02 Aug
Event finished
08 Aug
Event finished
22 Aug
Event finished
12 Sep
Event finished
Las Vegas II
27 Sep
Race in
1 day
Talladega II
04 Oct
Race in
7 days
Charlotte III
11 Oct
Race in
14 days
Kansas II
18 Oct
Race in
21 days
Texas II
25 Oct
Next event in
28 days
Martinsville II
30 Oct
Next event in
33 days
Phoenix II
06 Nov
Next event in
40 days

Harvick fends off Hamlin in wild finish to win at New Hampshire

Harvick fends off Hamlin in wild finish to win at New Hampshire

The wait is over for Kevin Harvick and Stewart-Haas Racing.

Harvick and his No. 4 Stewart-Haas Racing team rolled the dice, electing not to pit when most of the lead-lap cars did late in the race to move back to the lead. 

Hamlin caught Harvick in Turns 1 and 2 on the last lap and banged fenders but Harvick was able to pull away from Hamlin off Turn 4 and claim the win in Sunday’s Foxwoods Casino 301 at New Hampshire Motor Speedway.


"I didn't think we had the best chance to win today but Rodney (Childers, crew chief) made a great (pit) call," Harvick said. "We had a good car today, we just never could get track position. We stayed out there and ran a lot of good laps.

"I really didn't want to see that traffic there at the end, it may my car tight when (Hamlin) got to me. He tried to move me out of the way down there and I knew that was coming as close as he was. So, I just stood on the brakes - half-throttle down the back straightaway.

"I was like, 'You're not getting under me again' and he drove to the outside of me and I waited until he got to the outside of me and put a wheel on him."

Harvick gave a shout-out to the fans in attendance on a very hot and humid day with temperatures in the 90s and a heat index over 100. 

"You guys stuck it  out in the heat today and we really appreciate it," he said.

The win is the first of the 2019 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series season for Harvick, who led the series with eight wins last year. It’s also the first of the year for SHR.

Harvick’s victory snapped a 21-race winless streak. It was the 46th of his career and fourth at New Hampshire. 

Erik Jones finished third, Ryan Blaney was fourth and Matt DiBenedetto completed the top-five.

Read Also:

Stage 3

Following the break between Stages 2 and 3, several lead-lap cars elected to pit with Blaney the first off pit road thanks to a two-tire stop.

On the restart on Lap 158, Hamlin led the way, followed by Harvick, Kurt Busch, Keselowski and Alex Bowman – all of whom did not pit.

With 125 laps remaining in the race, Hamlin maintained a 1.7-second lead over Harvick. Kurt Busch ran third, Keselowski fourth and Chris Buescher was fifth.

After 201 laps, Hamlin continued to hold a stead advantage over Harvick, although Harvick was able to close the gap several times. Kurt Busch remained third, Keselowski fourth and Jones had moved into the fifth position.

On Lap 204, Newman reported he may have dropped a cylinder in his engine but elected to remain on the track.

Kyle Busch moved up the track and hit the Turn 1 on Lap 213 to bring out a caution. “We’re fine here. The toe is knocked a little bit to the left,” Busch said over his team radio. “Steering is knocked a little bit to the left.”


All of the lead-lap cars elected to pit with Hamlin the first off pit road. On the restart on Lap 219, Hamlin led the way followed by Keselowski, Kurt Busch, Jones and Harvick.

Shortly after the restart, Kyle Larson spun entering Turn 1 and hit the wall which brought the caution back out again. 

On the restart on Lap 225, Hamlin led the way followed by Jones, Keselowski, Blaney and Kurt Busch. Blaney powered into the second position shortly after the restart.

With 70 laps to go, Hamlin held about a 1.5-second lead over Blaney, followed by Keselowski, Harvick and Jones.

With 50 laps remaining in the race, Hamlin continued to remain out front and built a 2.5-second advantage over Blaney. Keselowski was third followed by Harvick and Jones.

On Lap 265, Larson hit the wall in Turns 1 and 2 – the second time he had wrecked in the race. With the caution out, most of the lead-lap cars elected to pit with Hamlin once again the first car off of pit road.

On the restart on Lap 273, Harvick – who did not pit – led the way followed by Jones and Truex (who also did not pit), Hamlin and Keselowski.

With 28 laps to go, Hamlin moved into the second position and set his sights on Harvick for the lead.

Read Also:

Cla # Driver Manufacturer Laps Time Laps Led
1 4 United States Kevin Harvick  Ford 301   41
2 11 United States Denny Hamlin  Toyota 301 0.210 113
3 20 United States Erik Jones  Toyota 301 3.987 4
4 12 United States Ryan Blaney  Ford 301 5.447  
5 95 United States Matt DiBenedetto  Toyota 301 5.939  
6 19 United States Martin Truex Jr.  Toyota 301 6.406  
7 6 United States Ryan Newman  Ford 301 8.504  
8 18 United States Kyle Busch  Toyota 301 8.997 118
9 22 United States Joey Logano  Ford 301 10.944 1
10 2 United States Brad Keselowski  Ford 301 11.566 12
11 10 United States Aric Almirola  Ford 301 12.898 12
12 24 United States William Byron  Chevrolet 301 13.280  
13 21 United States Paul Menard  Ford 301 14.095  
14 88 United States Alex Bowman  Chevrolet 301 14.992  
15 37 United States Chris Buescher  Chevrolet 301 16.475  
16 13 United States Ty Dillon  Chevrolet 301 17.023  
17 34 United States Michael McDowell  Ford 301 19.588  
18 1 United States Kurt Busch  Chevrolet 301 21.920  
19 41 Mexico Daniel Suarez  Ford 300 1 lap  
20 14 United States Clint Bowyer  Ford 300 1 lap  
21 47 United States Ryan Preece  Chevrolet 300 1 lap  
22 43 United States Darrell Wallace Jr.  Chevrolet 300 1 lap  
23 32 United States Corey Lajoie  Ford 299 2 laps  
24 36 United States Matt Tifft  Ford 299 2 laps  
25 15 United States Ross Chastain  Chevrolet 299 2 laps  
26 00 United States Landon Cassill  Chevrolet 298 3 laps  
27 27 United States Reed Sorenson  Chevrolet 294 7 laps  
28 51 United States Andy Seuss  Ford 291 10 laps  
29 9 United States Chase Elliott  Chevrolet 290 11 laps  
30 48 United States Jimmie Johnson  Chevrolet 288 13 laps  
31 77 United States Quin Houff  Chevrolet 287 14 laps  
32 3 United States Austin Dillon  Chevrolet 268 33 laps  
33 42 United States Kyle Larson  Chevrolet 264 37 laps  
34 38 United States David Ragan  Ford 261 40 laps  
35 52 United States Austin Theriault  Chevrolet 185 116 laps  
36 17 United States Ricky Stenhouse Jr.  Ford 135 166 laps  
37 8 United States Daniel Hemric  Chevrolet 110 191 laps  

Almirola holds off Logano for Stage 2 win at New Hampshire

Previous article

Almirola holds off Logano for Stage 2 win at New Hampshire

Next article

Denny Hamlin after NHMS loss: “S***... second sucks”

Denny Hamlin after NHMS loss: “S***... second sucks”
Load comments

About this article

Series NASCAR Cup
Event Loudon
Author Jim Utter