Brno Moto3: Mir beats Fenati for sixth win of 2017

Leopard Racing's Joan Mir extended his Moto3 championship lead by beating Romano Fenati to triumph in a wet-dry Moto3 race at Brno, his sixth win of the season.

Brno Moto3: Mir beats Fenati for sixth win of 2017

While the race started with a duel between Bo Bendsneyder (Ajo KTM) and Juanfran Guevara (RBA KTM), Mir and Marinelli Rivacold Snipers rider Fenati made it a four-way fight for the final 10 laps.

After staying back in fourth for several laps, Mir finally slipstreamed past both Fenati and Bendsneyder at Turn 3, also passed Guevara on the same lap, and started to build a small lead.

However, Fenati soon closed the gap back down, as the duo escaped from Guevara and Bendsneyder.

While Fenati entered the final lap right behind Mir, the Italian did not find an opportunity to overtake and he had to settle for second for the fourth race in a row.

Aron Canet (Estrella Galicia) completed an impressive recovery ride from 17th on the grid and 22nd after the first lap, and claimed third after passing Bendsneyder and Guevara on the final tour.

The aforementioned duo took fourth and fifth with John McPhee (British Talent Team) finishing sixth from 19th on the grid, ahead of Marcos Ramirez (Platinum Bay).

Asian riders Tatsuki Suzuki (SIC58 Squadra Corse), Adam Norrodin (SIC Racing Team) and Nakarin Atiratphuvapat (Honda Team Asia) completed the top 10.

German wildcard Tim Georgi made it as high as eighth at one stage, 20 places higher than his grid slot, but couldn't keep his pace up in the dry and slipped to an eventual 18th.

A final lap crash for poleman Gabriel Robrigo (RBA) consigned the Argentine to 26th.

Race results:

1 36 spain Joan Mir  Honda 44'41.314
2 5 italy Romano Fenati  Honda 0.350
3 44 spain Aron Canet  Honda 3.078
4 64 netherlands Bo Bendsneyder  KTM 4.598
5 58 spain Juan Francisco Guevara  KTM 4.882
6 17 united_kingdom John McPhee  Honda 8.343
7 42 spain Marcos Ramírez  KTM 9.597
8 24 japan Tatsuki Suzuki  Honda 10.234
9 7 malaysia Adam Norrodin  Honda 10.395
10 41 thailand Nakarin Atiratphuvapat  Honda 10.913
11 16 italy Andrea Migno  KTM 11.148
12 75 spain Albert Arenas  Mahindra 12.085
13 65 germany Philipp Ottl  KTM 14.266
14 10 italy  Dennis Foggia  KTM 14.271
15 71 japan Ayumu Sasaki  Honda 14.311
16 14 italy Tony Arbolino  Honda 14.404
17 33 italy Enea Bastianini  Honda 14.449
18 77 germany Tim Georgi  KTM 15.144
19 48 italy Lorenzo Dalla Porta  Mahindra 20.312
20 84 czech_republic Jakub Kornfeil  Peugeot 23.680
21 21 italy Fabio Di Giannantonio  Honda 23.935
22 12 italy Marco Bezzecchi  Mahindra 24.772
23 8 italy Nicolo Bulega  KTM 24.831
24 23 italy Niccolo Antonelli  KTM 25.143
25 96 italy Manuel Pagliani  Mahindra 38.836
26 19 spain Gabriel Rodrigo  KTM 42.433
27 11 belgium Livio Loi  Honda 42.497
28 18 mexico Gabriel Martínez-Abrego  KTM 47.923
29 27 japan Kaito Toba  Honda 48.013
30 4 finland Patrik Pulkkinen  Peugeot 48.407
Ret 95 france Jules Danilo  Honda -
Ret 6 spain Maria Herrera  KTM
Brno Moto3: Set-up issues compromise Mahindra in qualifying
Previous article

Brno Moto3: Set-up issues compromise Mahindra in qualifying

Next article

Brno Moto3: Last to points for Mahindra's Arenas

Brno Moto3: Last to points for Mahindra's Arenas
Load comments