Sampey, Capps, Torrence, Anderson throw down in Englishtown

New Jersey saw three regular winners and a shock victor as Angelle Sampey grabbed her first Wally Trophy in nine years, at the NHRA Summernationals at Old Bridge Township Raceway Park.

Sampey, Capps, Torrence, Anderson throw down in Englishtown
Ron Capps, Steve Torrence, Greg Anderson, Angelle Sampey
Ron Capps
Angelle Sampey
Greg Anderson
Funny Car winner Ron Capps
Ron Capps
Top Fuel winner Steve Torrence
Steve Torrence
Eddie Krawiec
Ron Capps
Steve Torrence
Steve Torrence


Ron Capps picked up his second consecutive victory and third of the season with a 3.954 at 316.90 in his NAPA Auto Parts Dodge Charger R/T by defeating Jack Beckman’s 7.894 at 85.05 in his Infinite Hero Dodge Charger R/T in the final round. Capps’ 48th career win also pushed him into the points lead.

“It’s great,” Capps said. “It’s something you hope will happen at the end of the day but with the competition, you can’t imagine it will go as planned or easy. We’re just taking it a little bit at a time.

“I almost felt embarrassed driving this car today because it’s just so good. You don’t want to mess up when it’s that good. It’s your race to lose.”

En route to his win, Capps defeated John Hale, 16-time champion John Force and defending champion Del Worsham. Beckman was tasked with getting past Las Vegas winner Alexis DeJoria, Atlanta and Topeka winner Matt Hagan and Jeff Diehl to get to the finals.


Steve Torrence piloted his Capco Contractors / Torrence Racing dragster to 4.037 at 281.71 for his second win of 2016 and seventh of his career. Torrence outlasted Tony Schumacher’s 4.234 at 268.28 in his U.S. Army Don Schumacher Racing dragster in the final.

Torrence moved up to third in the standings,

“This is huge,” said Torrence. “This is home for my team. I’m proud to have contributed to this win. We’ve been so fortunate and blessed. We’ve got a racecar that has been impeccable and the only fault has been me some of the time. We are going to count our blessings and just keep going.”

In the earlier rounds, Torrence had to race past Smax Smith, J.R. Todd, and two-time winner this season Brittany Force. Schumacher faced off against Terry McMillen, teammate and defending world champion Antron Brown, and Shawn Langdon to get to the final.


Greg Anderson defeated his KB Racing teammate Jason Line in the final to match him in terms of victories this season, five apiece. It was the 83rd win of Anderson’s career and his seventh at Englishtown.

The Summit Racing Equipment Chevrolet Camaro driver’s 6.610-second pass at 210.93mph was superb but unnecessary as Line red-lighted.

“It’s unreal,” Anderson said, “It’s just absolutely been a dream season. I keep wanting to pinch myself. It’s just cool and we’ve had such a great run.

“This was another great weekend. It’s just one more time that Englishtown tells me how much it loves me and how much the fans up here appreciate Pro Stock.”

Line retains the points lead over Anderson, with their KB Racing teammate Bo Butner in third.


Angelle Sampey powered her Star Racing Buell to a 6.876-second pass at 194.41 mph to defeat Jerry Savoie’s 6.928 at 177.21 on his Savoie’s Alligator Farm Suzuki.

The win was the 42nd of Sampey’s career but her first since 2007 and it made her the fifth female to win an NHRA event this season.

“I know this is my 42nd win but it feels like my first ever,” said Sampey, the winningest female in NHRA history. “I don’t feel like I had any wins before today. I’m starting all over again.

“I feel totally responsible to show my daughter what she can do with her life,” Sampey continued. “Now I can show her that even if you aren’t winning every weekend but if you just keep trying, you’re going to get it.”

Sampey had to race past the Screamin’ Eagle Vance & Hines Harley-Davidsons of both Andrew Hines and Eddie Krawiec, who have collectively claimed the first three victories of the season to get to the finals.

