1990: Joe Amato edges Ormsby in close finish | Top Ten Finals Moment

Until “The Run” in 2006, this is the contest to which all other down-to-the-wire finishes were compared. A back-and-forth Top Fuel battle between Joe Amato and 1989 champion Gary Ormsby waged until the final round of competition of the 1990 season. The combatants lined up for a pressure-packed final that would decide the season title. Ormsby fouled and smoked the tires while Amato streaked to victory to capture his third championship.
Load comments

About this video

Duration 00:50
Posted Nov 3, 2014
Series NHRA
Drivers Joe Amato
Be first to get
breaking news