ALLSTAR: Volusia Report 07-02-05

FRIGIDAIRE ALL STAR SPRINT CAR RACE RESULTS VOLUSIA CO. SPEEDWAY, Barberville, FL - WED 2/5/97 McCarl Spins and Wins All Star Sprint Opener BARBERVILLE, FL - Sprint car driver Terry McCarl and car owner Junior Holbrook made a plan back in ...

ALLSTAR: Volusia Report 07-02-05


McCarl Spins and Wins All Star Sprint Opener

BARBERVILLE, FL - Sprint car driver Terry McCarl and car owner Junior Holbrook made a plan back in December at the Performance Racing Industry trade show in Columbus, Ohio. The newly formed team executed it perfectly in the Frigidaire All Star Florida Sprint Speedweek opening night, round one of five, at Volusia County’s dirt track Wednesday night. Track owner Steve Ross rewarded McCarl $3,000 for his outstanding drive from 21st starting position to victory circle in the 25 lap A Main on a picture perfect Florida evening that saw the temperature reach 82 degrees by mid-afternoon. With a Gaerte powered ’97 Stealth, McCarl used chief mechanic Troy Renfro, who had been with him on his No. 27 and No. 24 cars, to outwit 23 other hopefuls on chassis setup and the super critical choice of correct Goodyear tire compound. For McCarl it was his third career All Star win, but his first-ever at Volusia, despite winning the overall points here in a previous Florida Speedweek. His crew, Scott Willoby and Scott Coonce help to maintain the yellow No. 8H, sponsored in part by Sanders, Hank’s, Aurora, Carrera, McCroskey Chevrolet and Earl’s. Clearly the fastest car during the last ten laps, McCarl finished a half a straightaway ahead of Jim Nace, who started on the "Butlerbuilt Hot Seat" pole position. Nace said, "When McCarl went by on the outside, that should have been me. I should have moved out there." But he was clearly happy with his first effort in the Bob Weikert No. 29, Don Ott powered, McCreary shod Avenger chassis. Todd Shaffer managed a third in the Gary Beam Henchcraft with Kriner power.; "Usually we see this kind of tire wear on the last two nights here, but never on the first night," commented Shaffer, who rode Goodyear’s and started 11th. John Bankston started his J&J in fourth spot after having to come through the United Expressline B Main. Using Goodyear 25c’s, his Krinre engine brought him home fourth while Frankie Kerr in Stan Shoff’s Familiar J&J, put his Davey Brown Sr. Powerplant to the test having restarted last after a tire change and ranked fifth. Rounding out the top ten were Bobby Allen, Danny Smith, Jeff Shepard, Kelly Kinser and Gary Wright. Tire wear spelled big time woes for many drivers as evidenced by a red flag stop on lap 15. Nine drivers, including Kerr, Kenny Jacobs, Billy Pauch, Kinser, Tim Allison, Donnie Kreitz, Wright, Mike Frost and Van Gurley, Jr. Elected to change tires even though it meant going to the rear. Three other drivers who tried to stretch that luck, Lance Dewease, Fred Rahmer and defending All Star champ Dale Blaney, all suffered flats before the checkered flag flew. With the top six inverted at the start, Nace and Rahmer led the field but it was Rahmer who set the tone and commanded the attention of all while Blaney tried to make a race out of it for the first 15 laps. Despite restarts on laps six and 11 for minor spins, even one by McCarl, Blaney was no match for Rahmer’s quickness in the Al Hamilton No. 77. The pair continued the duel with Nace running third and McCarl now fourth following the lap 16 red for a tumble by fast qualifier Dean Jacobs, leading to the rash of tire changes. Rahmer’s tire gave up and McCarl zipped by on lap 21, and a lap later, Blaney’s tire went also, bringing out the final yellow flag on lap 22. Bobby Allen claimed the United Expressline heat, Kenny Jacobs took the Southwest Expressline heat and Pauch was first in the Southwest Glass Heat. Tim Shaffer won the United Specialties heat and Bankston won the United Expressline B Main. The UMP modified winner was Rick Hufford and the 20-lap Dixie Outlaw Sprint feature fell to Robert Nichols.

