CRA: I-70 race notes 2005-20-01

Jeff Lane Wins The Kenny's Tile World Cup 150 At I-70 Speedway Odessa, MO (October 3, 2005) -- Knightstown, Indiana's Jeff Lane patiently worked his way from his seventh place starting position to take the lead from veteran short track ...

CRA: I-70 race notes 2005-20-01
Listen to this article

Jeff Lane Wins The Kenny's Tile World Cup 150 At I-70 Speedway

Odessa, MO (October 3, 2005) -- Knightstown, Indiana's Jeff Lane patiently worked his way from his seventh place starting position to take the lead from veteran short track racer Steve Carlson on lap 120 and led the rest of the way to win Saturday night's Kenny's Tile World Cup 150 at the famed I-70 Speedway in Odessa, Missouri. Lane had to fight off a hard charging Eddie Hoffman who had also worked his way past Carlson in the late laps. Hoffman was glued to Lane's bumper over the last 10 laps, but was never able to make the pass. Hoffman finished a close second only .162 seconds behind Lane.

"I started seventh and had to pass some awfully good cars to get up front. I think Eddie (Hoffman) had more than I did after the last red, but I held on and got the win." A happy Lane stated after the race. "The setup package Riev (Bill Rievley) helped us with was awfully good, it was the same as we had last year and it was awesome today."

Third place went to Steve Carlson. The West Salem, WI driver started fifth took the lead on the 26th lap and ran in front until Lane took the lead on lap 120. He earned the Halfway Leader Award. "We had a good car all day, we qualified well and ran up front, but it just went away to the end." Carlson commented. "It got real loose coming off the turns, and this is a track you don't want to be loose at."

Ryan Mathews finished fourth and Sixteen year old Landon Cassill finished fifth. Cassill also earned the Sweet Manufacturing Sweet Move of the Race Award in recognition of several passes on the high side on his march through the field, not once but twice after having to pit to make repairs after being involved in an accident late in the event. He also earned a Hoosier Racing Tire Performance Award.

Five yellow flags and three red flags were displayed during the event due to multiple crashes that tore up several racecars and left only 13 cars running at the end of the race. On the second lap Chuck Barnes Jr. and Chris Gabehart made contact sending Barnes crashing hard into the second turn wall, ending his day, while Gabehart was able to continue. Eddie Van Meter was also caught up in the accident, but after taking the body metal off the front end he continued and finished 12th four laps off the pace.

Another hard hit on lap 60 brought out another red flag when the pole sitter Matt Merrell and Jeremy Miller were knocked out. Merrell was the seventh fastest qualifier in his second late model race. On lap 118 Johnny Belott, who had led the first 26 laps of the race, slid into the tire barrier that protects the drivers from the end of the pit wall. Seven cars were involved in the accident on the track as the drivers stopped hard in an attempt to avoid the other cars on the track.

Tim Sibila moved from the 30th starting position to finish 10th, one lap down. He lost his lap in the last five laps as Hoffman pushed Lane for the lead. For his effort Sibila earned the ISKY Racing Cams/Lane Automotive Hard Charger Award, the Racing Electronics Most Improved Position Award and a Hoosier Racing Tire Performance Award.

Jeff Lane was the Bicycle Clay Poker Chips/Menards Fast Qualifier setting a new track record in the process. Lane's crew Chief Hayden Butler won the Marvel Mystery oil Mechanic of the Race Award. Jason Shively was the Cometic Gasket Rookie Of The Race Award winner finishing eighth in a very strong field. Bull Baker was awarded the Leaf Race Products Tough Luck Award after his throttle stuck during the days first practice session sending his car hard into the turn one wall destroying his racecar and ending his day.

39 cars were at the track, with 37 making a qualifying attempt. The top twenty were locked in through qualifying. Kenny Tweedy won the Last Chance race to earn a starting spot, he then worked his way up to seventh in the feature for his ninth Top Ten finish of 2005. Patrick Lawson, Joe Ross, Jon Knoll, Steve Holt, Chris Mikesell, and Dave Wilson also earn a starting position via the Last Chance Race. Billy Crane, racing in front of a hometown crowd, and Tim Sibila were in via CRA Super Series Owners Points. Kevin Foster and Brian Woods were taken as Promoter's Options to round out the field, they were the top two in points of the I-70 Speedway late models that had not made the race. Tracy Killian, Richard Nieman, Casey Walter, Bert Klever, Bob Williams and Bull Baker did not make the feature event.

Eddie Hoffman kept his TK Racing Team in the lead of the series Owner's Point Championship chase with his second place finish. The team's lead over Lane shrank from 30 points to 17 with two races to go. With the victory Lane retook the lead in series Driver's Points, now leading Eddie Van Meter by 33 points and Bobby Parsley by 37 points. Hoffman is currently fourth in the Driver's Point chase, 58 points behind Lane.

The next CRA Super Series presented by Spray Power event is the Salem 100 at the 2nd Annual CRA Salem Speedfest at Salem Speedway on October 23. For more information visit the CRA website at


CRA: I-70 race summary
Previous article

CRA: I-70 race summary

Next article

USAR: Mansfield CS: Chamipionship round two preview

USAR: Mansfield CS: Chamipionship round two preview
Load comments