26 Jun
28 Jun
Event finished
17 Jul
19 Jul
Event finished
07 Aug
09 Aug
Event finished
Hidden Valley II
15 Aug
16 Aug
Next event in
11 days
28 Aug
30 Aug
Next event in
24 days
18 Sep
20 Sep
Next event in
45 days
08 Oct
11 Oct
Next event in
65 days
30 Oct
01 Nov
Next event in
87 days
Symmons Plains
20 Nov
22 Nov
Next event in
108 days
11 Dec
13 Dec
Next event in
129 days

Pukekohe Supercars: Reynolds takes provisional Sunday pole

Pukekohe Supercars: Reynolds takes provisional Sunday pole
Nov 3, 2018, 10:38 PM

David Reynolds will run last in the Top 10 Shootout at Pukekohe after topping qualifying.

The Erebus driver won out in a late-session battle with title contenders Shane van Gisbergen and Scott McLaughlin, earning the right to run last in the single-lap Shootout that will determine the first 10 grid spots.

McLaughlin was the only man to break the 1m03s barrier on the first runs, going clear at the top with a 1m02.914s.

As the session neared its midway point Cam Waters took over top spot with a 1m02.875s, however the Tickford driver was quickly displaced first by McLaughlin's 1m02.858s and then Reynolds' 1m02.733s.

The session was briefly interrupted with nine minutes to go by Todd Hazelwood nudging the wall at Turn 4, Kiwis Fabian Coulthard and Richie Stanaway both jumping into the Top 10 straight after the restart.

With three minutes to go van Gisbergen made his play for first top, edging Reynolds by 0.01s wth a 1m02.719s. But the Erebus driver had an immediate answer, reclaiming top spot with a 1m02.644s next time round.

Read Also:

McLaughlin had one last go at knocking Reynolds off provisional pole right at the flag, but fell 0.02s short as he split the top two.

“We’re still such a new team that we’re learning heaps every time we go out,” said Reynolds.

“We learnt from each tyre set then, the car was improving. We weren’t going to go out [for a final run] but we wanted to try something for the Shootout and the race.

“I’ve got another set of tyres for the Shootout, but it’s going to be really hard, one-lap around here, to get the temperature into it.”

Jamie Whincup ended up fourth having been outside the Top 10 with three minutes to go, followed by Chaz Mostert and Coulthard.

Anton De Pasquale put together an impressive two-lap stint at the end to join teammate Reynolds in the 10, ahead of Tickford pair Stanaway and Cam Waters.

Andre Heimgartner secured the final spot in the Shootout, knocking Craig Lowndes down to 11th as he ensured all five Kiwis in the field will take part in the one-lap dash.

Cla # Driver Car Time Gap
1 9 Australia David Reynolds Holden Commodore ZB 1'02.6449  
2 17 New Zealand Scott McLaughlin Ford Falcon FG X 1'02.6706 0.0257
3 97 New Zealand Shane van Gisbergen Holden Commodore ZB 1'02.7197 0.0748
4 1 Australia Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore ZB 1'02.7224 0.0775
5 55 Australia Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG X 1'02.7753 0.1304
6 12 New Zealand Fabian Coulthard Ford Falcon FG X 1'02.8428 0.1979
7 99 Australia Anton De Pasquale Holden Commodore ZB 1'02.8483 0.2034
8 56 New Zealand Richie Stanaway Ford Falcon FG X 1'02.8648 0.2199
9 6 Australia Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG X 1'02.8750 0.2301
10 7 New Zealand Andre Heimgartner Nissan Altima 1'02.9015 0.2566
11 888 Australia Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore ZB 1'02.9226 0.2777
12 14 Australia Tim Slade Holden Commodore ZB 1'02.9230 0.2781
13 8 Australia Nick Percat Holden Commodore ZB 1'03.0480 0.4031
14 5 Australia Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG X 1'03.0507 0.4058
15 21 Australia Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore ZB 1'03.1316 0.4867
16 78 Switzerland Simona de Silvestro Nissan Altima 1'03.1411 0.4962
17 15 Australia Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 1'03.1506 0.5057
18 18 Australia Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore ZB 1'03.1936 0.5487
19 23 Australia Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 1'03.1995 0.5546
20 2 Australia Scott Pye Holden Commodore ZB 1'03.2345 0.5896
21 25 Australia James Courtney Holden Commodore ZB 1'03.2491 0.6042
22 230 Australia Will Davison Ford Falcon FG X 1'03.3083 0.6634
23 33 Australia Garth Tander Holden Commodore ZB 1'03.3175 0.6726
24 34 Australia James Golding Holden Commodore ZB 1'03.3603 0.7154
25 19 Australia Jack Le Brocq Holden Commodore ZB 1'03.4598 0.8149
26 35 Australia Todd Hazelwood Ford Falcon FG X 1'03.8649 1.2200
Penske, Triple Eight await protest decision

Previous article

Penske, Triple Eight await protest decision

Next article

In-car footage of van Gisbergen, McLaughlin park-in emerges

In-car footage of van Gisbergen, McLaughlin park-in emerges
Load comments

About this article

Series Supercars
Event Auckland
Author Andrew van Leeuwen