Patriot Region Brockville results 2009-10-17

Patriot Region Brockville results 2009-10-17

Styres Scores Brockville Win in Battle at the Border Howland adds King of St. Lawrence Crown to 2009 Winnings BROCKVILLE, Ont. (October 17, 2009)- On an afternoon when temperatures approached freezing, power in the area was out and daylight was ...

Styres Scores Brockville Win in Battle at the Border
Howland adds King of St. Lawrence Crown to 2009 Winnings

BROCKVILLE, Ont. (October 17, 2009)- On an afternoon when temperatures approached freezing, power in the area was out and daylight was becoming an issue, Glenn Styres kept a talented field at bay and drove to arguably the largest win in his illustrious career.

Styres, of Ohsweken, Ontario, captured the 3rd Annual "Battle at the Border" on a brisk afternoon at Brockville Ontario Speedway along the 1000 Islands. Not only was the Ohsweken Speedway No. 0 set up right for the feature, he also caught a bit of luck along the way.

"My wing slider broke and it slid the wing all the way back," stated the Owner of Ohsweken Speedway in a dark Victory Lane. "I would have never done that on my own but it really helped the car out and all I had to do was ride."

Styres drew the pole position for the final 25-lap sprint feature in the Northeast for 2009. With his teammate Keith Dempster drawing the pole, "The Ohsweken Flyer" was confident to swing in to the lead and from there he would never look back.

After power went out in the Northern Brockville area, daylight was all that could salvage the day. With about a 15 minute window to get to at least half way, each lap was crucial. After a lap 8 caution for Brian McDonald's No. 151 spinning around, the final 17 laps would go non-stop to the finish in a dash in dusk.

Dempster rode behind his teammate in second for a while, but Jessica Zemken was focused on moving forward and would take over the runner-up spot. Steve Poirier and Bryan Howland were also charging through the pack and would put on a spirited battle with Zemken. That pack would hang tough with Styres, but through it all it was the bright orange car that showed the way through traffic.

"How about that Karma," declared Styres to his crew upon climbing out of his ride in Victory Lane in reference to the wing slider malfunction. "This is a big win."

Styres won the third and final heat race, with Poirier and hometown hero Rick Wilson also scoring early checkered flags. Zemken won the dash while August Brockville Winner Alain Bergeron won the B-Main to set up a thrilling feature.

With a late-race caution likely to include a checkered flag along with it, drivers were fiercely going after Styres for the lead, including Steve Poirier, who seemed like he could get a strong drive off the bottom to take that top spot imminently. That point would never come though and the No. 28FM would settle for second.

Zemken would ride to a solid third-place showing at the track where she became the only female to win an ASCS Feature back in 2007.

Bryan Howland would hang on for fourth and with Bergeron only able to put together a 13th place showing, the driver of the No. 51 gained enough points to score the Riverside Bar and Grill King of the St. Lawrence Crown.

Jeff Cook would charge from deep in the pack all night to place in fifth, with fan favorite Rick Wilson rallying from an early-race mishap to cross in sixth. Shawn Donath was once again solid at Brockville, coming home in seventh, with Bubba Broderick, Keith Dempster and Kayle Robidoux completing a stout top-10.

A total of 28 cars entered the pits for this late-season open event, supported by the Lucas Oil ASCS Patriots and the Southern Ontario Sprints. Stan Zanchin and Doug Banks were unable to start the feature but the other 26 cars would take the green flag, help in large part to Riverside Bar and Grill and Brockville Speedway. Banks would draw the only red flag of the night during the B-Main as he stood his No. 14 up on the front stretch catch fence.


Riverside Bar and Grill A-Main (25 Laps)- 1. Glenn Styres (0), 2. Steve Poirier (28FM), 3. Jessica Zemken (1z), 4. Bryan Howland (51H), 5. Jeff Cook (10), 6. Rick Wilson (42w), 7. Shawn Donath (33), 8. Bubba Broderick (5), 9. Keith Dempster (5k), 10. Kayle Robidoux (46), 11. Travis Cunningham (71), 12. Lee Ladouceur (51L), 13. Alain Bergeron (8B), 14. Brandan Warner (10B), 15. Gordy Button (714), 16. Tim Kelly (12), 17. Joel Lehman (4z), 18. Devin Caron (24k), 19. Brian McDonald (151), 20. Chris Jones (11J), 21. Tyler Rand (84), 22. Paul Pekkonen (98), 23. Daniel Lampron (52L), 24. April Wilson (15aw), 25. Kyle Fraser (01), 26. Ryan Hunsinger (77x), DNS: Doug Banks (14), Stan Zanchin (94).

Lap Leaders- Styres 1-25.

B-Mains (Top-6 Transfer to A-Main)- 1. Alain Bergeron (8B), 2. Joel Lehman (4z), 3. Chris Jones (11J), 4. Gordy Button (714), 5. Daniel Lampron (52L), 6. Paul Pekkonen (98), 7. April Wilson (15aw), 8. Kyle Fraser (01), 9. Doug Banks (14), 10. Stan Zanchin (94).

Riverside Bar and Grill Dash for Cash (4 Laps)- 1. Jessica Zemken (1z), 2. Bryan Howland (51H), 3. Keith Dempster (5k), 4. Rick Wilson (42w), 5. Steve Porier (28FM), 6. Glenn Styres (0).

Heats (8 Laps Each, Top-6 Transfer to A-Main, Top-3 Redraw)-

Race 1: 1. Rick Wilson (42w), 2. Bryan Howland (51H), 3. Kayle Robidoux (46), 4. Shawn Donath (33), 5. Tyler Rand (84), 6. Travis Cunningham (71), 7. Alain Bergeron (8B), 8. Chris Jones (11J), 9. Kyle Fraser (01), 10. Stan Zanchin (94).

Race 2: 1. Steve Poirier (28FM), 2. Jessica Zemken (1z), 3. Tim Kelly (12), 4. Jeff Cook (10), 5. Ryan Hunsinger (77x), 6. Devin Caron (24k), 7. Joel Lehman (4z), 8. Paul Pekkonen (98), 9. Doug Banks (14).

Race 3: 1.Glenn Styres (0), 2. Keith Dempster (5k), 3. Lee Ladouceur (51L), 4. Bubba Broderick (5), 5. Brian McDonald (151), 6. Brandan (10B), 7. Gordy Button (714), 8. Daniel Lampron (52L), 9. April Wilson (15aw).

Riverside Bar and Grill King of the St. Lawrence Series Final Standings (Top-10) - 1. Bryan Howland 572, 2. Alain Bergeron 568, 3. Bubba Broderick 542, 4. Brandan Warner 510, 5. Gordy Button 506, 6. Brian McDonald 496, 7. Devin Caron 482, 8. Paul Pekkonen 478, 9. Jared Zimbardi 422, 10. Shawn Donath 418.

-credit: ascs

Series Mesquite Saturday report, results

Previous article

Series Mesquite Saturday report, results

Next article

Series Mesquite Sunday report, results 2009-10-18

Series Mesquite Sunday report, results 2009-10-18
Load comments

About this article

Series Sprint
Drivers Chris Jones