25 Jun
Event finished
12 Jul
Event finished
15 Aug
Practice 1 in
5 days
28 Aug
Next event in
18 days
Townsville II
05 Sep
Next event in
26 days
18 Sep
Next event in
39 days
08 Oct
Next event in
59 days
30 Oct
Next event in
81 days
Symmons Plains
20 Nov
Next event in
102 days
11 Dec
Next event in
123 days

Sydney Supercars: Le Brocq wins four-way thriller

Sydney Supercars: Le Brocq wins four-way thriller
Jul 19, 2020, 6:04 AM

Jack Le Brocq took his first Supercars win after a thrilling four-way battle at Sydney Motorsport Park.

The Tickford Racing driver found himself in contention for the win after saving his two sets of soft tyres, however it still didn't come easy.

Andre Heimgartner, Todd Hazelwood and David Reynolds all did likes, the foursome staging a thrilling battle for victory in the second stint as they all crossed the line within 1.4s of each other.

Le Brocq initially ran fourth in the opening stint of the race, before passing Mark Winterbottom to move into third shortly before the stops.

He then used an undercut to get by early leaders Heimgartner and Reynolds, stopping on Lap 11, a lap earlier than the others, allowing him to sneak into the lead.

It was hardly job done for Le Brocq, however; he was never able to properly shake Heimgartner, while Reynolds was a little more patient on his second tyre set, which brought him into the game in the final third of the race.

Further complicating the run home was a hard-charging Todd Hazelwood, who found himself in the thick of the lead battle for the last few laps.

That ultimately worked in Le Brocq's favour, the chaotic battle for second allowing him to break by just six-tenths on the final lap to secure his first Supercars victory.

"I don't know, it hasn't really sunk in yet," he said when asked how the win felt. 

"I don't really know what to feel at the moment.

"Andre kept me honest the whole time. I could see Davey was catching us, obviously he was playing a longer game. 

"I probably used a bit too much of my tyre on that first lap out the gate, just to try and undercut these guys. The last five laps I was in trouble, I was just hanging on. I got to the end somehow."

Heimgartner came home second, while Todd Hazelwood barged past Reynolds just four corners from home to snare his first Supercars podium.

Team 18 pair Scott Pye and Mark Winterbottom were best of the rest in fifth and sixth, followed by Bryce Fullwood, Jamie Whincup, Chaz Mostert and Zane Goddard.

Kiwi trio Shane van Gisbergen, Fabian Coulthard and Scott McLaughlin came home 12th, 13th and 14th after struggling through the race on hard tyres.

Van Gisbergen actually made decent ground from his 22nd starting spot, while McLaughlin tried a set of used softs for the first stint that saw him plummet back through the field.

However he's still emerged from the SMP weekend with a very healthy championship lead, the gap now 107 points over Whincup.

Supercars Sydney Supersprint - Race 3 results:

Cla # Driver Car Gap
1 55 Australia Jack Le Brocq
Ford Mustang GT
2 7 New Zealand Andre Heimgartner
Ford Mustang GT 0.621
3 14 Australia Todd Hazelwood
Holden Commodore ZB 0.812
4 9 Australia David Reynolds
Holden Commodore ZB 1.489
5 20 Australia Scott Pye
Holden Commodore ZB 8.623
6 18 Australia Mark Winterbottom
Holden Commodore ZB 12.807
7 2 Australia Bryce Fullwood
Holden Commodore ZB 14.161
8 88 Australia Jamie Whincup
Holden Commodore ZB 14.884
9 25 Australia Chaz Mostert
Holden Commodore ZB 24.174
10 34 Australia Zane Goddard
Holden Commodore ZB 28.600
11 8 Australia Nick Percat
Holden Commodore ZB 46.567
12 97 New Zealand Shane van Gisbergen
Holden Commodore ZB 53.440
13 12 New Zealand Fabian Coulthard
Ford Mustang GT 54.547
14 17 New Zealand Scott McLaughlin
Ford Mustang GT 58.598
15 5 Australia Lee Holdsworth
Ford Mustang GT 1'04.245
16 44 Australia James Courtney
Ford Mustang GT 1'08.203
17 15 Australia Rick Kelly
Ford Mustang GT 1'09.426
18 6 Australia Cameron Waters
Ford Mustang GT 1'11.225
19 99 Australia Anton De Pasquale
Holden Commodore ZB 1'11.566
20 19 Australia Alex Davison
Holden Commodore ZB 1'12.324
21 4 Australia Jack Smith
Holden Commodore ZB 1'13.313
22 22 New Zealand Chris Pither
Holden Commodore ZB 1'16.947
23 3 Australia Macauley Jones
Holden Commodore ZB 1'17.150
24 35 Australia Garry Jacobson
Holden Commodore ZB 1'22.179
2020 Supercars Sydney Supersprint and night race results

Previous article

2020 Supercars Sydney Supersprint and night race results

Next article

Most Supercars teams arrive in Queensland

Most Supercars teams arrive in Queensland
Load comments

About this article

Series Supercars
Event Sydney II
Author Andrew van Leeuwen