Time Trials: 1. Dean Jacobs, Jacobs 1f, 15.024; 2. Lance Dewease, Dyer 461, 15.032; 3. John Bankston, Bankston 8, 15.336; 4. Dale Blaney, Hughes 94, 15.437; 5. Fred Rahmer, Hamilton 77, 15.501; 6. Jim Nace, Weikert 29, 15.507; 7. Frankie Kerr, Shoff 23s, 15.525; 8. Donnie Kreitz, Jr., Stone 3, 15.571; 9. Jim Moughan, Smith 2s, 15.674; 10. Kenny Jacobs, Ashworth 92, 15.678; 11. Todd Shaffer, Beam 88, 15.680; 12. Tim Shaffer, Reidling 50, 15.689; 13. Kelly Kinser, Kinser 4k, 15.694; 14. Chad Kemenah, East Harbor 92, 15.702; 15. Billy Pauch, Zemaitis 1z, 15.724; 16. Gary Wright, Action 9, 15.751; 17. Bobby Allen, Allen 1a, 15.764; 18. Sarah Fisher, Fisher 9, 15.793; 19. Tim Allison, Mox 11, 15.807; 20. Van Gurley, Jr., Gray 51, 15.807; 21. Terry McCarl, Holbrook 8h, 15.838; 22. Danny Smith, Smith 4, 15.854; 23. Mike Frost, Frost 88, 15.867; 24. Jeff Shepard, J&M 55, 15.871; 25. Randy Wolfe, Johnson U2, 15.931; 26. Bobby Adamson, Adamson 2a, 15.947; 27. Daniel Coggeshell, Coggeshell 3c, 16.000; 28. Lou Kennedy, Kennedy 21k, 16.230; 29. Billy Anderson, Olson 22a, 16.234; 30. Bob Felmlee, Felmlee 6, 16.284; 31. Brian Ellenberger. Ellenberger 20, 16.327; 32. Danny Jennings, Jennings 61, 16.348; 33. Travis Whitney, Whitney 7s, 16.363; 34. James Horton, Horton 80, 16.381; 35. John Koller, Koller 27, 16.479; 36. Brian Schnee, Tanksle 20, 16.499; 37. Scott Jones, Jones 13, 16.591; 38. Brenda Buster, Buster 31, 16.620; 39. Andy McKisson, McKisson 0, 16.631; 40. Howie Gleason, Gleason 21, 16.637; 41. Jimmy Stinson, Stinson & Hicks 84, 16.728; 42. Joe Houck, Filla 34, 16.836; 43. Johnny Johnson, Johnson 72j, 17.167. United Expressline Heat: (10 laps): 1. Allen 2. Rahmer 3. D. Jacobs 4. McCarl 5. Kinser 6. Moughan 7. Anderson 8. Whitney 9. Jones 10. Wolfe 11. Stinson.

Southwest Expressline Heat: (10 laps): 1. K. Jacobs 2. Smith 3. Dewease 4. Nace 5. Fisher 6. Kemenah 7. Adamson 8. Horton 9. Felmlee 10. Buster 11. Houck.

United Specialties Heat: (10 laps): 1. Pauch 2. Allison 3. Frost 4. Kerr 5. Todd Shaffer 6. Coggeshell 7. Bankston 8. Ellenberger 9. McKisson 10. Koller 11. Johnson.

Southwest Glass Heat: (10 laps): 1. Tim Shaffer 2. Shepard 3. Blaney 4. Wright 5. Gurley 6. Kreitz 7. Jennings 8. Schnee 9. Kennedy 10. Gleason.

United Expressline B Main: (15 laps): 1. Bankston 2. Kreitz 3. Kemenah 4. Moughan 5. Jennings 6. Felmlee 7. Horton 8. Jones 9. Coggeshell 10. Schnee 11. Stinson 12. Whitney 13. Anderson 14. Adamson 15. Johnson 16. McKisson 17. Koller 18. Kennedy 19. Wolfe 20. Gleason 21. Buster 22. Ellenberger.

A Main (25 laps): 1. Terry McCarl 2. Jim Nace 3. Todd Shaffer 4. John Bankston 5. Frankie Kerr 6. Bobby Allen 7. Danny Smith 8. Jeff Shepard 9. Kelly Kinser 10. Gary Wright 11. Kenny Jacobs 12. Billy Pauch 13. Donnie Kreitz Jr. 14. Dean Jacobs 15. Sarah Fisher 16. Jim Moughan 17. Van Gurley Jr. 18. Lance Dewease 19. Fred Rahmer 20. Mike Frost 21. Tim Allison 22. Dale Blaney 23. Tim Shaffer 24. Chad Kemenah.

Mid-Bay (VA) Fall Classic Preview

Previous article

Mid-Bay (VA) Fall Classic Preview

Next article

36th Australian Sprintcar Championship Report 98-02-28

36th Australian Sprintcar Championship Report 98-02-28
Load comments