Sachsenring Moto3: Dalla Porta passes Canet for victory

Leopard Honda rider Lorenzo Dalla Porta took his first win of the 2019 Moto3 season following a last-lap move on title rival Aron Canet at the Sachsenring.

Sachsenring Moto3: Dalla Porta passes Canet for victory

Dalla Porta and his teammate Marcos Ramirez were both in victory contention throughout the race, but Canet took the lead at Turn 1 of the last lap.

Canet was outside the top 10 for most of the race, running only 12th on lap 20 of 27, but carved his way through the field during the latter stages.

The Max Racing KTM rider first led on the last lap but Dalla Porta stayed close to him, and pulled off an overtake at the penultimate corner.

Ramirez also made his way past Canet at the same place to complete a Leopard 1-2 with Canet rounding out the podium places.

Dalla Porta, who had finished second four times in 2019 prior to this weekend, also took the championship lead from Canet, but only by two points.

Snipers Honda rider Romano Fenati was in the top group for the whole race and took his best finish of the season in fourth. Raul Fernandez (Angel Nieto KTM) was the top rookie in fifth with John McPhee (Petronas Honda) taking sixth.

Japanese trio Ai Ogura (Honda Team Asia), Tatsuki Suzuki (SIC58 Honda) and polesitter Ayumu Sasaki (Petronas) finished seventh, eighth and ninth respectively with Jakub Kornfeil (PrustelGP KTM), a race leader early on, completing the top 10.

Alonso Lopez crashed three corners into the race with Gabriel Rodrigo unable to avoid him, while Tom Booth-Amos crashed a lap later at the same turn.

Kaito Toba and Albert Arenas crashed at the same time at Turn 1 in two separate incidents while both Sky VR46 riders Celestino Vietti and Dennis Foggia, as well as Darryn Binder, crashed on the last lap.

Cla Rider Bike Laps Time Gap
1 Italy Lorenzo Dalla Porta
Honda 27 39'29.348
2 Spain Marcos Ramirez
Honda 27 39'29.420 0.072
3 Spain Arón Canet
KTM 27 39'29.468 0.120
4 Italy Romano Fenati
Honda 27 39'29.533 0.185
5 Spain Raúl Fernández
KTM 27 39'29.671 0.323
6 United Kingdom John McPhee
Honda 27 39'29.793 0.445
7 Japan Ai Ogura
Honda 27 39'30.026 0.678
8 Japan Tatsuki Suzuki
Honda 27 39'30.097 0.749
9 Japan Ayumu Sasaki
Honda 27 39'30.177 0.829
10 Czech Republic Jakub Kornfeil
KTM 27 39'30.303 0.955
11 Spain Sergio García
Honda 27 39'30.412 1.064
12 Italy Niccolo Antonelli
Honda 27 39'31.587 2.239
13 Czech Republic Filip Salač
KTM 27 39'35.727 6.379
14 Turkey Can Öncü
KTM 27 39'35.996 6.648
15 Italy Tony Arbolino
Honda 27 39'36.000 6.652
16 Spain Jaume Masia
KTM 27 39'36.033 6.685
17 Japan Kazuki Masaki
KTM 27 39'47.591 18.243
18 Italy Stefano Nepa
KTM 27 40'03.207 33.859
19 Italy Andrea Migno
KTM 27 40'03.230 33.882
20 Kazakhstan Makar Yurchenko
KTM 27 40'05.436 36.088
21 Spain Albert Arenas
KTM 27 40'05.471 36.123
22 Italy Riccardo Rossi
Honda 27 40'06.207 36.859
23 Dirk Geiger
KTM 27 40'46.435 1'17.087
24 United Kingdom Tom Booth-Amos
KTM 26 39'47.226 1 Lap
Italy Dennis Foggia
KTM 26 38'02.963 1 Lap
Italy Celestino Vietti Ramus
KTM 26 38'03.086 1 Lap
South Africa Darryn Binder
KTM 26 38'03.146 1 Lap
Japan Kaito Toba
Honda 18 27'11.314 9 Laps
Argentina Gabriel Rodrigo
Honda 5 10'03.889 22 Laps
Spain Alonso López
Assen Moto3: Arbolino scores win with last-lap move

Previous article

Assen Moto3: Arbolino scores win with last-lap move

Next article

Brno Moto3: Canet takes points lead with win

Brno Moto3: Canet takes points lead with win
Load comments