FIA WTCC report - rounds three and four preview

The WTCC season kicked off in Marrakech last weekend and now the series heads to Circuit Paul Ricard for rounds three and four.

FIA WTCC report - rounds three and four preview


Lap distance: 3.841 km

Race distance: 2 x 16 laps / 61.456 km


25 km West of Toulon, 35 km East of Marseille

Press officer:

Magali Bérnard

tel. +33 4 94983502, fax +33 4 94983562; email


Toulon-Hyères (55 km), Marseille-Marignane “Provence” (65 km), Nice Côte d’Azur (175 km)

Lap records:


Roll of Honour WTCC Race of France

2005 * - R1, Jörg Müller (BMW 320si) / R2, Jörg Müller (BMW 320si)

2006 * - R1, Dirk Müller (BMW 320si) / R2, Andy Priaulx (BMW 320si)

2007 ° - R1, Alain Menu (Chevrolet Lacetti) / R2, Augusto Farfus (BMW 320si)

2008 ° - R1, Augusto Farfus (BMW 320si) / R2, Andy Priaulx (BMW 320si)


4 July 1971 – One year after its inauguration, the circuit hosted for the first time the Formula One French Grand Prix. It continued to be home to the race until 1990.

15 October 1995 – The third – and last edition – of the FIA Touring Car World Cup took place at Le Castellet. Forty drivers representing ten car manufacturers competed in two 40-minute races. Audi drivers Frank Biela and Emanuele Pirro claimed one win apiece; Biela clinched the World Cup by sum of points.

1 May 2005 – The first WTCC Race of France took place at Magny-Cours and were dominated by BMW cars. After winning the first race, Jörg Müller encored in the second, leading a 1-2-3-4 for the German make ahead of fellow BMW colleagues Dirk Müller, Antonio García and Andy Priaulx.

3 June 2007 – The WTCC moved from Magny-Cours to Pau’s street circuit. The second race was won by Augusto Farfus who knew he would be racing only on Sunday morning. The crew of the Schnitzer team had worked all night to rebuild his BMW after the Brazilian had rolled at the Foch bend during Saturday’s qualifying.


Friday, 18 April

12.30 – 13.00 : Testing

17.00 : Drivers’ briefing

Saturday, 19 April

09.00 – 09.30 : Free Practice 1

11.30 – 12.00 : Free Practice 2

15.00 – 15.20 : Qualifying Q1

15.25 – 15.35 : Qualifying Q2

15.40 – 16.00 : Qualifying Q3

16.10 (est) : Qualifying press conference

Sunday, 20 April

13.15 : Race 1

13.50 (est) : Race 1 podium ceremony

14.00 (est) : Race 1 press conference

17.15 : Race 2

17.50 (est) : Race 2 podium ceremony

18.00 (est) : Race press conference


Chairman of the Stewards : Yves Bacquelaine (BEL)

2nd International Steward : Daniel Fausel (CHE)

Race Director : Miroslav Bartos (CZE)

Assistant to the Race Director / FIA Coordinator : Rui Marques (PRT)

Medical Delegate : Jacques Tropenat (FRA)

Technical Delegate : Manuel Leal (ESP)

Press Delegate : Fabio Ravaioli (ITA)

Chief Timekeeper : Mike Salmon (GBR)

Incident Camera Delegate : Lionel Bérard (FRA)

Safety Car Driver : Bruno Correia (PRT)


First points for Muennich Motorsport at the WTCC season opening in Morocco

Previous article

First points for Muennich Motorsport at the WTCC season opening in Morocco

Next article

Paul Ricard: A home meet for Citroën

Paul Ricard: A home meet for Citroën
Load comments