26 Jun
28 Jun
Event finished
17 Jul
19 Jul
Next event in
4 days
Hidden Valley
07 Aug
09 Aug
Next event in
25 days
28 Aug
30 Aug
Next event in
46 days
18 Sep
20 Sep
Next event in
67 days
08 Oct
11 Oct
Next event in
87 days
30 Oct
01 Nov
Next event in
109 days
20 Nov
22 Nov
Next event in
130 days
11 Dec
13 Dec
Next event in
151 days

Perth Supercars: Coulthard beats McLaughlin in first night race

Perth Supercars: Coulthard beats McLaughlin in first night race
May 3, 2019, 11:47 AM

Fabian Coulthard beat teammate Scott McLaughlin to victory in the opening Supercars night race at Barbagallo Raceway.

For the second race in a row Coulthard led a DJR Team Penske one-two, scoring consecutive wins for the first time since Symmons Plains/Phillip Island in the early part of the 2017 season.

Polesitter McLaughlin made a slow getaway from the dirty side of the grid, which not only allowed Coulthard to comfortably sweep into the lead, but also let Whincup – who started behind McLaughlin in third – to sneak into second.

It got worse for McLaughlin on the way out of Turn 1 as well, Chaz Mostert barging his way by on the run to the circuit's sole left-hander and relegating the Penske Ford to fourth.

On Lap 3 McLaughlin reclaimed third spot with a well-executed move on Mostert into the last corner, before quickly closing up on back of Whincup.

The Red Bull Holden proved a little tougher to pass, however, with Coulthard waltzing to a 2s lead as McLaughlin was stuck in third.

On Lap 15 McLaughlin made his stop in the search for clear air.

The undercut attempt was partially successful, Whincup coming out behind McLaughlin after serving his stop on Lap 18, while Coulthard went a lap longer and was able to retain the effective lead.

Whincup did have one crack at reclaiming second, using traffic to nose up the inside of McLaughlin at Turn 6 several laps after the stops. But McLaughlin did just enough to stave off the brief challenge.

After that the top two settled into a rhythm, Coulthard leading McLaughlin by between 1.5-2s.

It effectively stayed that way until the finish too, Coulthard's winning margin over his teammate 2.2s.

As the second stint wore on Whincup slowly slipped back to around 6s behind the leader, which meant he eventually fell into Mostert's clutches. With eight laps to go Mostert got by into third, a position he'd hold until the end.

Whincup soon found himself under attack again, this time from his teammate Shane van Gisbergen.

Having run a long first stint, only stopping on Lap 27, van Gisbergen had the better tyre life in the closing laps. Triple Eight asked Whincup to let the Kiwi go, but Whincup was in no mood to hand over the position, arguing that van Gisbergen wouldn't catch Mostert anyway.

The two Red Bull Holdens then staged a thrilling battle over the final three laps, Whincup just hanging on to fourth.

McLaughlin continues to lead the standings by 112 points over Coulthard.


Cla Driver Car Time Gap
1 New Zealand Fabian Coulthard
Ford Mustang GT
2 New Zealand Scott McLaughlin
Ford Mustang GT 2.2225
3 Australia Chaz Mostert
Ford Mustang GT 7.9250
4 Australia Jamie Whincup
Holden Commodore ZB 12.6646
5 New Zealand Shane van Gisbergen
Holden Commodore ZB 13.3391
6 Australia Will Davison
Ford Mustang GT 16.4758
7 Australia Nick Percat
Holden Commodore ZB 19.4497
8 Australia Cameron Waters
Ford Mustang GT 20.2490
9 Australia Lee Holdsworth
Ford Mustang GT 20.5547
10 Australia David Reynolds
Holden Commodore ZB 21.7414
11 Australia Tim Slade
Holden Commodore ZB 22.2407
12 Switzerland Simona de Silvestro
Nissan Altima L33 34.6216
13 Australia Anton De Pasquale
Holden Commodore ZB 36.5647
14 Australia James Golding
Holden Commodore ZB 38.0472
15 Australia Rick Kelly
Nissan Altima L33 38.9261
16 Australia Scott Pye
Holden Commodore ZB 39.5185
17 New Zealand Andre Heimgartner
Nissan Altima L33 40.8779
18 Australia Mark Winterbottom
Holden Commodore ZB 42.1607
19 Garry Jacobson
Nissan Altima L33 50.2265
20 Australia Jack Le Brocq
Holden Commodore ZB 50.8036
21 Australia Tim Blanchard
Holden Commodore ZB 52.2607
22 New Zealand Richie Stanaway
Holden Commodore ZB 52.6002
23 Australia Todd Hazelwood
Holden Commodore ZB 1 lap
24 Australia Macauley Jones
Holden Commodore ZB 1 lap
25 Australia James Courtney
Holden Commodore ZB 1 lap
Next article
Perth Supercars: McLaughlin takes pole with record lap

Previous article

Perth Supercars: McLaughlin takes pole with record lap

Next article

Triple Eight clarifies Whincup team orders snub

Triple Eight clarifies Whincup team orders snub
Load comments

About this article

Series Supercars
Event Barbagallo
Drivers Fabian Coulthard
Teams DJR Team Penske
Author Andrew van Leeuwen