Honda to field Haryanto in Super Formula rookie test

Honda will field former Formula 1 driver Rio Haryanto in the Super Formula rookie and manufacturer test next month, it has been announced.

Honda to field Haryanto in Super Formula rookie test
Listen to this article

Haryanto has been left without a grand prix drive since he was dismissed from Manor 12 races into the 2016 F1 season over lack of funds.

The Indonesian tested a Formula E car in September and suggested that the all-electric series was his only option, but further opportunities in the championship are yet to materialise.

Making his first foray into Super Formula, Haryanto will drive an official Honda test car at the Suzuka circuit between December 6-7.

The 24-year-old will share duties with Japanese F3 race winner Hiroki Ohtsu in the #5 SF14.

Among other rookies in the entry list, GP3 racer Nirei Fukuzumi, who is set to graduate to Formula 2 with Arden next year, will test for Mugen alongside team’s regular driver Naoki Yamamoto, effectively taking the place vacated by Pierre Gasly.

F2 drivers Ralph Boschung and Alex Palou will drive for Team LeMans and Nakajima Racing respectively, while James Rossiter would make his Super Formula comeback after a one-year hiatus.

Rossiter will test for frontunning TOM’S team, the same outfit with which he’s won six races in Super GT since 2013.

Gunther added to line-up

European F3 frontrunner Maximilian Gunther has become the latest addition to the Super Formula test line-up, joining Team LeMans.

He will share the car with multiple-time Indy Lights race winner Felix Serralles over the course of the two-day test. 

Following Team LeMans' announcement, only two spots remain vacant on the entry list, with Dandelion yet to announce any of its drivers.

 Rookie test line-up:



 Yuji Kunimoto

 Yuichi Nakayama


2  Hiroaki Ishiura Inging
3  Nick Cassidy Kondo Racing
4  Kenta Yamashita Kondo Racing

 Maximilian Gunther

 Felix Serralles

Team LeMans

 Ralph Boschung

 Kazuya Oshima

Team LeMans
10  Koudai Tsukakoshi Real Racing
15  Nirei Fukuzumi Mugen
16  Naoki Yamamoto Mugen
18  Kamui Kobayashi KCMG

 Yuhi Sekiguchi

 Ryo Hirakawa


 Jann Mardenborough

 Yu Kanamaru


 Andre Lotterer

 James Rossiter

37  Kazuki Nakajima TOM'S
40 TBA Dandelion
41 TBA Dandelion

 Daiki Sasaki

 Mitsunori Takaboshi

B-Max Racing 

 Daisuke Nakajima

 Alex Palou

Nakajima Racing
65  Narain Karthikeyan Nakajima Racing

 Hiroki Ohtsu

 Rio Haryanto

Honda Test Car
Rosenqvist: Lost Sugo win cost me Super Formula title
Previous article

Rosenqvist: Lost Sugo win cost me Super Formula title

Next article

Sekiguchi tops first Super Formula test day

Sekiguchi tops first Super Formula test day
Load comments