New Egypt Speedway Results 8/28

New Egypt, NJ (Aug 28) -- Leading from green to checker, Ivyland, PA’s Tim Tanner Jr. held off the determined charges of the best in the business, Kenny Brightbill and Billy Pauch, to take his first Modified feature win of the season at the New ...

New Egypt Speedway Results 8/28

New Egypt, NJ (Aug 28) -- Leading from green to checker, Ivyland, PA’s Tim Tanner Jr. held off the determined charges of the best in the business, Kenny Brightbill and Billy Pauch, to take his first Modified feature win of the season at the New Egypt Speedway Saturday night. In the companion URC Sprint feature, Greg Coverdale of Milford, DE, scored his fourth victory in his last six tries at the Central Jersey oval.

Tanner Jr. took charge of the 25-lap Modified run from the pole with Rick Grosso Jr. in pursuit. Tanner retained control through a couple of early cautions, with division point leader Kenny Brightbill moving up to challenge at the halfway point. Nine-time feature winner Billy Pauch shot his mount into third, and all sights were set on the lead car of Tanner Jr. Brightbill closed the gap on the Tanner Dairy Store #18 with Pauch chasing. But Tanner held his line, even with the two hungry veterans hounding him, and worked lapped traffic to his advantage and stayed in front through to the finish for the win. Racing across the line for fourth behind Tanner, Brightbill and Pauch was Mike Hendershot with Larry McVay claiming fifth.

A wild end-over-end flip by Mike Haggenbottom forced a complete restart at the drop of the green in the 25-lap URC Sprint main. Haggenbottom was not injured but his new mount sustained extensive damage. On the rego, Dave Gable grabbed the lead from the point with Greg Coverdale in pursuit. Coverdale took command on lap 4 when Gable drifted wide in turn #4, and opened a lead as he worked slower traffic with ease en route to the checker. Gable claimed second, his best run to date, followed by Brian Seidel, Jeremy Trout and Jon Eldreth.

Mt Laurel, NJ’s Jack Swain survived a caution-plagued Sportsman feature event for his second score of the ’99 campaign. Starting tenth, Swain worked early leader Chris Wasson and grabbed the point with an inside charge down the back straight on lap 5. J.C. Mears moved up to second to chase down Swain but ultimately had to settle for second. Larry Lippincott, Larry Archer and Bob Worthington rounded out the top five.

Waging a torrid two-car battle with 1998 division champ Jeff Carpenter for the lead, Brick, NJ’s Ralph Gargiulo came out on top for his fifth Street Stock feature win of the season. Carpenter led early with Gargiulo challenging and moving out front for the win with four laps remaining. Trailing the top two were Billy Bauma, Mick Search and Pat Conaway.

New Egypt resident Mandy Von Schmidt was crowned the new Miss New Egypt Speedway for the year 2000. One lucky fan collected $2,580 in the nightly 50/50 drawing.

Next week it’s Wawa Food Markets Night with the Modifieds and Sportsman in action and the Street Stocks squaring off in a 20-lap feature which will award double points. Gates open at 4 pm, warm-ups are at 6 pm and the first heat gets underway at 6:30 pm. Adult admission is $12, children 7-12 are $4, and 6 and under are free.

MODIFIED RESULTS 1st Heat: 1.McVay 2.Bitner (DNQ) 3.Tanner Sr. 4.Butler 5.Wismer III 6.Miller (DNQ) 2nd Heat: 1.Pauch 2.Leach 3.Hendershot 4.Laureno 5.Drayton 6.Carberry 3rd Heat: 1.Tanner Jr. 2.Bohn 3.Brightbill 4.Grosso Jr. 5.Hager 6.Singer ‘B’ Main: 1.VanGorder 2.Cranmer 3.Bitner 4.Singley 5.Huchko 6.Grbac 7.Hawkes 8.Velenger (Fans Prov: Art Adams) Feature (25 laps): 1.Tim Tanner Jr. 2.Kenny Brightbill 3.Billy Pauch 4.Mike Hendershot 5.Larry McVay 6.Mark Bitner 7.Rick Grosso Jr. 8.Scott VanGorder 9.Tom Hager 10.Gary Velenger 11.Roger Laureno 12.Todd Singley 13.John Leach 14.Bob Drayton 15.Eddie Cranmer 16.Gary Butler 17.Ken Wismer III 18.Tim Tanner Sr. 19.Eddie Bohn 20.Howard Singer 21.Chris Grbac 22.Art Adams 23.Jim Hawkes 24.Kenny Huchko 25.Tom Carberry. DNQ: Art Taylor, Jeff Miller, Jerry Glenn, Danny Hieber.

