CTMP PWC: Cadillac uses strategy to run away with Race 1 SprintX win

The No. 8 Cadillac ATS-V.R of Jordan Taylor and Michael Cooper ran away with the first SprintX race of the weekend with a clever strategy call.

CTMP PWC: Cadillac uses strategy to run away with Race 1 SprintX win
Listen to this article

After starting from the rear of the GT field, Cadillac ran their first stint long with the hope of catching an advantageous yellow. Well, they got it when  Ben Barnicoat's K-Pax Racing McLaren 650S GT3 was stuffed into the Turn 10 barriers after contact with another car.

Cooper pitted under the full-course caution and handed the wheel over to Taylor with a lead nearing a full lap. The 2017 Rolex 24 winner simply had to stay out of trouble and he did just that, crossing the finish line a full 46.659 seconds over Joerg Bergmeister in the No. 58 Wright Motorsports Porsche 911 GT3 R.

The sister Cadillac of Ricky Taylor and Johnny O’Connell was third, completing the podium. The No. 88 Bentley Continental GT3 of Vince Abril/Adderly Fong and the Magnus Racing Audi RS 8 LMS of Pierre Kaffer/Spencer Pumpelly rounded out the top five.

GTE Pro-Am honors went to Laurens Vanthoor and James Sofronos in the No. 14 GMG Racing Porsche 911 GT3 R. On the GTE Pro-Am side, the class win went to Henrique Cisneros and Tyler McQuarrie in the NGT Motorsports Ferrari 458 GT3.

Other class winners were as follows: Allesandro Bressan and Yuki Harata (GT Cup Pro-Am), Joe Toussaint and Cory Friedman (GT Cup Am-Am),  Ernie Francis Jr. and James Pesek (GTS Pro-Am), and Greg Liefooghe and Aristotle Balogh (GTS Am-Am),


Lieb to join Wright Motorsports for SprintX at Lime Rock

Parente, Barnicoat, McLaren, K-PAX Racing Combination Expected to be Favorites in Lime Rock