Lake Ozark Nationals Prelim results

Shane Stewart Snares O'Reilly ASCS LOS 360 Nationals Prelim ELDON, Mo. (September 4, 2004) - Shane Stewart proved to be the class of Saturday night's 44-car Lake Ozark Speedway 360 Nationals preliminary field, racing to his second ...

Lake Ozark Nationals Prelim results

Shane Stewart Snares O'Reilly ASCS LOS 360 Nationals Prelim

ELDON, Mo. (September 4, 2004) - Shane Stewart proved to be the class of Saturday night's 44-car Lake Ozark Speedway 360 Nationals preliminary field, racing to his second O'Reilly American Sprint Car Series National Tour presented by Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores and Classic Trailers feature win of the season in wire-to-wire fashion.

Only a caution 15 rounds into the 25-lapper could slow Stewart's torrid pace, as he went on to post a near straightaway victory over Jason Johnson, with Gary Wright and Toby Brown nabbing the final two transfer positions to Sunday night's $5,000-to-win LOS 360 Nationals finale.

"We made some adjustments to the fuel system after the heat race, and the mIn Motorsports, Wesmar Engines Maxim was awesome in the feature," Stewart commented in victory lane after leading a Wesmar sweep of the top five positions. "Hopefully we can win another $5,000 tomorrow night."

Stewart earned the pole position for the feature by virtue of a last lap pass to finish second in the evening's third heat race after starting seventh. Flanked by Garry Lee Maier as the green flag flew, Stewart jumped into the early lead and immediately checked out on the field.

Stewart was a full straightaway ahead of his rivals by the time he encountered lapped traffic after eight rounds. While Stewart dominated the early rounds, Maier had his hands full fending off Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. and a rim-riding Jason Johnson for second.

As Stewart worked through traffic, Johnson edged ahead of Stenhouse for third on the tenth round then overtook Maier for second two rounds later. After shadowing the battling trio of Maier, Johnson and Stenhouse for several rounds, current series point leader Wright began his move forward by racing past Stenhouse for fourth on the 15th lap then quickly overtaking Maier for third.

Moments later, the race's only caution would fly when Stenhouse looped his mount in turn four while challenging Maier for the fourth and final transfer position to Sunday night's main event.

With a pair of lapped cars separating himself from Johnson on the restart, Stewart once again checked out in the final rounds. Despite encountering lapped traffic during the final three circuits, Stewart raced to the checkered flag unchallenged aboard Scott Chilcutt's mIn Motorsports Management/Rudeen Racing No. 4m.

Climbing back aboard Lanny Row's The Shop No. 41 Eagle, Johnson fought off a late bid from Wright to secure the runner-up position. Running seventh prior to Stenhouse's spin, Toby Brown made a late charge to make the critical pass of Maier for fourth on the 22nd round.

Maier crossed the stripe fifth but was disqualified when he failed to report to the scales. Aaron Berryhill assumed the fifth position, with Zach Chappell, 20th-starter Tim Montgomery, Brian Brown, Darren Stewart and Lanny Carpenter completing the top ten.

Berryhill, Stenhouse, Eric VanderPloeg, Maier and Johnson topped heat race action, with Carpenter and Jesse Hockett posting victories in the twin 12-lap B Mains.

Defending series champion Travis Rilat utilized a provisional starting position for the main event after encountering engine problems in his heat race. With a borrowed powerplant from Maier's Lubbock Wrecker Service team, Rilat advanced from 21st to eleventh in the feature to stay within 68 points of Wright in the championship points chase.


First Heat (8 Laps): 1. Aaron Berryhill, 2. Brian Brown, 3. Darren Stewart, 4. Rex Combs, 5. Dean Adams, Jr., 6. Tim Montgomery, 7. Terry Hinck, 8. Eric Jobe, 9. Adam Jones.

Second Heat (8 Laps): 1. Ricky Stenhouse, Jr., 2. Gary Wright, 3. Toby Brown, 4. Jeff Stanley, 5. Randy Martin, 6. Rob Standridge, 7. Doug Wilson, 8. Hunter Schuerenberg, 9. Steve Gennetten.

Third Heat (8 Laps): 1. Eric VanderPloeg, 2. Shane Stewart, 3. Lanny Carpenter, 4. Jesse Hockett, 5. Cody Branchcomb, 6. Ed Wagner, 7. Steve Beach, 8. Jon Corbin. DNS: Travis Rilat.

Fourth Heat (8 Laps): 1. Garry Lee Maier, 2. A.G. Rains, 3. Johnny Anderson, 4. Tracy Nichols, 5. Marshall Skinner, 6. Eric Schrock, 7. Frank Brown, 8. Tony Crank, 9. Stan Boch.

Fifth Heat (8 Laps): 1. Jason Johnson, 2. Zach Chappell, 3. Jimmy Taylor, 4. Bryan Grimes, 5. Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 6. Ron Standridge, 7. Mike Trent, 8. Mace May.

First B Feature (12 Laps): 1. Lanny Carpenter, 2. Marshall Skinner, 3. Rob Standridge, 4. Jimmy Taylor, 5. Tracy Nichols, 6. Mike Trent, 7. Terry Hinck, 8. Hunter Schuerenberg, 9. Dean Adams, Jr., 10. Tony Crank, 11. Jeff Stanley, 12. Steve Beach, 13. Adam Jones, 14. Ed Wagner, 15. Stan Boch.

Second B Feature (12 Laps): 1. Jesse Hockett, 2. Cody Branchcomb, 3. Tim Montgomery, 4. Bryan Grimes, 5. Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 6. Randy Martin, 7. Ron Standridge, 8. Jon Corbin, 9. Eric Schrock, 10. Eric Jobe, 11. Doug Wilson, 12. Frank Brown, 13. Travis Rilat, 14. Mace May. DNS: Steve Gennetten.

A Feature (25 Laps): 1. Shane Stewart, 2. Jason Johnson, 3. Gary Wright, 4. Toby Brown, 5. Aaron Berryhill, 6. Zach Chappell, 7. Tim Montgomery, 8. Brian Brown, 9. Darren Stewart, 10. Lanny Carpenter, 11. Travis Rilat, 12. Johnny Anderson, 13. Marshall Skinner, 14. Jesse Hockett, 15. A.G. Rains, 16. Eric VanderPloeg, 17. Ricky Stenhouse, Jr., 18. Cody Branchcomb, 19. Rob Standridge, 20. Rex Combs. Disqualified: Garry Lee Maier (failed to report to the scales after finishing fifth).

O'Reilly ASCS National Tour Points (Top Fifteen): 1. Gary Wright 3,760, 2. Travis Rilat 3,692, 3. Zach Chappell 3,556, 4. Garry Lee Maier 3,135, 5. Toby Brown 3,101, 6. Darren Stewart 3,003, 7. A.G. Rains 2,837, 8. Sam Hafertepe, Jr. 2,706, 9. Jimmy Taylor 2,598, 10. Cody Branchcomb 2,440, 11. Natalie Sather 2,336, 12. Tony Bruce, Jr. 1,878, 13. Shane Stewart 1,544, 14. Tim Crawley 1,461, 15. Jason Martin 1,440.


Lincoln Speedway "Abel Memorial" results
Previous article

Lincoln Speedway "Abel Memorial" results

Next article

Sooner Region Ada results 2004-09-04

Sooner Region Ada results 2004-09-04
Load comments