Gulf South / Lone Star / Sooner Kennedale results 2009-11-11

Gulf South / Lone Star / Sooner Kennedale results 2009-11-11

Mother Natures Finishes Off Cowtown Sprint Nationals KENNEDALE, Texas (October 11, 2009) -- With Sunday's Second Annual Cowtown Sprint Nationals feature lineup finally set, Mother Nature stepped in and finished off the event with one ...

Mother Natures Finishes Off Cowtown Sprint Nationals

KENNEDALE, Texas (October 11, 2009) -- With Sunday's Second Annual Cowtown Sprint Nationals feature lineup finally set, Mother Nature stepped in and finished off the event with one final torrent of showers that proved to be too much to overcome.

After 71 cars battled through Saturday night's preliminary event, 65 competitors returned for Sunday's $8,000-to-win Cowtown Sprint Nationals finale, the season-ending event for the ASCS Gulf South, Lone Star and Sooner Regions that had already been pushed back one day by inclement weather.

After Joe Wood, Jr., Sam Hafertepe, Jr., Tommy Bryant, Travis Rilat, Jack Dover, Sammy Swindell and Seth Bergman topped Sunday's heat races, proceedings were delayed by an initial wave of showers.

However, once the first round of rain subsided, the track was worked back in with Aaron Reutzel, Brian McClelland and Michael Lang then winning the "B" Mains.

Just as the final "B" Main exited the track, the skies opened up, rendering the high-banked, 0x00bc-mile dirt oval unsuitable for any further racing action.

With no rain date available, the feature purse was paid out among the 25 scheduled starters with the top six starters splitting the top six finishing payouts, seventh through 12th splitting the finishing payouts for those positions and so on.

Taking the lion's share of the $29,750 feature purse were Saturday night's top four finishers (Tony Bruce, Jr., Tim Crawley, Scottie McDonald and Jesse Hockett) along with Sunday's top two passing points earners (Sammy Swindell and Tommy Bryant). Those six drivers each pocketed $3,250.

While 19-year-old Aaron Reutzel finished off the ASCS Gulf South championship by simply showing up on Sunday and Kevin Ramey locked up the inaugural ASCS Lone Star title on Saturday night, Joe Wood, Jr., put the clamps on the American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region title by making the cut for Sunday's feature.

ASCS Gulf South / Lone Star / Sooner Results from the Second Annual Cowtown Sprint Nationals:

Locked in from Saturday Night's Preliminary Feature: 18-Tony Bruce, Jr., 88c-Tim Crawley, 88-Scottie McDonald, 13-Jesse Hockett.

Heat One (10 Laps): 1. 03-Joe Wood, Jr., 2. 45k-Kolt Walker, 3. 7m-Kevin Ramey, 4. 25-Brian McClelland, 5. 1b-Kent Lewis, Jr., 6. 69-Larry Howery, 7. 67-Rodney Henderson, 8. 1r-Scott Reneau, 9. 22L-Kent Lewis, Sr.

Heat Two (10 Laps): 1. 15h-Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 2. 99-Brady Bacon, 3. 45-J.P. Bailey, 4. 24-Terry McCarl, 5. 14aj-Wayne Johnson, 6. 45x-Johnny Herrera, 7. 11m-Brandon Moseley, 8. 88r-Andy Rea, 9. 97-Aaron Berryhill.

Heat Three (10 Laps): 1. 21T-Tommy Bryant, 2. 9T-Gary Taylor, 3. 22b-Ben Gregg, 4. 87x-Billy Melton, 5. 76-John Ricketts, 6. 88j-Forrest Sutherland, 7. 35-Greg Rilat, 8. 95-Matt Covington, 9. 1m-Jim Moughan.

Heat Four (10 Laps): 1. 50-Travis Rilat, 2. 4-Eric Baldaccini, 3. 87-Aaron Reutzel, 4. 14k-Kyle Bellm, 5. 31-Brandon Berryman, 6. 20-Chad Wilson, 7. 5c-Chris Coker, 8. 71-Channin Tankersley. DNS: 55d-David Doyle.

Heat Five (10 Laps): 1. 53-Jack Dover, 2. 9x-Gary Wright, 3. 55-Donnie Ray Crawford, 4. 21-Brian Brown, 5. 9-Brian Parker, 6. 5m-Glenn Martin, 7. 79-Ryan Hall, 8. 12-Logan Bledsoe, 9. 77-Colt Treharn.

Heat Six (10 Laps): 1. 10k-Sammy Swindell, 2. 14-Michael Lang, 3. 17w-Brad Welborn, 4. 93-Dustin Morgan, 5. 65-Skip Wilson, 6. 94-Danny Wood, 7. 30x-Bean Elliott, 8. 87a-Andrew Marshala.

Heat Seven (10 Laps): 1. 23-Seth Bergman, 2. 11-Justin Melton, 3. 41-Jason Johnson, 4. 74e-Claud Estes, 5. 10-George White, 6. 27-Andy Shouse, 7. 15T-Travis Elliott, 8. 58-Gary Floyd.

First "B" Main (12 Laps): 1. 87-Aaron Reutzel, 2. 4-Eric Baldaccini, 3. 14k-Kyle Bellm, 4. 45x-Johnny Herrera, 5. 35-Greg Rilat, 6. 31-Brandon Berryman, 7. 5c-Chris Coker, 8. 11m-Brandon Moseley, 9. 69-Larry Howery, 10. 45-J.P. Bailey, 11. 58-Gary Floyd, 12. 10-George White, 13. 11-Justin Melton, 14. 95-Matt Covington. DNS: 12-Logan Bledsoe, 97-Aaron Berryhill.

