Hernandez joins World Superbike with Pedercini Kawasaki

Hernandez joins World Superbike with Pedercini Kawasaki

Former MotoGP rider Yonny Hernandez will make his debut in the World Superbike Championship with the Pedercini Kawasaki squad next season, the official entry list has revealed.

Alex de Angelis, Pedercini Racing
Yonny Hernandez, AGR Team
#111 Honda Endurance Racing, Honda: Gregory Leblanc, Sebastien Gimbert, Yonny Hernandez
Yonny Hernandez, AGR Team
Yonny Hernandez, AGR Team
Campion Michael Ruben Rinaldi, Ducati

After spending five years in MotoGP between 2012 and '16, Hernandez returned to Moto2 for the start of the 2017 season after a difficult final campaign in the premier class with the Aspar Ducati team.

Struggling to readjust to 600cc machinery, Hernandez managed just three points finishes from the opening nine races of the season before he parted ways with the AGR team during the summer break.

Hernandez joined the official Honda team for the first round of the 2017/18 FIM Endurance World Championship, the Bol d'Or, where he managed to secure a third-place finish alongside teammates Gregory LeBlanc and Sebastien Gimbert.

Last month, he tested with the Pedercini team at Jerez, which fuelled rumours of the Colombian penning a deal with the satellite Kawasaki squad for next season.

The Pedercini rider will be one of five rookies present on the 21-strong WorldSBK grid in 2018, along with Honda's Jake Gagne Puccetti Racing's Toprak Razgatlioglu, TripleM Racing's PJ Jacobsen and Grillini Suzuki rider Gabriele Ruiu.

Ruiu won't make his debut until the Donington round of the championship in May, as this will be the first event after his 18th birthday. Grillini is set to announce a stand-in in the coming weeks.

It's also understood European Superstock 1000 champion Michael Ruben Rinaldi could join Chaz Davies and Marco Melandri as part of a three-rider factory Ducati team for at least some rounds in 2018.

Provisional 2018 WSBK entry list:


 Jonathan Rea

 Tom Sykes


 Chaz Davies

 Marco Melandri

Crescent Yamaha

 Alex Lowes

 Michael van der Mark

Honda Ten Kate

 Leon Camier

 Jake Gagne

Milwaukee Aprilia

 Eugene Laverty

 Lorenzo Savadori

MV Agusta  Jordi Torres
Puccetti Kawasaki  Toprak Razgatlioglu 
Pedercini Kawasaki  Yonny Hernandez
GoEleven Kawasaki  Roman Ramos
Orelak Kawasaki  Leandro Mercado
Barni Ducati  Xavi Fores
TripleM Honda  PJ Jacobsen
Guandalini Yamaha  Ondrej Jezek
Althea BMW  Loris Baz
Grillini Suzuki

 Roberto Rolfo

 Gabriele Ruiu 

Davies says 2018 WSBK rules unfairly penalise Ducati

Previous article

Davies says 2018 WSBK rules unfairly penalise Ducati

Next article

Superstock champion Rinaldi steps up to World Superbike

Superstock champion Rinaldi steps up to World Superbike
Load comments

About this article

Series World Superbike
Drivers Yonny Hernandez
Teams Team Pedercini
Author Lewis Duncan