Brno Moto2: Oliveira wins thrilling four-way fight

Miguel Oliveira took the Moto2 points lead by winning a thrilling race at Brno, outduelling Luca Marini on the last lap.

Brno Moto2: Oliveira wins thrilling four-way fight

The victory was contested among several riders, with four of them, Oliveira, Marini, Francesco Bagnaia and Lorenzo Baldassarri split by 0.745 seconds at the finish.

Polesitter Marini, his teammate Bagnaia and Oliveira were the early contenders, the trio constantly trading the lead  before Bagnaia settled in at the head of the field for several laps.

Baldassarri soon broke the status quo by carving his way through the top three, and taking the lead on lap 13 of 19.

Works KTM rider Oliveira followed suit in passing Sky VR46 duo Bagnaia and Marini and was then also able to move past Baldassarri's Pons machine.

Marini also passed Baldassarri, who then started to fight with Bagnaia for third, as Marini put increasing pressure on Oliveira.

On the last lap, Oliveira ran wide at Turn 1, which allowed Marini through and the Portuguese rider unsuccessfully tried to fight back at both T3 and T10 before he made a move stick into the T11 left-hander.

Marini was able to go side-by-side at the final chicane, but Oliveira had the better line out of the last corner and took the win by 0.070s.

Bagnaia ended up taking third ahead of Baldassarri while Xavi Vierge, who shadowed the top four but lost pace late on, settled for fifth.

Brad Binder took sixth on the second Ajo KTM ahead of Marcel Schrotter and Jorge Navarro, as Sam Lowes made a late move on Mattia Pasini for ninth.

By taking his second win of the season, Oliveira took the championship lead, with Bagnaia now two points behind.

Alex Marquez crashed at the final turn just after passing Oliveira for third, as his Marc VDS teammate Joan Mir was involved in a violent crash on the opening lap.

Mir crashed with Tech 3 duo Bo Bendsneyder and Remy Gardner, the future Suzuki MotoGP rider's bike landing on the former, but all three walking away from the incident.

Other riders to crash out included Moto2 debutant Alejandro Medina, Xavi Cardelus, Stefano Manzi, Romano Fenati, who had a jump start, and Danny Kent.

Race results:

Pos. # Rider Bike Time/Gap
1 44 Portugal Miguel Oliveira  KTM 39'22.324
2 10 Italy Luca Marini  Kalex 0.070
3 42 Italy Francesco Bagnaia  Kalex 0.525
4 7 Italy Lorenzo Baldassarri  Kalex 0.745
5 97 Spain Xavi Vierge  Kalex 3.362
6 41 South Africa Brad Binder  KTM 3.643
7 23 Germany Marcel Schrotter  Kalex 3.694
8 9 Spain Jorge Navarro  Kalex 3.728
9 22 United Kingdom Sam Lowes  KTM 4.038
10 54 Italy Mattia Pasini  Kalex 5.030
11 20 France Fabio Quartararo  Speed Up 5.153
12 40 Spain Augusto Fernandez  Kalex 5.839
13 27 Spain Iker Lecuona  KTM 6.857
14 5 Italy Andrea Locatelli  Kalex 9.473
15 24 Italy Simone Corsi  Kalex 10.054
16 45 Japan Tetsuta Nagashima  Kalex 10.626
17 77 Switzerland Dominique Aegerter  KTM 10.658
18 16 United States Joe Roberts  NTS 18.136
19 4 South Africa Steven Odendaal  NTS 19.040
20 89 Malaysia Khairul Idham Pawi  Kalex 21.334
21 66 Niki Tuuli  Kalex 28.078
22 95 France Jules Danilo  Kalex 34.570
23 51 Eric Granado  Suter 45.169
24 12 Sheridan Morais  Kalex 1'08.853
Ret 52 United Kingdom Danny Kent  Speed Up 8 Laps
Ret  73 Spain Alex Marquez  Kalex 11 Laps
Ret  13 Italy Romano Fenati  Kalex 12 Laps
Ret  62 Italy Stefano Manzi  Suter 14 Laps
Ret  18 Xavi Cardelus  Kalex 17 Laps
Ret  55 Alejandro Medina  Kalex 18 Laps
Ret  36 Spain Joan Mir  Kalex -
Ret  64 Netherlands Bo Bendsneyder  Tech 3
Ret  87 Australia Remy Gardner  Tech 3
Alex Marquez to remain in Moto2 for 2019

Previous article

Alex Marquez to remain in Moto2 for 2019

Next article

Rossi protege Bezzecchi secures Tech 3 Moto2 move

Rossi protege Bezzecchi secures Tech 3 Moto2 move
Load comments