Tata Prima set for biggest grid as ETRC drivers join one-make series

The Tata T1 Prima Truck Racing Championship will make its fourth visit to the Buddh International Circuit this weekend, with 32 Indian and international truckers set to take part across various classes.

Tata Prima set for biggest grid as ETRC drivers join one-make series
Tata T1 Prima track action
Tata T1 Prima track action
Tony Smith
Tony Smith, Ben Horne and Ray Coleman
Grid girls for Paul McCumisky
Tata T1 Prima trucks in the pitlane
Richard Collett
Simon Cole
Track action
Jagat Singh leads the field
Paul McCumisky and Matt Summerfield
David Jenkins
Matt Summerfield
Paul McCumisky, Matt Summerfield and David Jenkins
Tata T1 Prima grid girl
Paul McCumisky
Tata T1 Prima track action
Listen to this article

As Tata’s annual truck racing event grows in size, the grid for the Indian and international class is also expanding.

20 Indian drivers have been selected through Tata’s T1 Racer programme, with the field equally divided into Champion and Super Class.

For the Champion class, 16 drivers have been shortlisted from last year’s Trials round, with the list to be trimmed down to 10 based on further training sessions at the BIC.

The Super class, meanwhile, has been formulated to recruit fresh blood, with 17 new drivers selected from 3330+ nominations for further evaluation.  

In all, 20 drivers will represent the Indian tricolour on the grid - a rise of four drivers from the previous season.

The international class will also show a corresponding rise in grid numbers, with the field now comprising of 12 drivers as opposed to 10 in previous seasons.

European Truck Racing Championship (ETRC) drivers will make their debut in the T1 Prima event this year, joining British Truck Racing Championship drivers who have been ever-present in the annual race.

Some of the most notable international drivers on the entry list are three-time ETRC Champion, double ETRC Champion Stephanie Halm and last year’s T1 winner David Jenkins.

1000 bhp truck

Tata Motors will showcase a new 1,040 bhp truck which has been built in collaboration with American diesel engine-maker Cummins Inc.

The new truck - which can possibly replace the current 370 bhp version in coming years - is powered by a 12-litre engine, mated to a 16-speed gearbox.

Tata claims that it can sprint from 0 to 160 km/hr in under 10 seconds, a considerable improvement from the current generation T1 race truck.

Shortlisted Indian drivers (Super class)


Lalasaheb Dattataray Dhaigude

Babar Patangarao Bhagavat

Shivnihal Singh

Gurvinder Singh

Gurujant Singh


Mahendr Pratap Pal

Udai Singh



Mohabat Singh

Vikramjit Singh

Dharminder Singh

Aedl Ajaharuddin


Himanshu Kumar Ray

Lokesh Reddy H G

Shortlisted Indian drivers (Champion class)


Raju Lal Gurjar

Bhag Chand

Malkeet Singh

Randhir Singh

Sangeet Singh

Rabinder Yadav

MD Parvez

Rajkumar Mahato

Chet Ram

Bikash Mahato


Jitendra Singh

Jagat Singh

Nagarjuna A

Gobind Singh

Santosh Bhiwaji Kashid

International drivers


 Antonio Albacete

 David Vrsecky

 Gerd Körber

 Norbert Kiss

 Stephanie Halm

 Thomas Robineau

 David Jenkins

 Ryan Smith

 Shane Brereton

 Adam Bint

 Simon Reid

 Oliver Janes


Grave Digger driver Dennis Anderson injured in crash

Buddh Tata Prima: Pitambar and Nagarjuna take pole in Indian classes