Larson cruises to third NASCAR Xfinity win of season at Dover

Kyle Larson is winning a lot more these days.

Larson cruises to third NASCAR Xfinity win of season at Dover

In fact, Larson’s win in Saturday’s OneMain Financial 200 at Dover (Del.) International Speedway is his third already this season in the NASCAR Xfinity Series.

That’s the most wins Larson has collected in any NASCAR series in a single season in his career so far.

Larson, who dominated much of the race, moved back into the lead the final time with 54 of 200 laps left in the race. He easily held off Ryan Blaney to secure the eighth series win of his career and first at Dover.

“I’ve had some good runs at Dover and I’ve had some bad ones, too, so to get a win is really cool,” Larson said in Victory Lane. “It was a heck of a race. The whole pit crew and everybody in the shop did an amazing job preparing this car. I had a blast.

“Blaney was probably as equal as me, we just got a better start there after that second Stage then he did.”

Daniel Suarez finished third, Cole Custer was fourth and Ryan Reed completed the top-five.

William Byron, who finished sixth, won the final $100,000 “Dash 4 Cash” bonus of the season. He was the highest finisher of the four drivers who became eligible earlier in the race.

“Hopefully, we can keep building on this,” said Byron, who earned his first top-10 finish in his last five races. “We got off (pit) cycle on the last stop. I wish we could have gotten a win but $100,000 is really good.

“Hopefully, we can get even better next week.”

Several lead-lap cars elected to pit during the break between Stages 2 and 3 but several remained on the track and Ryan Reed inherited the lead when the race returned to green on Lap 127.

Click on image below to watch race highlights:


Stage 2

Darrell Wallace Jr. passed Blaney on a restart with five laps remaining and held on for the Stage 2 victory. It’s the first Stage win for Wallace this season.

Sadler finished third, Justin Allgaier fourth and Larson ended up fifth.

Wallace and Sadler – as the two highest finishing eligible drivers in the segment – became the third and fourth drivers to qualify for the $100,000 “Dash for Cash” bonus, which is paid at the end of the race.

Blaney led most of the way until a caution was displayed on Lap 112 for debris on the frontstretch. On the restart, Wallace used a deft move to get around Blaney for the lead.

During the break between the first two segments, Austin Dillon – who spun early in the race – remained on the track and inherited the lead when the race returned to green on Lap 68.

Stage 1

Larson dominated the first 60-lap segment, leading every lap, but held off Blaney in a side-by-side battle to claim the Stage 1 victory.

Erik Jones was third, Byron fourth and Brennan Poole fifth.

Byron and Poole – as the two highest finishing eligible drivers – became the first two drivers to qualify for the $100,000 “Dash for Cash” bonus in the final segment.

Two Joe Gibbs Racing drivers – Suarez and Matt Tifft – had to pit under green early in the race for tire issues and both fell a lap down.

Cla#DriverManufacturerLapsTimeLaps Led
1 42 united_states Kyle Larson  Chevrolet 200 2:04'41 137
2 22 united_states Ryan Blaney  Ford 200 1.173 28
3 18 mexico Daniel Suarez  Toyota 200 4.078 19
4 00 united_states Cole Custer  Ford 200 14.823  
5 16 united_states Ryan Reed  Ford 200 15.141 5
6 9 united_states William Byron  Chevrolet 200 15.383  
7 1 united_states Elliott Sadler  Chevrolet 200 17.087  
8 6 united_states Darrell Wallace Jr.  Ford 200 20.274 7
9 19 united_states Matt Tifft  Toyota 200 22.133  
10 3 united_states Ty Dillon  Chevrolet 200 22.552  
11 7 united_states Justin Allgaier  Chevrolet 200 22.731  
12 48 united_states Brennan Poole  Chevrolet 199 1 lap  
13 21 united_states Daniel Hemric  Chevrolet 199 1 lap  
14 5 united_states Michael Annett  Chevrolet 199 1 lap  
15 14 united_states J.J. Yeley  Toyota 199 1 lap  
16 39 united_states Ryan Sieg  Chevrolet 199 1 lap  
17 90 united_states Brandon Brown  Chevrolet 199 1 lap  
18 96 united_states Ben Kennedy  Chevrolet 199 1 lap  
19 28 united_states Dakoda Armstrong  Toyota 198 2 laps  
20 62 united_states Brendan Gaughan  Chevrolet 198 2 laps  
21 4 united_states Ross Chastain  Chevrolet 198 2 laps  
22 8 united_states B.J. McLeod  Chevrolet 197 3 laps  
23 51 united_states Jeremy Clements  Chevrolet 197 3 laps  
24 07 united_states Ray Black Jr.  Chevrolet 191 9 laps  
25 74 united_states Mike Harmon  Dodge 191 9 laps  
26 78 united_states Jordan Anderson  Chevrolet 188 12 laps  
27 0 united_states Garrett Smithley  Chevrolet 176 24 laps  
28 2 united_states Austin Dillon  Chevrolet 175 25 laps 4
29 33 united_states Brandon Jones  Chevrolet 174 26 laps  
30 24 united_states Dylan Lupton  Toyota 170 30 laps  
31 23 united_states Spencer Gallagher  Chevrolet 166 34 laps  
32 11 united_states Blake Koch  Chevrolet 135 65 laps  
33 99 united_states David Starr  Chevrolet 107 93 laps  
34 40 united_states Chad Finchum  Chevrolet 105 95 laps  
35 20 united_states Erik Jones  Toyota 100 100 laps  
36 52 united_states Joey Gase  Chevrolet 99 101 laps  
37 01 united_states Harrison Rhodes  Chevrolet 91 109 laps  
38 89 united_states Morgan Shepherd  Chevrolet 50 150 laps  
39 13 united_states Timmy Hill  Toyota 39 161 laps  
40 93 united_states Jeff Green  Chevrolet 13 187 laps  


Five things to watch in Saturday's Dover Xfinity race

Previous article

Five things to watch in Saturday's Dover Xfinity race

Next article

Keselowski wins Pocono Xfinity race with last-lap pass on Larson

Keselowski wins Pocono Xfinity race with last-lap pass on Larson
Load comments