Elite Racing news 2011-01-17

Australia and Accolades: Meyers is ready to launch 2011 race season as his 2010 success is recognized

The 2011 season has been cleared for takeoff. Jason Meyers has boarded his plane and will soon be touching down in Australia to begin his 2011 racing campaign. While he is preparing to take on the best the land "Down Under," back at home Meyers was given a prestigious award for his 2010 championship season. As the Californian continues to set the bar for West Coast sprint car racers, in 2010 Meyers caught his dream, now it is time to dream on.

On Wednesday January 19, the 2011 season will officially be underway as Jason Meyers climbs into a Steve Caunt Racing KPC for the President's Cup at Avalon Raceway. The Californian's Australian tour will continue as he takes on the King's Challenge at Borderline Speedway on Friday. Then Meyers' "Down Under" expedition will end at The Classic at Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway on Saturday and Sunday.

"This is a great opportunity and I am looking forward to racing in Australia again after taking the last two seasons off," Meyers stated. "I have only been able to race the Classic one other time in my career and I am looking forward to having the opportunity to try and win this race for the first time. I can't think of a better way to start the 2011 season after the amazing 2010 season we had, winning our first World of Outlaw title."

Steve Caunt Racing will be providing Meyers with a new KPC chassis to take on Australia's best. Engines will be provided by Kenny Mac at KRE Engines. A familiar face has been in Australia helping prepare for Meyers' arrival. Elite Racing's Glen Beaton, who hails from Ballarat, Australia, has been at Steve Caunt Racing headquarters preparing the car. With the combination of Beaton's knowledge of the Australian tracks and Meyers driving, it should make for a stout combination.

Meyers has two victories on the Australian dirt. His first came in 2001 at Perth. The Californian's last victory came in 2007 at Parramatta City Raceway when he beat Kerry Madsen, Donny Schatz and Steve Kinser to the finish line.

In addition to taking on Australia's best drivers and a few American Outlaws, The Classic will qualify Meyers for the World Challenge at the 2011 Knoxville Nationals. This will give Elite Racing a chance to win not only one race Nationals weekend, but a second one as he takes on the best drivers in the World.

Meyers named 410 Sprint Car Driver of the Year

On Thursday, the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame released that Jason Meyers has been chosen as the 2010 410 Sprint Car Driver of the Year. Chosen by a voting panel of media members, promoters, sanctioning officials and manufactures, Meyers earned 13 of the 27 first-place ballots. In the end, Meyers took the honors over Tim Shaffer with 2040 points scored.

"For me, here we are about to start the 2011 season and 2010 is still getting better and better," explained Meyers. "To add my name and Elite Racing's to the list of drivers that have won this is really a great honor. To look at the names on that list and to be honored by media members and those who are a part of the Hall of Fame is really incredible. It is something that I will always remember and hopefully be able to do again. That title holds a lot of meaning, almost as much as the Outlaws title, so this is like more icing on an incredible 2010 season."

Meyers became only the eighth driver since 1985 to win this honor. He is also the first driver from California to ever win this award. Meyers joins the following list of esteemed honorees in claiming this honor: Donny Schatz, Steve Kinser, Danny Lasoski, Mark Kinser, Sammy Swindell, Dave Blaney, and Doug Wolfgang who was elected the first driver of the year by the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame.

-source: er

Series to sanction 2011 Knoxville Nationals

Previous article

Series to sanction 2011 Knoxville Nationals

Next article

Series adds Delta Bowl Speedway to 2011 schedule

Series adds Delta Bowl Speedway to 2011 schedule
Load comments