Sign up for free

  • Get quick access to your favorite articles

  • Manage alerts on breaking news and favorite drivers

  • Make your voice heard with article commenting.

Motorsport prime

Discover premium content


Breaking news

De Oliveira to defend Super GT GT300 title with Nissan

Joao Paulo de Oliveira will remain in SUPER GT's GT300 class this year to defend his title with Nissan partner team Kondo Racing.

#56 Kondo Racing Nissan GT-R NISMO GT3: Kiyoto Fujinami, Joao Paulo de Oliveira

The Brazilian will continue his partnership with Kiyoto Fujinami at the wheel of Kondo's Nissan GT-R NISMO GT3 after the pair won the championship in their first season as teammates.

It will be de OIiveira's third season in the GT300 ranks after being dropped from Nissan's GT500 roster at the end of the 2018 season.

Read Also:

Fujinami had been tipped for a potential promotion to the top class for this year but ultimately missed out following an audition at Fuji Speedway in December.

Also part of that evaluation test were Keishi Ishikawa and Hironobu Yasuda, both of whom will likewise remain in the GT300 ranks with Nissan squad Gainer.

In an unchanged line-up in both Gainer cars, Ishikawa is joined in the #10 entry by Kazuki Hoshino, while Yasuda once again teams up with Katsuyuki Hiranaka in the #11 car.

One significant change however is that both of the team's cars will be on Dunlop tyres, with the #10 having previously used Yokohamas. The Kondo car, which will again carry the #56 this year, continues to use Yokohama rubber.

Two more Nissan GT-Rs will appear on the GT300 grid, with NILZZ Racing and RUNUP (formerly Tomei Sports) campaigning a single car each. Yuki Tanaka and Taiyou Iida return for NILZZ, while Takayuki Aoki, Atsushi Tanaka and newcomer Yudai Uchida share duties for RUNUP.

Nissan's announcement of its GT300 partner team line-ups made no mention of Jann Mardenborough, who has been axed from the marque's GT500 roster for 2021.

Read Also:

Yanagida switches to Arnage

Earlier this week, it was announced that Masataka Yanagida will be joining Masaki Kano at the wheel of Arnage Racing's Mercedes-AMG GT3 for the new season.

Two-time GT500 champion Yanagida had been left without a drive following the merger of his previous team, Cars Tokai Dream28, with Inging Motorsport.

Kano raced with three different teammates last year, failing to score points all year, although he did finish 11th in the Fuji Speedway season finale alongside Hideto Yasuoka.



Photo by: GTA

GT300 teams and drivers so far:

No. Team Car Tyre Drivers
2 Inging & Cars Tokai Dream28 Lotus Evora MC Bridgestone

Hiroki Katoh

Ryohei Sakaguchi

4 Goodsmile Racing with Team Ukyo Mercedes-AMG GT3 Yokohama

Nobuteru Taniguchi

Tatsuya Kataoka

6 Team LeMans with Motoyama Racing Audi R8 LMS Yokohama

Satoshi Motoyama

Yoshiaki Katayama

10 Gainer Nissan GT-R NISMO GT3 Dunlop

Kazuki Hoshino

Keishi Ishikawa

11 Gainer Nissan GT-R NISMO GT3 Dunlop

Katsuyuki Hiranaka

Hironobu Yasuda

18 Team UpGarage Honda NSX GT3 Yokohama

Teppei Natori

Takashi Kobayashi

25 Team Tsuchiya Porsche 911 GT3 R Yokohama

Takamitsu Matsui

Kimiya Sato

30 apr Toyota Prius GHV GR Sport Yokohama

Hiroaki Nagai

Manabu Orido

31 apr Toyota Prius GHV GR Sport Bridgestone

Yuhki Nakayama

Koki Saga

35 Team Thailand Lexus RC F GT3 Yokohama

Sean Walkinshaw*

Giuliano Alesi*

48 NILZZ Racing Nissan GT-R NISMO GT3 Yokohama

Taiyou Iida

Yuki Tanaka

50 Arnage Racing Mercedes-AMG GT3 Yokohama

Masaki Kano

Masataka Yanagida

52 Saitama Toyopet Green Brave Toyota GR Supra GT300 Bridgestone

Hiroki Yoshida

Kohta Kawaai

55 ARTA Honda NSX GT3 Bridgestone

Shinichi Takagi

Ren Sato

56 Kondo Racing Nissan GT-R NISMO GT3 Yokohama

Kiyoto Fujinami

Joao Paulo de Oliveira

60 LM Corsa Toyota GR Supra GT300 Dunlop

Hiroki Yoshimoto

Shunsuke Kohno

61 R&D Sport Subaru BRZ (2021) Dunlop

Takuto Iguchi*

Hideki Yamauchi*

65 LEON Racing Mercedes-AMG GT3 Bridgestone

Naoya Gamou

Togo Suganami

96 K-Tunes Racing (LM Corsa) Lexus RC F GT3 Dunlop

Morio Nitta

Sena Sakaguchi

244 Max Racing  Toyota GR Supra GT300 Yokohama

Yuui Tsutsumi

Atsushi Miyake

360 RUNUP (Tomei Sports) Nissan GT-R NISMO GT3 Yokohama

Takayuki Aoki

Atsushi Tanaka

Yudai Uchida

* not officially announced

Be part of Motorsport community

Join the conversation
Previous article Super GT cancels Thailand, Malaysia races for 2021
Next article Drago Corse seals Super GT grid spot with new backer

Top Comments

There are no comments at the moment. Would you like to write one?

Sign up for free

  • Get quick access to your favorite articles

  • Manage alerts on breaking news and favorite drivers

  • Make your voice heard with article commenting.

Motorsport prime

Discover premium content