Final finish order (1-16) at the 47th NHRA Summernationals at Old Bridge Township Raceway Park. (NHRA Mello Yello Series, round 10 of 24)

TOP FUEL: 1.  Steve Torrence; 2.  Tony Schumacher; 3.  Shawn Langdon; 4.  Brittany Force; 5.  Antron Brown; 6.  J.R. Todd; 7.  Dom Lagana; 8.  Doug Kalitta; 9.  Leah Pritchett; 10.  Shawn Reed; 11.  Smax Smith; 12.  Terry McMillen; 13.  Clay Millican; 14.  Richie Crampton; 15.  Luigi Novelli; 16. Terry Haddock.
Final: Steve Torrence, 4.037 seconds, 281.71 mph  def. Tony Schumacher, 4.234 seconds, 268.28 mph.

FUNNY CAR: 1.  Ron Capps; 2.  Jack Beckman; 3.  Jeff Diehl; 4.  Del Worsham; 5.  Tim Wilkerson; 6.  John Force; 7.  Matt Hagan; 8.  Tommy Johnson Jr.; 9.  Alexis DeJoria; 10.  Cruz Pedregon; 11.  Chad Head; 12.  Blake Alexander; 13.  Robert Hight; 14.  Courtney Force; 15.  John Hale; 16.  Jim Campbell.
Final: Ron Capps, Dodge Charger, 3.954, 316.90  def. Jack Beckman, Charger, 7.894, 85.05.

PRO STOCK: 1.  Greg Anderson; 2.  Jason Line; 3.  Vincent Nobile; 4.  Kenny Delco; 5.  Drew Skillman; 6.  John Gaydosh Jr; 7.  Jeg Coughlin; 8.  Allen Johnson; 9.  Alex Laughlin; 10.  Shane Gray; 11.  Erica Enders; 12.  Bo Butner; 13.  Charlie Westcott Jr.; 14.  V. Gaines; 15.  Chris McGaha.
Final: Greg Anderson, Chevy Camaro, 6.610, 210.93  def. Jason Line, Camaro, Foul - Red Light.

PRO STOCK MOTORCYCLE: 1.  Angelle Sampey; 2.  Jerry Savoie; 3.  Eddie Krawiec; 4.  Chip Ellis; 5.  Andrew Hines; 6.  LE Tonglet; 7.  Steve Johnson; 8.  Hector Arana Jr; 9.  Cory Reed; 10.  Scotty Pollacheck; 11. Michael Phillips; 12.  Hector Arana; 13.  Brian Pretzel; 14.  Michael Ray; 15.  Jim Underdahl; 16. Karen Stoffer.
Final: Angelle Sampey, Buell, 6.876, 194.41  def. Jerry Savoie, Suzuki, 6.928, 177.21. 

Point standings after 10 of 24 events

Top Fuel: 1.  Doug Kalitta, 847; 2.  Antron Brown, 798; 3.  Steve Torrence, 782; 4.  Brittany Force, 693; 5. Tony Schumacher, 577; 6.  J.R. Todd, 528; 7.  Clay Millican, 507; 8.  Richie Crampton, 483; 9. Shawn Langdon, 478; 10.  Leah Pritchett, 377.

Funny Car: 1.  Ron Capps, 758; 2.  Jack Beckman, 731; 3.  Courtney Force, 687; 4.  Tim Wilkerson, 660; 5.  Del Worsham, 639; 6.  Matt Hagan, 615; 7.  Robert Hight, 586; 8.  John Force, 581; 9.  Tommy Johnson Jr., 558; 10.  Alexis DeJoria, 516.

Pro Stock: 1.  Jason Line, 1,133; 2.  Greg Anderson, 1,065; 3.  Bo Butner, 719; 4.  Allen Johnson, 614; 5. Drew Skillman, 550; 6.  Chris McGaha, 491; 7.  Vincent Nobile, 480; 8.  Jeg Coughlin, 424; 9.  Alex Laughlin, 413; 10.  Erica Enders, 406.

Pro Stock Motorcycle: 1.  Eddie Krawiec, 436; 2.  Jerry Savoie, 310; 3.  Angelle Sampey, 297; 4.  Andrew Hines, 290; 5. Chip Ellis, 269; 6.  Hector Arana, 239; 7.  LE Tonglet, 196; 8.  Karen Stoffer, 150; 9.  Scotty Pollacheck, 149; 10.  Steve Johnson, 147.

Torrence, Capps, Line and Krawiec earn No. 1 qualifying positions at Summernationals

Previous article

Torrence, Capps, Line and Krawiec earn No. 1 qualifying positions at Summernationals

Next article

Why did NHRA change its oil-down policy?

Why did NHRA change its oil-down policy?
Load comments