Formula E
14 Feb
15 Feb
Event finished
Marrakesh E-prix
27 Feb
29 Feb
Next event in
2 days
Formula 1 MotoGP
05 Mar
08 Mar
FP1 in
11 days
Thailand GP
19 Mar
22 Mar
FP1 in
24 days
21 Feb
23 Feb
Event finished
28 Feb
01 Mar
Next event in
3 days
13 Mar
15 Mar
Next event in
17 days
03 Apr
05 Apr
Next event in
38 days
22 Feb
23 Feb
Event finished
18 Mar
20 Mar
Next event in
22 days

Leanne Tander to make one-off Porsche start

Leanne Tander to make one-off Porsche start
Feb 26, 2018, 3:19 AM

Leanne Tander has been given a surprise call-up to replace Alex Davison in the Porsche Carrera Cup field for the season-opener in Adelaide this weekend.

Alex Davison
Andre Heimgartner, Nick McBride
Porsche 911 GT3 Cup
Porsche 911 GT3 Cup
Andre Heimgartner
David Wall
Cameron McConville
Jaxon Evans
Race winner Andre Heimgartner

With Davison sidelined due to a yet-to-be-named commitment outside the series, the 2016 Australian Formula Ford champion and wife of Supercars star Garth Tander will make her Carrera Cup debut in the #888 entry.

She'll be one of six rookies in the 26-car field, joining Josh Hunt, John Steffensen, Cameron Hill, Peter Major, and Adam Garwood, and had her first taste of the brand new Cup Car – which itself will debut this weekend – at Sandown recently.

“Carrera Cup is a series in which I’ve never driven, but I’ve always wanted to," said Tander.

"So when I got the call-up to race in Adelaide, I was absolutely all for it.

“The test went really well. It had been a while since I’ve driven anything that fast; the car has amazing speed and power but is also really enjoyable to drive.

"I’m really looking forward to Adelaide.”

Entry List: – Round 1, Adelaide 500

#1 David Wall (Pro) PAYCE/Wilson Security
#4 Stephen Grove (TAG Heuer Pro-Am) Grove Motorsport
#5 Greg Taylor (TAG Heuer Pro-Am) Arris/Strongbuild
#6 Tim Miles (TAG Heuer Pro-Am) Miles Advisory Partners
#7 Jaxon Evans (Pro) Morris Finance
#8 Nick McBride (Pro) Porsche Centre Melbourne
#9 Marc Cini (TAG Heuer Pro-Am) Hallmarc
#12 Adam Garwood (Pro) Garwood Motorsport
#13 Sam Shahin (TAG Heuer Pro-Am) The Bend/htfu
#14 Peter Major (Pro) Sonic/Totally 4x4
#15 Josh Hunt (Pro) Volante Rosso Motorsport
#18 James Moffat (Pro) Payce/Wilson Security/JBL
#19 Anthony Gilbertson (TAG Heuer Pro-Am) Hallmark Homes
#20 Adrian Flack (TAG Heuer Pro-Am) Agas National
#22 Dean Cook (TAG Heuer Pro-Am) BMF/Pitman Racing
#23 Roger Lago (TAG Heuer Pro-Am) JBS Australia
#35 Indiran Padayachee (TAG Heuer Pro-Am) Hyundai Forklifts Australia
#77 Michael Almond (Pro) Sonic/Bob Jane T Marts
#80 Max Twigg (TAG Heuer Pro-Am) WM Waste Management
#88 Dylan O'Keeffe (Pro) Allstar Equipment Sales
#100 Dale Wood (Pro) Sonic/Polyflor
#111 Cameron Hill (Pro) Southern Star Truck Centre/Anytime Fitness
#131 Graham Williams (TAG Heuer Pro-Am) Sonic
#777 Jordan Love (Pro) Sonic/Bob Jane T Marts
#808 John Steffensen (TAG Heuer Pro-Am) Crown
#888 Leanne Tander (TAG Heuer Pro-Am) Porsche Doncaster Motorsport/Porsche Brighton Motorsport

Next article
Porsche expands junior support in Australia

Previous article

Porsche expands junior support in Australia

Next article

Six new Porsche Cup Cars headed to Australia

Six new Porsche Cup Cars headed to Australia
Load comments

About this article

Series Porsche
Drivers Leanne Tander
Author Andrew van Leeuwen