex Viu  KTM 1'33.544
  40 south_africa Darryn Binder  KTM 1 lap
  95 france Jules Danilo  Honda 1 lap
  19 spain Gabriel Rodrigo  KTM 16 laps
  63 spain Vicente Perez  KTM 18 laps
Mahindra's Arenas to miss Barcelona with injury
Previous article

Mahindra's Arenas to miss Barcelona with injury

Next article

Mahindra hails "emerging talent" Bezzecchi after Barcelona

Mahindra hails "emerging talent" Bezzecchi after Barcelona
Load comments