Estoril WSBK: Razgatlioglu leads Yamaha 1-2-3 in Superpole race

Yamaha rider Toprak Razgatlioglu scored his second successive victory in the Estoril season finale with a dominant performance in Sunday’s Superpole race.

Estoril WSBK: Razgatlioglu leads Yamaha 1-2-3 in Superpole race
Listen to this article

From pole, Razgatlioglu made a rapid start to lead the field into Turn 1, with GRT Yamaha’s Garrett Gerloff overtaking factory Honda rider Leon Haslam to slot into second.

From there, the Turkish rider enjoyed an untroubled run to the finish as he broke the circuit lap record, taking the chequered flag by a commanding margin of two seconds.

Gerloff likewise stayed well clear of the chasing pack to finish second, securing a third podium finish of his rookie season - and second in a row.

The fight for the final spot on the podium was fought hard between Ducati’s Chaz Davies and Michael van der Mark, with the latter coming on top to make it a podium lockout for Yamaha.

The two riders made light contact when Davies ran wide at Turn 3 on lap 7, but both were able to continue without suffering any damage to their bikes.

Their battle was sealed in van der Mark’s favour when Davies made a mistake on the penultimate lap, allowing the Yamaha rider through to take third.

Both newly-crowned champion Jonathan Rea and Ducati’s Scott Redding were able to rise up the order following a disastrous qualifying session in which they suffered separate crashes, finishing less than a second off each other in fourth and fifth respectively.

Alvaro Bautista finished as the top Honda rider in seventh after passing Haslam on lap 5, the latter slipping down the order after qualifying on the front row of the grid.

Michael Ruben Rinaldi, who will replace Davies at the factory Ducati squad next year, wrapped up the independent riders’ title with a ninth place finish for the Go Eleven team.

Puccetti Kawasaki rider Xavi Fores rounded out the top 10 ahead of the top BMW of Tom Sykes, as Eugene Laverty was classified in 16th place on the second S1000 RR.

Superpole race results:

Cla # Rider Bike Laps Gap
1 54 Turkey Toprak Razgatlioglu
Yamaha 10
2 31 United States Garrett Gerloff
Yamaha 10 1.928
3 60 Netherlands Michael van der Mark
Yamaha 10 2.940
4 7 United Kingdom Chaz Davies
Ducati 10 4.074
5 1 United Kingdom Jonathan Rea
Kawasaki 10 4.745
6 45 United Kingdom Scott Redding
Ducati 10 5.915
7 19 Spain Alvaro Bautista
Honda 10 7.969
8 91 United Kingdom Leon Haslam
Honda 10 11.835
9 21 Italy Michael Ruben Rinaldi
Ducati 10 12.293
10 12 Spain Xavi Fores
Kawasaki 10 12.342
11 66 United Kingdom Tom Sykes
BMW 10 12.643
12 64 Italy Federico Caricasulo
Yamaha 10 12.714
13 94 Germany Jonas Folger
Yamaha 10 14.984
14 36 Argentina Leandro Mercado
Ducati 10 22.177
15 71 Italy Matteo Ferrari
Ducati 10 22.349
16 50 Ireland Eugene Laverty
BMW 10 22.581
17 13 Japan Takumi Takahashi
Honda 10 27.889
18 51 Brazil Eric Granado
Honda 10 29.975
19 32 South Africa Sheridan Morais
Kawasaki 10 30.067
20 84 Belgium Loris Cresson
Kawasaki 10 50.259
76 France Loris Baz
Yamaha 0
22 United Kingdom Alex Lowes
Kawasaki 0
Estoril WSBK: Rea seals record sixth title as Redding retires
Previous article

Estoril WSBK: Rea seals record sixth title as Redding retires

Next article

Estoril WSBK: Davies leads Ducati 1-2 in season finale

Estoril WSBK: Davies leads Ducati 1-2 in season finale