SPORTSMAN RESULTS 1st Heat: 1.Brightbill 2.Mears 3.Lippincott 4.Marra Sr. 5.Cooke 2nd Heat: 1.Papiez 2.Roth 3.Worthington 4.Infante 5.Holsten 3rd Heat: 1.Scagliotta 2.Singley 3.Eppolite 4.Dallett 5.Wasson 4th Heat: 1.Kline 2.Archer 3.Hendershot 4.Swain 5.Dixon 1st ‘B’ Main: 1.Coffey 2.Burke 3.Robbins 4.Flesch 2nd ‘B’ Main: 1.Koczon 2.Gareis 3.Sarvis 4.Kessler Feature (15 Laps): 1.Jack Swain 2.Larry Archer 3.Larry Lippincott 4.Bob Worthington 5.JC Mears 6.Kenny Roth 7.Joe Sarvis 8.Matt Papiez 9.Rich Scagliotta 10.Mickey Kessler 11.Scott Singley 12.Bryan Coffey 13.Tom Eppolite 14.Chuck Flesch 15.Rocco Infante 16.Tim Burke 17.Brien Ely 18.John Dixon 19.Ron John Koczon 20.Paul Marra Sr. 21.Kim Cooke 22.Chris Wasson 23.Jim Dallett 24.Donnie Kline 25.George Gareis 26.Keith Brightbill 27.Dick Robbins 28.Rick Holsten. DNQ: Keith McIntyre, Pat Priore, Rob Pfister, Lee Taylor Jr., John Scheideler, Lewie Parker, Tom Tomasko, Richie Cass Sr., Mike Mongiello III, Scott Reid, Brian Lamparter, Jim Rossell, Mike Toth, Lee Lawrence, Joe Szwed, Bryant Brown, Jimmy Harris, Jimmy Spence, Larry Reed, Mike Krachen, Art Liedl.

STREET STOCK RESULTS ‘B’ Main: 1.Flores 2.Knighten 3.Force 4.Wagner 5.Guker 6.Grant 7.Goff Feature (15 laps): 1.Ralph Gargiulo 2.Jeff Carpenter 3.Billy Bauma 4.Pat Conaway 5.Mick Search 6.Billy Bauer 7.Kenny Guyer 8.Anthony Knighten 9.George Quinlan 10.Brian Wagner 11.Chip Grant 12.Ricky Goff 13.Kevin Bifulco 14.Jay Morrison 15.Richie Byrne 16.Mike Nixon 17.Kenny Hammond 18.Blair Guker III 19.Bill Force 20.Al Cheney III 21.Pat Freiberger 22.Steve Mongiello 23.Keith Flores 24.Evan Berardi 25.Carol Whitehouse 26.Bruce Leote. DNQ: Kory Fleming, Jim Hewitt, Allen Hurley, Paul Johnson, Spider Ensinger, Bill Miscoski, Nick Giris, Steve Gallmayer, Joe Mongeau.

URC SPRINT CAR RESULTS 1st Heat: 1.Pauch 2.Coyle 3.Purcell 4.Eldreth 5.Miller 2nd Heat: 1.Coverdale 2.Martin 3.Massey 4.McGough 5.Clarke 3rd Heat: 1.Gable 2.Trout 3.Ellis 4.Higgins 5.Staats 4th Heat: 1.Michael 2.Haggenbottom 3.Stitzel (DNQ) 4.Hogue (DNQ) 5.Seidel 6.Anderson 7.Jones 1st ‘B’ Main: 1.Rittenhouse 2.Barnett 2nd ‘B’ Main: 1.Wise 2.Kennedy Feature (25 laps): 1.Greg Coverdale 2.Dave Gable 3.Brian Seidel 4.Jeremy Trout 5.Jon Eldreth 6.Scott Purcell 7.Jimmy Martin 8.Billy Ellis 9.Becca Anderson 10.Glen Clarke 11.Dave McGough 12.Ray Staats 13.Chris Coyle 14.Tim Higgins 15.John Barnett 16.Kyle Jones 17.Dan Massey 18.Todd Wise 19.Midge Miller 20.Todd Rittenhouse 21.Fred Kennedy 22.Billy Pauch 23.Mike Haggenbottom 24.Sean Michael DNQ: Wayne Patterson, Tim Hogue, Ian Borden, Gary Thayer, Kevin Kelly, Fran Hogue, Larry Lamey, Steve Struble, Scott Baker, Bill Courtwright, Travis Quinn, Jim Walter, Bill Fannasy, Howard Singer, Jimmy Stitzel.

Western Racing League Calgary Results
Previous article

Western Racing League Calgary Results

Next article

Autodrome Granby Results 1999-08-28

Autodrome Granby Results 1999-08-28
Load comments