Formula E
14 Feb
15 Feb
Event finished
Marrakesh E-prix
27 Feb
29 Feb
Next event in
4 days
Formula 1 MotoGP
05 Mar
08 Mar
FP1 in
13 days
Thailand GP
19 Mar
22 Mar
FP1 in
26 days
08 Feb
17 Feb
Event finished
21 Feb
23 Feb
Qualifying in
09 Hours
25 Minutes
27 Seconds
13 Mar
15 Mar
Next event in
19 days
03 Apr
05 Apr
Next event in
40 days
22 Feb
23 Feb
FP1 in
03 Hours
50 Minutes
27 Seconds
18 Mar
20 Mar
Next event in
24 days

New Ducati squad to join WSBK field in 2020

New Ducati squad to join WSBK field in 2020
Nov 25, 2019, 1:43 PM

Motocorsa Racing will enter the majority of World Superbike events next season with Leandro Mercado riding its solo Ducati Panigale V4 R.

The Italian outfit entered two Ducatis in the CIV Superbike series this year and also made two wildcard appearances in WSBK at Imola and Misano.

Lorenzo Zanetti piloted the team's V4 R in the former round (pictured top), scoring a best result of ninth, while Samuele Cavalieri took over riding duties at Misano.

Now Motocorsa has firmed up plans to enter all the European rounds of the 2020 WSBK campaign, starting with the Jerez races in March, as well as the season finale in Argentina, Mercado's home country.

Mercado makes the switch to Ducati machinery from Kawasaki, having raced for the Orelac squad for the last two seasons, scoring a best result of sixth at Donington Park this year.

“I’m really pleased to be able to compete with Team Motocorsa and to ride once again with a Ducati," the 27-year-old commented. "I’ve known [team manager] Lorenzo Mauri for several years, we have the same goals and at last we can race together.

"I’m convinced that we will work hard to achieve excellent results together. I can’t wait to get started in the January winter tests and finally try the Ducati V4 R."

Motocorsa's arrival on the WSBK grid at Jerez will bolster the Ducati contingent to five, matching the number of bikes entered by rival marque Kawasaki.

Read Also:

2020 WSBK line-up so far:

Team Riders

 Jonathan Rea

 Alex Lowes


 Chaz Davies

 Scott Redding

Crescent Yamaha

 Toprak Razgatlioglu

Netherlands Michael van der Mark

GRT Yamaha

 Federico Caricasulo

 Garrett Gerloff


 Alvaro Bautista

 Leon Haslam


 Tom Sykes

 Eugene Laverty

Puccetti Kawasaki

 Xavi Fores

Pedercini Kawasaki

 Jordi Torres

 Lorenzo Savadori

Barni Ducati

 Leon Camier

Go Eleven Ducati

 Michael Ruben Rinaldi

Motocorsa Ducati

Argentina Leandro Mercado

MIE Honda

Japan Takumi Takahashi


Next article
Argentina replaces Qatar as WSBK finale host

Previous article

Argentina replaces Qatar as WSBK finale host

Next article

Folger set for Yamaha WSBK wildcard outings in 2020

Folger set for Yamaha WSBK wildcard outings in 2020
Load comments

About this article

Series World Superbike
Author Jamie Klein