Second "B" Main (12 Laps): 1. 25-Brian McClelland, 2. 24-Terry McCarl, 3. 17w-Brad Welborn, 4. 71-Channin Tankersley, 5. 9-Brian Parker, 6. 65-Skip Wilson, 7. 5m-Glenn Martin, 8. 22L-Kent Lewis, Sr., 9. 79-Ryan Hall, 10. 1b-Kent Lewis, Jr. DNS: 21-Brian Brown, 9x-Gary Wright, 94-Danny Wood, 15T-Travis Elliott, 77-Colt Treharn, 55d-David Doyle.

Third "B" Main (12 Laps): 1. 14-Michael Lang, 2. 93-Dustin Morgan, 3. 14aj-Wayne Johnson, 4. 27-Andy Shouse, 5. 74e-Claud Estes, 6. 67-Rodney Henderson, 7. 1r-Scott Reneau, 8. 88j-Forrest Sutherland, 9. 88r-Andy Rea, 10. 1m-Jim Moughan, 11. 87x-Billy Melton, 12. 76-John Ricketts, 13. 87a-Andrew Marshala. DNS: 20-Chad Wilson.

"A" Feature (RAINED OUT):

Starting positions 1-6 received $3,250 each: 13-Jesse Hockett, 21T-Tommy Bryant, 18-Tony Bruce, Jr., 88-Scottie McDonald, 10k-Kevin Swindell, 88c-Tim Crawley.

Starting positions 7-12 received $775 each: 55-Donnie Ray Crawford, 23-Seth Bergman, 9T-Gary Taylor, 7m-Kevin Ramey, 15h-Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 50-Travis Rilat.

Starting positions 13-18 received $466 each: 53-Jack Dover, 22b-Ben Gregg, 41-Jason Johnson, 03-Joe Wood, Jr., 45k-Kolt Walker, 99-Brady Bacon.

Starting positions 19-25 received $400 each: 87-Aaron Reutzel, 25-Brian McClelland, 14-Michael Lang, 4-Eric Baldaccini, 24-Terry McCarl, 93-Dustin Morgan, 21-Brian Brown (defending race winner's provisional).

ASCS Regional Points Distributed as Follows (Must have run 40% of a Region's events prior to this weekend to earn points):

Gulf South: 1. Tommy Bryant, Scottie McDonald, Travis Rilat, Jason Johnson, Aaron Reutzel and Eric Baldaccini, 2. Channin Tankersley, 3. Greg Rilat, 4. Brandon Berryman, 5. Glenn Martin, 6. Kent Lewis, Sr., 7. Larry Howery, 8. Kent Lewis, Sr. DNS: Travis Elliott, Bean Elliott.

Lone Star: 1. Kevin Ramey, Kolt Walker, Eric Baldaccini, Brian McClelland and Eric Baldaccini, 2. Brad Welborn, 3. Channin Tankersley, 4. Brian Parker and Claud Estes, 6. Skip Wilson, 7. Chris Coker, Glenn Martin and Scott Reneau, 10. Larry Howery and Andy Rea, 12. J.P. Bailey, 13. Billy Melton, 14. John Ricketts, 15. Justin Melton. DNS: Chad Wilson.

Sooner: 1. Donnie Ray Crawford, Ben Gregg, Joe Wood, Jr., Kolt Walker, Brady Bacon, Eric Baldaccini, Brian McClelland and Dustin Morgan, 2. Kyle Bellm, 3. Andy Shouse, 4. Forrest Sutherland, 5. J.P. Bailey, 6. Justin Melton and Andrew Marshala, 8. Matt Covington. DNS: Danny Wood.

ASCS Gulf South Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Aaron Reutzel 3,458, 2. Channin Tankersley 3,318, 3. Tommy Bryant 3,286, 4. Scottie McDonald 3,244, 5. Brandon Berryman 3,187, 6. Kent Lewis, Jr. 3,139, 7. Greg Rilat 3,113, 8. Gary Watson 2,796, 9. Ray Allen Kulhanek 2,699, 10. Eric Baldaccini 2,682.

ASCS Lone Star Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Kevin Ramey 2,266, 2. Brad Welborn 2,073, 3. Eric Baldaccini 2,045, 4. Justin Melton 2,026, 5. Claud Estes 2,007, 6. Michael Lang 1,978, 7. Brian McClelland 1,894, 8. Scott Reneau 1,882, 9. John Ricketts 1,746, 10. Glenn Martin 1,707.

American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Joe Wood, Jr. 1,648, 2. Matt Covington 1,616, 3. Donnie Ray Crawford 1,533, 4. Kyle Bellm 1,426, 5. Brady Bacon 1,246, 6. Brian McClelland 1,236, 7. Forrest Sutherland 1,224, 8. Andy Shouse 1,149, 9. J.P. Bailey 1,081, 10. Brad Graham 1,071.

-credit: ascs

Goodyear, Knoxville partnership for 50th Nationals

Previous article

Goodyear, Knoxville partnership for 50th Nationals

Next article

Gulf South / Lone Star / Sooner Kennedale results 2009-10-10

Gulf South / Lone Star / Sooner Kennedale results 2009-10-10
Load comments