Kyle Busch scores 90th career Xfinity win at Watkins Glen

Surprisingly enough, it is still possible for Kyle Busch to reach new milestones in the NASCAR Xfinity Series.

Kyle Busch scores 90th career Xfinity win at Watkins Glen
Kyle Busch, Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota
Kyle Busch, Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota
Race winner Kyle Busch, Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota
Kyle Busch, Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota
Brad Keselowski, Team Penske Ford
Joey Logano, Team Penske Ford
Paul Menard, Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet
Paul Menard, Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet
Brad Keselowski, Team Penske Ford
Kyle Busch, Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota
Joey Logano, Team Penske Ford

Busch held off a fast-approaching Joey Logano in a three-lap dash to win Saturday’s Zippo 200 and earn his first series victory at Watkins Glen (N.Y.) International.

The win is Busch’s fourth of the season and 90th of his career but his previous best finish at the Glen was second on three occasions.

Brad Keselowski finished third, Justin Allgaier was fourth and Paul Menard ended up fifth.

“Just finally being able to win here at Watkins Glen in the Xfinity Series is box we’ve been wanting to check off for a long, long time,” Busch said after the race. “It feels good. It feels good in front of this crowd here at Watkins Glen.

“The fans here really support their race track and their races. It’s fun to see. Tomorrow, I hear (the Cup race) is a sellout. That’s awesome. Congratulations to the staff here at the track.”

Busch’s victory didn’t come easily.

Busch spun out while leading the race on Lap 6 and lost several positions. He also was penalized during a pit stop for driving through too many pit stalls.

“I tried to screw it up a couple times but thankfully I was able to drive back up there and the pit strategy worked to our advantage,” Busch said.

Logano had won the previous two Xfinity races at the Glen from the pole. He won the pole earlier Saturday and was trying to become the first series driver to win three consecutive races at the Glen from the pole.

With six of 82 laps remaining, Casey Mears stalled on the track and NASCAR displayed the caution flag, erasing a sizable lead Busch had built up.

The race restarted with three to go, with Busch leading the way, followed by Keselowski, Logano, Erik Jones and Menard.

Menard, who led a significant part of the race, drove the final two dozen laps of the race with what he believed to be a broken right-front shock.

Stage 2

Menard survived a two-lap shootout to end the second 20-lap segment and held off Logano to claim the Stage 2 victory.

An extended caution for oil dropped on the track by the No. 78 Chevrolet of Stephen Young set up the late Stage restart.

Keselowski finished third, Busch rallied from a pit road penalty (driving through too many stalls) to finish fourth and Elliott Sadler completed the top five.

Menard moved into the lead on Lap 25, passing his Richard Childress Racing teammate Daniel Hemric, who had elected not to pit under the Stage break.

The second Stage began with Kevin Harvick wheel-hopping into Turn 1 and sliding into his Stewart-Haas Racing teammate, Cole Custer, who also went for a spin. Both drivers were able to rejoin the race as no caution was displayed, but well back in the field.

Stage 1

J.J. Yeley’s blown engine forced the first 20-lap segment to end under caution with Keselowski claiming the Stage victory over Logano.

Yeley’s No. 14 came to a rest in Turn 7 and there was not enough time to extricate his car and restart the stage.

“Car is pretty good, just driving the best I can, and hardest I can,” Keselowski said during the break. “You have to be really careful with how hard you push it. We have a long ways to go.”

Busch, who led most of the first Stage until he spun out while leading with six laps left in the segment, finished third. Jones finished fourth and Allgaier completed the top-five.

During the round of pit stops at the conclusion of the Stage, Busch was penalized for driving through too many pit stalls and was forced to start Stage 2 from the rear of the field.

Kyle Larson’s race came to an early end after he was forced to the garage on Lap 12 with smoke coming from under the hood of his No. 42 Chevrolet.

Spencer Gallagher brought out the first caution as he wrecked on the exit of Turn 7 on Lap 4. He took his No. 23 Chevrolet to the garage and eventually returned to the race, 13 laps down.

Busch’s victory elevated Joe Gibbs Racing’s Xfinity Series wins total to 139, surpassing Roush Fenway Racing for the all-time record on the tour.

Cla#DriverManufacturerLapsTimeLaps Led
1 18 united_states Kyle Busch  Toyota 82   43
2 12 united_states Joey Logano  Ford 82 1.049 1
3 22 united_states Brad Keselowski  Ford 82 2.190 6
4 7 united_states Justin Allgaier  Chevrolet 82 3.935  
5 2 united_states Paul Menard  Chevrolet 82 4.586 22
6 41 united_states Kevin Harvick  Ford 82 5.295  
7 3 united_states Ty Dillon  Chevrolet 82 5.610  
8 20 united_states Erik Jones  Toyota 82 7.575  
9 62 united_states Brendan Gaughan  Chevrolet 82 8.230 7
10 9 united_states William Byron  Chevrolet 82 9.101  
11 21 united_states Daniel Hemric  Chevrolet 82 9.126 4
12 00 united_states Cole Custer  Ford 82 9.488  
13 19 united_states Matt Tifft  Toyota 82 10.021  
14 33 united_states Brandon Jones  Chevrolet 82 10.837  
15 16 united_states Ryan Reed  Ford 82 12.069  
16 5 united_states Michael Annett  Chevrolet 82 17.749  
17 48 united_states Brennan Poole  Chevrolet 82 37.250  
18 1 united_states Elliott Sadler  Chevrolet 81 1 lap  
19 4 united_states Ross Chastain  Chevrolet 81 1 lap  
20 24 united_states Dylan Lupton  Toyota 81 1 lap  
21 28 united_states Dakoda Armstrong  Toyota 81 1 lap  
22 11 united_states Blake Koch  Chevrolet 81 1 lap  
23 01 united_states Harrison Rhodes  Chevrolet 81 1 lap  
24 0 united_states Garrett Smithley  Chevrolet 81 1 lap  
25 98 united_states Casey Mears  Ford 80 2 laps  
26 07 united_states Devin Jones  Chevrolet 80 2 laps  
27 39 united_states Ryan Sieg  Chevrolet 80 2 laps  
28 8 united_states Josh Bilicki  Chevrolet 79 3 laps  
29 52 united_states Joey Gase  Chevrolet 79 3 laps  
30 99 united_states David Starr  Chevrolet 79 3 laps  
31 40 mexico Enrique Baca  Dodge 78 4 laps  
32 23 united_states Spencer Gallagher  Chevrolet 67 15 laps  
33 90 united_states Brian Henderson  Chevrolet 59 23 laps  
34 74 united_states Cody Ware  Dodge 52 30 laps  
35 51 united_states Jeremy Clements  Chevrolet 36 46 laps  
36 78 united_states Steven Young  Chevrolet 33 49 laps  
37 13 united_states Timmy Hill  Dodge 27 55 laps  
38 93 united_states Jeff Green  Chevrolet 26 56 laps  
39 14 united_states J.J. Yeley  Toyota 16 66 laps  
40 42 united_states Kyle Larson  Chevrolet 12 70 laps

Preece impresses, lands another Xfinity race with Joe Gibbs Racing
Previous article

Preece impresses, lands another Xfinity race with Joe Gibbs Racing

Next article

James Davison gets Xfinity drive with Joe Gibbs Racing

James Davison gets Xfinity drive with Joe Gibbs Racing
Load comments