Formula 1 Formula E
Berlin ePrix VI
13 Aug
FP1 in
02 Hours
37 Minutes
45 Seconds
07 Aug
Event finished
Austrian GP
14 Aug
FP1 in
1 day
08 Aug
Event finished
17 Jul
Event finished
12 Aug
Practice 2 in
08 Hours
07 Minutes
45 Seconds
13 Aug
FP1 in
07 Hours
32 Minutes
45 Seconds
19 Nov
Next event in
97 days
12 Jul
Event finished
15 Aug
Practice 1 in
1 day

IMSA Sebring: Derani keeps Cadillac top in FP2

IMSA Sebring: Derani keeps Cadillac top in FP2
Jul 18, 2020, 3:42 PM

Pipo Derani and Sebastien Bourdais kept the Cadillac brand ahead of its rivals in second practice, as teams prepare to qualify for the third round of the the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship season, the Cadillac Grand Prix of Sebring.

Derani’s #31 Action Express Racing Cadillac DPi-V.R lapped the bumpy 17-turn 3.74-mile course in 1min47.882sec, just over a quarter second faster than Bourdais in JDC-Miller’s #5 Mustang Sampling entry.

More interesting still was a 0.4sec margin over Helio Castroneves’ Acura Team Penske ARX-05 which was a further 0.3sec clear of the sister car of Juan Pablo Montoya.

Even the fastest Mazda, the car that dominated the second half of the Daytona round two weeks ago, was over a second off the pace in this second practice session at Sebring, and the two RT24-Ps were separated by the sole Wayne Taylor Racing entry and the second JDC-Miller car.

Gustavo Menezes in the DragonSpeed Oreca led LMP2, half a second up on Ryan Dalziel’s best for Tower Motorsport by Starworks, while PR1/Mathiasen Motorsports’ late addition Spencer Pigot was third.

A very late run saw Frederic Makowiecki usurp Porsche teammate Laurens Vanthoor for top spot in GT Le Mans by less than one-tenth of a second.

Oliver Gavin running them close to grab third in the #4 Corvette C8.R, ahead of Jordan Taylor in the sister car, with the BMW M8s in fifth and sixth.

Toni Vilander led GT Daytona for Scuderia Corsa, the Ferrari 488 GT3 lapping just under two-tenths quicker than Daytona winner Aaron Telitz in the AIM Vasser Sullivan Lexus RC F GT3.

Gar Robinson set the best time in the Riley Motorsports Mercedes-AMG GT3 to take third, a hair quicker than Spencer Pumpelly’s Team Hardpoint Audi R8 LMS.

Qualifying for the Cadillac Grand Prix begins at 1.55pm local (Eastern) time, with the race start set for 5.35pm.

Practice two results:

Cla Num Driver Class Chassis Time Gap
1 31 Brazil Felipe Nasr
Brazil Pipo Derani
DPi Cadillac DPi 1'46.940
2 5 Portugal Joao Barbosa
France Sébastien Bourdais
DPi Cadillac DPi 1'47.212 0.272
3 7 Brazil Helio Castroneves
United States Ricky Taylor
DPi Acura DPi 1'47.348 0.408
4 6 United States Dane Cameron
Colombia Juan Pablo Montoya
DPi Acura DPi 1'47.648 0.708
5 77 United Kingdom Oliver Jarvis
United States Tristan Nunez
DPi Mazda DPi 1'48.054 1.114
6 10 Netherlands Renger van der Zande
Australia Ryan Briscoe
DPi Cadillac DPi 1'48.121 1.181
7 85 South Africa Stephen Simpson
France Tristan Vautier
DPi Cadillac DPi 1'48.138 1.198
8 55 United States Jonathan Bomarito
United Kingdom Harry Tincknell
DPi Mazda DPi 1'48.450 1.510
9 81 Sweden Henrik Hedman
United States Gustavo Menezes
LMP2 ORECA LMP2 07 1'49.695 2.755
10 8 Canada John Farano
United Kingdom Ryan Dalziel
LMP2 ORECA LMP2 07 1'50.239 3.299
11 52 Patrick Kelly
United States Spencer Pigot
LMP2 ORECA LMP2 07 1'51.297 4.357
12 38 Canada Cameron Cassels
United States Kyle Masson
LMP2 ORECA LMP2 07 1'52.028 5.088
13 18 United States Dwight Merriman
United States Kyle Tilley
LMP2 ORECA LMP2 07 1'52.473 5.533
14 911 United Kingdom Nick Tandy
France Frédéric Makowiecki
GTLM Porsche 911 RSR - 19 1'56.754 9.814
15 912 New Zealand Earl Bamber
Belgium Laurens Vanthoor
GTLM Porsche 911 RSR - 19 1'56.841 9.901
16 4 United Kingdom Oliver Gavin
United States Tommy Milner
GTLM Corvette C8.R 1'57.010 10.070
17 3 Spain Antonio Garcia
United States Jordan Taylor
GTLM Corvette C8.R 1'57.350 10.410
18 24 Finland Jesse Krohn
United States John Edwards
GTLM BMW M8 GTE 1'57.744 10.804
19 25 Canada Bruno Spengler
United States Connor de Phillippi
GTLM BMW M8 GTE 1'57.903 10.963
20 63 United States Cooper MacNeil
Finland Toni Vilander
GTD Ferrari 488 GT3 2'02.358 15.418
21 14 United Kingdom Jack Hawksworth
United States Aaron Telitz
GTD Lexus RC F GT3 2'02.544 15.604
22 74 United States Gar Robinson
United States Lawson Aschenbach
GTD Mercedes-AMG GT3 2'02.824 15.884
23 30 United States Rob Ferriol
United States Spencer Pumpelly
GTD Audi R8 LMS GT3 2'02.832 15.892
24 22 United States Till Bechtolsheimer
United States Marc Miller
GTD Acura NSX GT3 2'02.858 15.918
25 12 United States Frankie Montecalvo
United States Townsend Bell
GTD Lexus RC F GT3 2'02.903 15.963
26 16 United States Ryan Hardwick
United States Patrick Long
GTD Porsche 911 GT3 R 2'02.963 16.023
27 96 United States Robby Foley
United States Bill Auberlen
GTD BMW M6 GT3 2'02.989 16.049
28 76 United States Corey Fergus
United States Paul Holton
GTD McLaren 720S GT3 2'03.341 16.401
29 44 United States Andy Lally
United States John Potter
GTD Lamborghini Huracan GT3 2'03.621 16.681
IMSA Sebring: WTR’s van der Zande leads opening practice

Previous article

IMSA Sebring: WTR’s van der Zande leads opening practice

Next article

IMSA Sebring: AXR Cadillac, Corvette, Lexus take poles

IMSA Sebring: AXR Cadillac, Corvette, Lexus take poles
Load comments

About this article

Series IMSA
Event Sebring
Author David Malsher-Lopez